We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good investment and location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good investment and location for the price”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed at the Days Inn a few weeks ago on a Saturday night and for the price it was a very good deal. The hotel is located about a 10 minute drive from downtown Albany and is right across the street from SUNY Albany and down the block from the W. Averell Harriman State Office Complex and the Crossgates Mall. Arrived around 1:30pm and was able to check in right away. The first room I was given was literally right behind the front desk which was a little noisy. I asked to be reassigned and was sent down to the middle of the building.

Room was average size and clean. Nothing super fancy but no signs of wear and tear either. The TV has HBO which is a nice plus. The place is designed like a motel but it does have indoor corridors which is nice. Outside there is ample free parking. There is a free continental breakfast which could be better (very slim pickings) however the motel has a Starbucks on one side and a Dunkin Donuts on the other. The hotel advertises it has a fitness center but it’s really three treadmills in a room. There is also Wi-Fi but I was told by the front desk that it’s very slow so I was given an Ethernet cable and had no problems with the internet being slow.

Solid investment overall. Booked via Priceline and with tax it was about $70.00.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    141
    150
    70
    58
See reviews for
172
82
79
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Tis hotel has all the necessities. I stayed for three nights. The room was small but comfortable. The bathroom has a walk-in shower but no tub. That was fine for me, but others might prefer a tub. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast is a bit limited, but coffee was plentiful and good. The price was acceptable. All In all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

From the outside, we weren't sure what we were going to get (which has become our motto with Days Inn as it is). We were road weary, as we had just driven through heavy fog and icy conditions in Vermont and just wanted to settle in for the night. When checking in, my husband was told that there was no wireless internet but they had a couple ethernet cables available. I was not planning to do any work, so we passed on that. Our room was on the second floor (no elevator, as someone else mentioned). We were pleasantly surprised to see that for the most part, our room was clean and devoid of any strange smells. I don't remember anything about the bed, but we both slept well. My only issue with this room was something I found on the bottom of the shower that neither I, nor my husband could identify. It looked as though someone had coughed up blood and spit it in the shower, then it dried up (at first glance-I didn't inspect it by any means). My husband removed it from the shower with some toilet paper. We didn't use the shower in the morning since we were just driving home anyway. I'm sure if we had called the front desk they would have done something about it, but to be honest, we were too tired to go through the process of moving to another room.

Other than that, the room was fine. Nothing fancy, but it wasn't a dump either.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granolagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is my 5th stay since July and each time has been just fine; hotel personnel are personable and professional; rooms are clean; TV & remote work well; bathrooms are spotless and showers are excellent; I love the breakfast (English muffins, bagels, pastry, cereal & milk, fresh fruit, apple juice and great OJ, etc.). Economically priced and excellent value received; close to Albany city limits and the University; on Western Ave. which is a loooong street and if you go west deeper into suburb of Guilderland plenty of grocery markets & stores; couple miles east brings you into Crossgates Mall and a ton of shops in the metro area. Dunkin Donuts, Getty gas station, sports bar, Rite-Aid, small plaza, even a small movie theater either right next door or within a 5 minute drive; very convenient location; more I stay, the more I learn!

Room Tip: no elevator, so ask for ground floor & refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

No frills needed, the room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable, and the included continental breakfast was plenty. Right on US Rt. 20 across from the entrance to SUNY Albany and close to the entrance to US Rts. 90 & 87 and the NY Thruway, very convenient location. Adjacent to Dunkin' Donuts; nearby shopping center has drug store, restaurants, numerous others. Less expensive than alternatives and perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
1.6 km away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
4.1 km away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
445 reviews
4.7 km away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
152 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Albany SUNY? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Albany SUNY

Property: Days Inn Albany SUNY
Address: 1230 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,194 - ₹ 7,937
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Albany SUNY 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Albany SUNY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Albany Guilderland Hotel Albany
Albany Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing