We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in a long time !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel in a long time !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We don't sleep at hotels or motels often only when we travel by car and the trip is too long. We had made a reservation for this hotel in april not really knowing what it would be like.
The price was a laugh 99$ for two adults and two kids ...breakfast included! and the breakfast was awesome. The service was good too and the room was super clean. I would sleep there anytime again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo1978laval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    186
    65
    29
    11
See reviews for
219
101
37
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great staff, clean rooms, couldn't be more helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany/SUNY in a Friday night in August while visiting friends in the area on our way to Saratoga. Initially we wanted a place in Saratoga, but rates were $300+ a night, so Albany was much less and only a ~40 min drive Saturday morning. Location wise the hotel is a minute or two from I90 and I87, so great location. Also right in front of SUNY Albany.
Arrived at the hotel around 6pm, and quickly checked in. Got to our room, 508, which was an upgrade to a suite! I'm a Hilton Gold member, so happens on occasion, which is nice :) Room had a separate bedroom, 1 bath (with shower and Jacuzzi), and even a 1/2 bath. Breakfast at Hilton Garden Inn's are usually nice, as was the case here. Normal buffet stuff but also made to order window for eggs, pancakes, french toast *which we had...was great!) Was $9.95, but comp with Gold membership.
One small thing that bothered me...I forgot my toothpaste at home, and went to the front desk to ask for a little travel size, which many hotels will give you complementary. I was told this was not provided, but I could purchase a travel size toothpaste at the small shop to the slide of the front desk. Maybe this is more common at these types of hotels these days...haven't had to ask for a while.

Overall a great stay and would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the suites..all they can say is no, or give you the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve7515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Nice well maintained hotel. Stay here yearly for NY Giants training camp. No complaints!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuwin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family. I have two very young children and the staff was very accommodating. The front desk attendant went out of her way to find us a DVD player so the kids could watch movies in the room. Hotel grounds and rooms were both clean. Our bathroom was also very clean.

One interesting note; the hotel policy indicated we were not allowed to eat in the restaurant with our take out food from another restaurant even if we purchased drinks. I thought that was a strange policy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
5.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
6.6 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#15 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,582 - ₹ 15,033
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing