We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel - for Albany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great hotel - for Albany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

If 74 State was located in New York City, it wouldn't compare to the nicer hotels that Manhattan has to offer. Albany though is a wasteland so considering that, this is a very nice hotel. Nice amenities, friendly staff and refreshments in the hotel were all supplied. It is very close to the state Capitol building which is probably the only reason why anyone would go to Albany, so its pretty good overall. The only negative is the price, which is substantially higher than any other hotel in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infrequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    134
    41
    17
    12
See reviews for
58
97
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were in town to attend the Rascal Flatts concert at the Times Union Center, and wanted to stay at hotel close to the facility. The 74 State is just around the corner. It is defined as a "Botique Hotel." What we found was an exceptional establishment, great decor, and all the things a fine hotel would offer. The King room was excellent, very clean, open, with a great bathroom. The low flow shower head was the only sub-par thing we could find. The bar area is very high end with great drinks and a fantastic view through the floor to ceiling windows looking out over State St. While a little expensive, this is a location we will revisit the next time we are in Albany over night, especially for another event.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdM403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have stayed here several times in the last few years while visiting my nephew at a nearby college. This past time was a bit disappointing. The carpets were dirty throughout even in the common areas. The elevator smelled aweful! We had breakfast at Le Marche and were underwhelmed, particularly with the service. At one point hte waiter yelled from the back to ask if we needed anything. We had been so excited to find such a unique and comfortable hotel 3 years ago and were a bit disappointed at the quick decline.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a window, particularly if you are claustrophibic . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was somewhat skeptical after reading some of the reviews prior to booking the room. I will say my personal experience was amazing. I did have an issue with the fireplace. It wouldn't start up. I called and the manager came right up to try and fix it. He was unable to resolve the issue. He contacted maintenance and they came up. When my guest and I arrived back to our room we had a gorgeous fire going. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The king size was bed was comfortable like sleeping on puffy cotton balls :-)
I do wish they had better blinds or curtains for when the sun comes through in the morning. Overall the room was an A. We found parking right near by and didn't use valet. We ate breakfast the following morning at Marche. Vouchers were given to us upon check in. The food there was delicious.
This is for sure a gem amongst the city of Albany. I will definitely stay there again if the opportunity presents itself. No question about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DdAndGgsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

relatively good price. Quiet on weekends but quick cab ride to everywhere in Albany. Parking not too bad on weekends. Staff better than ok, gonna be great w time. Room service staff and food very good. Decor cool and retro. Not for kids. Not for complainers. Not for high maintenance. My only real request is ventilation in the bathrooms!

Room Tip: if you stay from sunday into monday you can feed your meter sunday night before bed. do it and sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6number6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.3 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.2 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
6.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown
Address: 74 State St, Albany, NY 12207-2525 (Formerly 74 State Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,390 - ₹ 17,244
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott(R), a hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. We are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. You'll always find the courteous service you deserve, plus all the little things you expect from Fairfield Inn & Suites to help you get it done when you travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing