We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Beautiful old Hotel very conveniently located near the state capital if you are doing business there. The rooms are stylishly decorated and have enormous bathrooms (seperate tub and shower). The ceilings are very high and the whole feel of the place is elegant "old school" charm. The service at the restaurant was prompt and pleasant and room service did not disappoint. If you have business to conduct in Albany, this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 289 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I needed at room in albany for the night with special attention to an early check-in at 11am.I understand a hotels policy with early check-in, but when rooms are available, make the customer happy. I contacted 74 State and spoke to Mary Ann and was I helped faster, and I was more satisfied, then any other hotel in the area. Thank you for your service!

David Ostellino

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davsprt714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If 74 State was located in New York City, it wouldn't compare to the nicer hotels that Manhattan has to offer. Albany though is a wasteland so considering that, this is a very nice hotel. Nice amenities, friendly staff and refreshments in the hotel were all supplied. It is very close to the state Capitol building which is probably the only reason why anyone would go to Albany, so its pretty good overall. The only negative is the price, which is substantially higher than any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infrequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were in town to attend the Rascal Flatts concert at the Times Union Center, and wanted to stay at hotel close to the facility. The 74 State is just around the corner. It is defined as a "Botique Hotel." What we found was an exceptional establishment, great decor, and all the things a fine hotel would offer. The King room was excellent, very clean, open, with a great bathroom. The low flow shower head was the only sub-par thing we could find. The bar area is very high end with great drinks and a fantastic view through the floor to ceiling windows looking out over State St. While a little expensive, this is a location we will revisit the next time we are in Albany over night, especially for another event.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have stayed here several times in the last few years while visiting my nephew at a nearby college. This past time was a bit disappointing. The carpets were dirty throughout even in the common areas. The elevator smelled aweful! We had breakfast at Le Marche and were underwhelmed, particularly with the service. At one point hte waiter yelled from the back to ask if we needed anything. We had been so excited to find such a unique and comfortable hotel 3 years ago and were a bit disappointed at the quick decline.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a window, particularly if you are claustrophibic . . .
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJBSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.2 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,144 reviews
0.3 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
8.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown

Address: 74 State Street, Albany, NY 12207-2525 (Formerly 74 State Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range: ₹ 7,940 - ₹ 13,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott(R), a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing