We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location for a traditional guest house.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gyeongju
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 106 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2015

An experience that should not be missed by the seasoned traveller. This guest house is steeped with history, is in an excellent location and the support given by the friendly couple suits your needs in an unobtrusive way.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the traditional Korean style so let the manager know what your needs are when booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2015

Discover a hidden gem in the historic Gyeongju, taking you back in time. The lovely traditional Korean architecture and picturesque courtyard is absolutely enchanting and the friendly owners only add to the warm atmosphere. At night they even light a fire in the courtyard where guests who are not out and about gather to warm up with a drink and a chat. In the morning while you plan your day you can whip up your own breakfast in the kitchen with eggs, bread, juice and warm beverages that are provided. The fridge is also available to store your own food – we even forgot a few baby bottles there (sorry!) The guesthouse is centrally located next to Tumuli Park with ancient royal tombs inside. Bicycles to rent are just as close and provide a unique way to discover the surroundings. We hired a tandem with a baby seat so we could travel together as a family – a highly recommended experience! Apparently not all rooms have beds, but our room had two beds (a bunk bed) , wooden floors and it was small but cosy and were conveniently close to the outside bathroom. A delightful stay in a charming environment – wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AfricaRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Sa Rang Chae is run by a friendly and helpful couple, always there for an advise or recommendation.
The traditional house is beautiful, made of several parts around a courtyard. I stayed in a single traditional room with shared bathroom. You sleep on a thin mattress on the floor (heated in colder months), in a room that smells old wood. It was more comfortable than I expected. The shower is small but clean, in a small separate building. Hot water is not available throughout the day, but enough to allow you a shower in the morning and/or at night.
The breakfast is simple but sufficient. The prices are very affordable.
Gyeongju is a small city with many things to visit. The guesthouse is conveniently located close to the tumulus park and all the others places of interest, and 15-min. walk from the bus terminal.
I would definitely come back here next time I comme to Gyeongju.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaëlle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

This guesthouse is run by a friendly couple who go the extra mile to help their guests. The guesthouse is in a traditional hanok behind the Tumuli Park, just a 10 minute walk away from the express bus terminal. Accommodation is simple. There are rooms with and without private toilet. The rooms have futons instead of beds. There is also a common area where guests can prepare coffee or tea, read a book, etc. Wifi is free of charge but the signal was stronger in the courtyard then in the bedroom. Otherwise they also have a desktop PC available for use. This is an adfordable and basic accommodation which can be recommended as long as you know what to expect. We only stayed a couple of nights and it was fine. It can become uncomfortable for westerners if staying for longer periods of time.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Our family of 4, including two teens, stayed at the Sa Rang Chae guesthouse for 2 nights in June, 2015. The directions on the map provided by the owner from the bus stop in Gyeongju were spot on. We arrived early and were greeted warmly by Mrs. Choo, the co-owner along with her husband. We asked if we could leave our bags until check in later that afternoon and she showed us where we could stow our bags. We also asked for a lunch recommendation and they recommended Do Sol, a Korean restaurant nearby. We were pleased with the traditional lunch that we ordered. We stayed in the family room, with 4 beds including a bunk bed and our own private bathroom. We chose this place specifically to experience a bit of traditional Korean life and were not disappointed. While the accommodations were not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination, we were not expecting such, and the price reflected great value and priceless experience for our kids. The buildings are over 130 years old and the gardens were peaceful. The common area featured a small kitchen and perhaps 10 spots to eat. We chose to partake in the light breakfast, featuring eggs and toast, and we supplemented with our own cereal and coffee. It was also nice to talk with other travelers to find out their experiences. We found the owners to be very friendly, accommodating, and very grateful for our business. Mr. Choo also gave us a great recommendation for dinner to Suk Young restaurant, specializing in bi bim bap, located a pleasant 10-12 minute walk from Sa Rang Chae which I will review in a separate review. My rating of 5 stars reflects the value for the price, the experience of a bit of traditional Korean accommodations, and the welcome that we felt from the owners.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Nelson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
6.6 km away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 24 in Gyeongju
758 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 24 in Gyeongju
213 reviews
0.8 km away
141 Mini Hotel
141 Mini Hotel
#3 of 24 in Gyeongju
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 24 in Gyeongju
156 reviews
7.3 km away
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
0.8 km away
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in Gyeongju
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse

Address: 238-1 Hwangnam-dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse Hotel Gyeongju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing