We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad basic service and rooms”
Review of Sun Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Seogwipo
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel with during our trip to Jeju Island. The entire trip was quite pleasant except for this hotel.

We booked this hotel from a hotel booking site. I think the picture in the booking site was taken years back.

The moment we arrive at the hotel lobby, we were welcomed by a very tired looking lobby. During checkin process, the staff was alright but there was a manager (older chap) which is rude in my opinion. When I requested back my copy of hotel confirmation slip, the declined and when I suggested that he make a copy me, he obliged unwillingly (without any hint of smile on the face all these while).

Later during the day, I asked for some directions from the guy at the checkin counter. The young guy was trying his best to help me with his limited english and map drawings while a huge group of school children walked past to another building (I presumed to checkin). Then manager (the earlier old chap) came out and speak to the young guy with a sour face. From the body language and gestures, I suspect the manager is scolding the young guy that he is not attending to the group of new checkin and still talking to me. From what it looks like, the young guy insist with the old chap that he will help me first before attending to the big group. To save the young guy from more trouble, I told him that it is alright and tried to study my map again. Still finding difficulties with map, I approached the counter to ask for more directions. This time, the old chap is manning the counter and just pointed me to one direction without any details. All these while, there isn't a smile on his face and his body language tells me that he couldn't be bother about me.

The rooms was very old and everything looks worn out and dusty. The bathroom is barely alright and no amenities apart from a small bar of soap and a few small towels.

This hotel might have seen better years and I suspect that 8-10 years ago, it used to be very good. But too bad, the year is 2011 and the hotel desperately needs a new face and management.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KWong_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

I recently stayed at the Sun Beach Hotel with my fiance in May during the long weekend. I read reviews about the hotel ahead of time so I didn't expect much except a great location.

To start off on a positive note, the hotel is in an excellent location and that would be the only thing ever to bring me back (if all other hotels in the area were sold out). It is a 10 minute walk to the local bus terminal. About a 10 minute walk to Cheonjiyeon and Jeonbang waterfalls. The limo bus 600 stop is basically in front of the hotel. Next hotel over you can catch the bus so a minute walk.

But, the hotel is in horrible, horrible condition. I am unsure what previous guests have done in the rooms and why staff haven't cleaned it up properly. The bathroom was dingy and I felt like I was going to fall through the bath tub. The furniture was broken and very old looking with pieces missing or shattered off.

What bothered me the most was the fan above our bed. It was caked with dust and probably mold too. We didn't want to even turn the fan on at all. It was absolutely gross.I have stayed at cheap motels before and never have I experienced a room like that. Also the bed sheets were clean but stained.

The motel and the rooms are in bad condition and it's unfortunate because the motel is in a beautiful location. Hopefully in the future they can spruce the place up to more decent and acceptable standards.

Oh, and the doors.... well didn't lock properly really. You had to force it shut and then had a chain lock and a bolt. Didn't always feel the safest. Not sure why the doors are in such horrible condition too.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher grade room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The hotel is on a cliff above Cheonjiyeon Falls but you cant see it for all the trees. If you go down the harbour below the tourist info office is there and the falls. There is also a footbridge to take you to a large rock island. If you follow the road south from the hotel it will curve and lead you to Jeongbang Falls about 15 mins away next to a Chinese Exhibition Hall.

The airport limousine stops outside the hotel. About a 10 min walk is the local bus station from where you can get to all parts of jeju island.

Best sea view is 6th floor room 22 or any of the 20s, but there is often mist over the harbour so you might not always have the view. If you book on agoda they dont send your special requests so email the hotel again and ask for a seaview.

I stayed here for two nites and would recommend and stay again. As far as the negative comments go, if they leave your door open when they clean you have to realize koreans are very honest and it wouldnt occur to them to go in someones room and take stuff.

Also the guy at the front desk didnt speak much english but the manager Mr Im Dae-Soon was always around and spoke good english. Its not as dated and worn out as people are making it out to be. You'll get three english movie channels but no CNN. Free internet in the lobby but the browsers were set to asian options

I really enjoyed my stay and its a good base to explore seogwipo, jungmun, and the southern coast. I might suggest renting a car next time instead of local buses

Room Tip: after booking email the hotel and ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Located opposite the aiport limosuine bus stop with a pleasant view over the harbour below. Make sure you ask for a seaview and on the top floor with bay windows. Try to negociate the price. Rooms and fittings are in desperate need of decent repairs and updating. Water fountain only available on ground floor. Resturant only open in very restricted hours.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayli_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The only reason I picked this hotel was location. It has a superb location - the airport limousine bus stops right in front of it. It's a 10 minute walk from the Jeongbang waterfall and a few other touristy areas. And it was cheap. I've stayed in cheap, dingy hotels before, but I've never regretted it as much as in this case.

The hotel seems to have been built for the 2002 World Cup event and then subsequently is living off its location. It's very run down, there was dirt everywhere. The receptionists didn't even seem to be interested in our existence. Often, the hotel will host tour groups staying overnight (like school trips, etc) - in our case, there was a tour group staying for 2 nights; their leader was given a microphone to make announcements to the kids/teachers. The announcements could be heard very clearly across all rooms because each room has speakers in it! So as a result, we were unable to read, sleep or rest at all until 1 AM each night and we were woken up at 4 or 5 AM each day because of the annoying speaker system being used for announcements, alarms, etc. (it was very loud).

But that's not the worst bit.

Twice, TWICE, we came back after a day out and our hotel room had been left OPEN. When I asked the hotel staff/reception about it, all I got was a blank look. That's the language barrier mixed with apathy, the language barrier serving as a convenient excuse to not respond of course.

So to summarize: insecure and dirty. You can very easily find another hotel nearby, there are a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamapizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seogwipo hotels
0.5 km away
The Island Blue Hotel
The Island Blue Hotel
#17 of 94 in Seogwipo
67 reviews
0 km away
BK Hotel
BK Hotel
#21 of 94 in Seogwipo
30 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tong Jeju
Hotel Tong Jeju
#23 of 94 in Seogwipo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
M-Stay Hotel Jeju
M-Stay Hotel Jeju
#22 of 94 in Seogwipo
63 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
14.2 km away
The Shilla Jeju
The Shilla Jeju
#4 of 94 in Seogwipo
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Hotel

Address: 363, Taepyeong-ro, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 63595, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Seogwipo
Price Range: ₹ 6,770 - ₹ 11,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Hotel Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing