We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, great view!”
Review of Homers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homers Hotel
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Busan
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great facilities, great view!”
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Although we've never stayed in a room at Hotel Homers we lived in the apartment building next door for many months and used the facilities at the hotel almost daily. Overall our experience was superb and we would recommend anybody visiting Busan to check out the Gwangan Beach area instead of the overrated Haeundae Beach.

First of all, Hotel Homers is in an excellent location directly across the street from Gwangan Beach, with exceptional views of the Gwangan Grand Bridge, which is illuminated at night with lights that change colors every few minutes. The Gwangan Beach area is interesting, not as overly touristy and crowded as Haeundae even at the August peak, and has lots to offer the adventurous traveler. Loads of crab and raw fish restaurants if that's something you like, but they are not cheap.

The public facilities at Hotel Homers include a gym, a Korean mineral resting room, male and female 24 hour "saunas" (bathing, shower, saunas, plunge pools, massage, haircuts, more), banquet rooms, a Chinese restaurant, a lobby restaurant and beer garden patio, and baked goods and pastries for sale. Parking is available in a garage below the hotel.

If you haven't yet had a chance to try public baths in Korea, the Homer's saunas are a great place to start. According to the hotel's website, hotel guests can use the gym, resting rooms, and saunas for 4,000 Won days and 7,000 Won evenings (about $4.41 and $7.71 at current rates). Open 24 hours. We used to pay for a monthly membership at 140,000 Won, definitely overpriced but this was the gym/sauna closest to us.

In the saunas you pay or show your card at the front desk (ladies 4th floor, men 6th floor), pick up a t-shirt, shorts, and locker key, then go to your locker to change. If you just want to bathe and shower, undress and walk nude (everybody walks around naked, so try to get used to this. It's no big deal) into the pool and shower area. Here you'll find three pools, one cold, one hot but comfortable, and one very hot pool. All are deep enough to submerge to your neck sitting up. Shower up and settle in for a relaxing dip overlooking the beach.

After your bath you can take a hot or cold shower, hit the sauna, or arrange for a massage or haircut, all of which are available in the men's area (similar on ladies floor). There are lots of towels around but in Korea most saunas and hotels offer towels about the size of a hand towel, so just use several to dry off. There are toilet facilities and a well-stocked vanity area with hair dryers and toiletries.

The gym is clean, with newish equipment, but not designed for the power weightlifter. Treadmills, minimal free weights, bicycles, an aerobics/yoga room, universal machines, even a pool table if you want to shoot a game. You might find it odd that there are shoe cupboards here but in Korea you leave your outdoor shoes in a locker and use your gym or other house shoes indoors. This is on the 3rd floor.

The mineral resting room (5th floor) offers a place where men, women, and children can relax. We never used the rooms but we did note that there is also a restaurant here that serves basic Korean fare: soups, rice rolls, etc. Overall, except for the smoking area in the stairwell outside the resting room, the facilities at Hotel Homers are clean, modern, a good value, and in a great location in Busan.

That said, if you haven't yet been to Busan keep in mind that the nearest subway stop is about 500 meters away, so it's a bit of a hike, especially in hot and muggy August. (Green line, Gwangali stop) But, as in most big Korean cities taxis are extremely ubiguitous, cheap, and one comes along every couple of seconds. Cab drivers will take you for short trips without complaint, though almost none speak any English.

As another reviewer pointed out there is a Java City coffee place next door, in addition to a Haagen Dazs ice cream shop and convenience store (across the street from yet another convenience store. They're extremely numerous in Busan). Baskin Robbins and Starbucks are a short stroll down the street but we would encourage you to try the numerous small Korean places for the best food and local experience. Fish markets, traditional outdoor markets, restaurants, shopping, amusement parks are all within walking distance.

Finally, Busan, and Korea in general, is an extremely safe place for travelers. Crime does exist but it is very rare and it is not uncommon for families to be out walking the beach late and into the early hours. Parts of Gwangali are seedy and rundown, but that's what makes it charming and interesting. Altogether, if you want a somewhat pricey but western-style hotel in a great location, with great facilities on-site, we'd heartily recommend Hotel Homers.

  • Liked — Location, facilities
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank busanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
28
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Vincent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

My family which includes myself, my husband and our 2 sons aged 5 and 7 have just come back from our holiday in Korea. We booked our accommodation at Homers Hotel through a website for 3 nights. We were so impressed by the hotel and location we stayed for an extra night. We stayed on the 13th floor in a family triple room, the room was very spacious with a king size bed for us and a double bed each for the boys which they loved. The view out our window was great, especially at night time as we overlooked the beach and the Gwangan Bridge. We all enjoyed the buffet breakfasts each morning which we felt were really well priced especially for a family, and it was great sitting in the restaurant overlooking the beach with nice jazz music playing in the background. We were there from October 8 -12th this year, so the beach wasn't crowded and we spent at least 1 1/2 hours on the beach each morning. We would also like to give a big plus to the staff at the Hotel, who were extremely helpful with directions and other requests. We were able to hire a phone while we were there as our own phone which we paid to have global roaming did not work in Korea. Overall a great experience and we would definately return to Homers. Jackie Way, Port Vincent South Australia.

  • Liked — Location and view, and room size
  • Disliked — Shower curtain was too short, need shower screen
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We stayed at this hotel becuase of the previous traveller's review and it is quite a nice hotel if you upgrade your room. The rooms facing the street are very small where there isn't a wardrobe to hang/put your clothes nor room for our suitcases. We had decided to spend the extra 30,000 korean won to a bigger room facing the sea which was worth the money. The room was quite large, twice the size of the other room infact. However, the real problems were the loud thumping sound coming down from the Karaoke that is on the upper floors till 2am! and the thin walls.

There were private rooms called "Room Salons" where they allow girls to serve men who rent these rooms and you can imagine the rest. The public Karaoke bar is on the 18th floor. We were staying on the 14th floor and we heard the people singing and loud thumping sound well past 2am. We called to complain but seemed to have no effect.

It was very clear what kind of clientel they were catering to. It is not a hotel for the business travellers who need a good nights sleep.

  • Liked — The room and the view of the sea from my window.
  • Disliked — Seediness of the clientel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gyoo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We visited Busan for my daughter's wedding. We were lucky to have local knowledge on our side because Busan is not an easy place for first time Western visitors. My daughter and her finance chose Homer's , mainly because of it's location at Gwangalli Beach which has undergone some modernisation in recent years. There are still plenty of live fish restaurants if that's your fancy! But when Korean cuisine gets too hard ( as it often does) , you can start the day a good breakfast in Homer's and then take a break in Java City coffee shop next door. You can even find a fresh sandwhich or chicken roll with hot chips at Starlite on the corner next to Homers . The Korean barbeque restaurants in the area are good and not as scarey as the fish restaurants.

Make sure you book a room overlooking the beach. You can watch the changing light show on the Gwangalli Bridge and keep an eye on the beach activity below. Our room was spacious, immaculately clean, with a large comfortable bed and great pillows. I found the airconditioning tricky to set at a comfortable level , and a bit noisy. Cable television has any amount of Korean games shows and martial arts fighting, baseball and
a movie in English.

The bathroom will surprise you. No bath or shower surround so water goes everywhere but I'm told that's the way Koreans like it.

Our room didn't have a computer but most do apparently. There's free internet in the lobby if you need it.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Homers, especially to Western visitors like ourselves.

  • Liked — the bed and the view
  • Disliked — air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank piligar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.1 km away
Kent Hotel Gwangalli by Kensington
0.4 km away
Dawn Beach Hotel
Dawn Beach Hotel
#67 of 138 in Busan
26 reviews
4.2 km away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Aqua Palace
Hotel Aqua Palace
#93 of 138 in Busan
35 reviews
3.4 km away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
4.0 km away
Sunset Business Hotel
Sunset Business Hotel
#36 of 138 in Busan
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homers Hotel

Property: Homers Hotel
Address: 217, Gwanganhaebyeon-ro, Suyeong-gu, Busan 48303, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Busan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Busan
#11 Spa Hotel in Busan
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,381 - ₹ 16,300
Hotel Class:4 star — Homers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Homers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homers Hotel, Hotel Busan
Homers Hotel Busan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing