We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
61
35
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
35
13
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Discover a hidden gem in the historic Gyeongju, taking you back in time. The lovely traditional Korean architecture and picturesque courtyard is absolutely enchanting and the friendly owners only add to the warm atmosphere. At night they even light a fire in the courtyard where guests who are not out and about gather to warm up with a drink and a chat. In the morning while you plan your day you can whip up your own breakfast in the kitchen with eggs, bread, juice and warm beverages that are provided. The fridge is also available to store your own food – we even forgot a few baby bottles there (sorry!) The guesthouse is centrally located next to Tumuli Park with ancient royal tombs inside. Bicycles to rent are just as close and provide a unique way to discover the surroundings. We hired a tandem with a baby seat so we could travel together as a family – a highly recommended experience! Apparently not all rooms have beds, but our room had two beds (a bunk bed) , wooden floors and it was small but cosy and were conveniently close to the outside bathroom. A delightful stay in a charming environment – wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AfricaRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Sa Rang Chae is run by a friendly and helpful couple, always there for an advise or recommendation.
The traditional house is beautiful, made of several parts around a courtyard. I stayed in a single traditional room with shared bathroom. You sleep on a thin mattress on the floor (heated in colder months), in a room that smells old wood. It was more comfortable than I expected. The shower is small but clean, in a small separate building. Hot water is not available throughout the day, but enough to allow you a shower in the morning and/or at night.
The breakfast is simple but sufficient. The prices are very affordable.
Gyeongju is a small city with many things to visit. The guesthouse is conveniently located close to the tumulus park and all the others places of interest, and 15-min. walk from the bus terminal.
I would definitely come back here next time I comme to Gyeongju.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaëlle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

This guesthouse is run by a friendly couple who go the extra mile to help their guests. The guesthouse is in a traditional hanok behind the Tumuli Park, just a 10 minute walk away from the express bus terminal. Accommodation is simple. There are rooms with and without private toilet. The rooms have futons instead of beds. There is also a common area where guests can prepare coffee or tea, read a book, etc. Wifi is free of charge but the signal was stronger in the courtyard then in the bedroom. Otherwise they also have a desktop PC available for use. This is an adfordable and basic accommodation which can be recommended as long as you know what to expect. We only stayed a couple of nights and it was fine. It can become uncomfortable for westerners if staying for longer periods of time.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Our family of 4, including two teens, stayed at the Sa Rang Chae guesthouse for 2 nights in June, 2015. The directions on the map provided by the owner from the bus stop in Gyeongju were spot on. We arrived early and were greeted warmly by Mrs. Choo, the co-owner along with her husband. We asked if we could leave our bags until check in later that afternoon and she showed us where we could stow our bags. We also asked for a lunch recommendation and they recommended Do Sol, a Korean restaurant nearby. We were pleased with the traditional lunch that we ordered. We stayed in the family room, with 4 beds including a bunk bed and our own private bathroom. We chose this place specifically to experience a bit of traditional Korean life and were not disappointed. While the accommodations were not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination, we were not expecting such, and the price reflected great value and priceless experience for our kids. The buildings are over 130 years old and the gardens were peaceful. The common area featured a small kitchen and perhaps 10 spots to eat. We chose to partake in the light breakfast, featuring eggs and toast, and we supplemented with our own cereal and coffee. It was also nice to talk with other travelers to find out their experiences. We found the owners to be very friendly, accommodating, and very grateful for our business. Mr. Choo also gave us a great recommendation for dinner to Suk Young restaurant, specializing in bi bim bap, located a pleasant 10-12 minute walk from Sa Rang Chae which I will review in a separate review. My rating of 5 stars reflects the value for the price, the experience of a bit of traditional Korean accommodations, and the welcome that we felt from the owners.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Nelson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

When we arrived in Gyeongju, we set out to find this guesthouse in the dark on foot. Be warned: it's a bit tricky to find. That said, once we arrived, our hosts were gracious and provided us with a tour of our room and the guesthouse. There is a common kitchen and dining/living area. We stayed in a traditional room with a private bathroom. The undol-style heating was wonderful, and even though we slept on thin mats, we slept wonderfully. Breakfast is do-it-yourself, but the owners are on hand for any questions. I will say that the rooms are small, but that was something I expected. I had some concerns about cleanliness in the private bath, but other than that, things were quite clean. The location of this guesthouse simply cannot be beaten; it's in the middle of everything, and for $45 a night, it was a tremendous value.

Room Tip: Getting a private bathroom is worth it, but be aware that the shower is a hose attached the the faucet and there is a drain in the floor.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robbinreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews