We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
90
60
24
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
60
24
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedouin experience camel ride sleeping bag unique experience bedouin camp served tea and coffee different types sleeping arrangements both dinner and breakfast desert experience stayed for one night salad young people dead sea short talk stay overnight buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

I have mixed feelings about this place. We arrived about an hour before sundown and they gave our team a camel ride into the desert which was enjoyable. We were told that we got upgraded, instead of sleeping on the ground with a mat we got bunk beds with one bed for a couple in each tent. I slept with four men and a married Indian couple, which was kind of awkward. None of the room had pillows and little thin sleep sack to keep you warm. It did have one heater that glowed all night long. You have to walk to a common bathroom. They had hundreds of students staying the night. So you got a group of adult tourist staying in a youth camp for the night. The meals were excellent. They were suppose to give us a cultural experience but because of the students being rotated through we got tea or coffee, listen to a little lecture and then we got to ask five questions and then move out for the next group. I probably would pass this one next time.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Walker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear Sir,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website, and we were sorry to read that you have mixed feelings about the experience that you had.
Kfar Hanokdim has a wide range of accommodation types on offer: cabins, lodges, tents and more. You came to the Kfar with a group and were booked for a tent and we upgraded your group to a lodge. We usually accommodate 4-8 participants from the same group in the lodges, which are desert-style accommodations, made of material woven from goat hair.
Unlike the lodges, in our cabins you can find pillows, bedding, en-suite bathrooms, etc., so maybe cabins could better suit your needs (some of your group members stayed in cabins). In addition, perhaps more thorough explanations by the tour guide prior to your arrival would have helped you to know what to expect during your experience at the Kfar.
Regarding the student groups, usually we do not accept other guests when we have such students groups, although Kfar Hanokdim stretches out over a large area and you were located in a different section of the site. In any case, we are sorry that it impacted your experience and we will draw the necessary conclusions in order to avoid the feeling that you described in the future.
We were glad to hear you enjoyed our meals and the camel ride.

I am at your service for any additional questions you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Our family stayed in Kfar Hanokdim for 2 nights. The room was great and food was excellent. We really enjoyed exploring the desert around it, hiking in the canyons, etc. It was very beautiful and peaceful. A truly unique experience. Sometimes sitting on top of the mountain listening to the wind is the best way to relax.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sverdlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

I'm not saying that Kfar Hanokdim is a bad place. It's really not It's a typical hotel in the desert. The views are wonderful, the rooms are nice, and they have these huge tents with mattresses if you bring a large group of people in their mid 20s who want to hang out together. (which we did). You can experience the dessert with hikes and camel rides before returning and taking a shower and having a nice dinner.

The staff is nice and helpful. The price is OK for large groups and it includes meals. The meals are OK . . but pretty standard Israeli food fare.

But . . . it is billled as "A Bedouin experience". It's more like "A Bedouin-like experience". The only Bedouins we saw there were the janitorial staff and the guys who brought the camels (assuming from their own nearby village) for tourists to ride.

Bottom line, if you want to say you had a Bedouin-like experience . . . with flush toilets, electricity, and decent food, it's fine to go here. But if you want a real Bedouin experience . . . go spend a night with real Bedouins.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Sir,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website.
As you stated of the experience, you felt that it provides a good desert experience (the views, the rooms, the staff, a chance to experience the dessert with hikes and camel rides, etc.), but you felt disappointed that it is "A Bedouin-like experience" and not a real Bedouin Village.
Kfar Hanokdim does not present itself as a Bedouin village, but rather as a desert experience with the opportunity to meet some elements of Bedouin life and all our publications present it as such. I take this opportunity to highlight the ways in which we aim at bringing the Bedouin experience to our guests at Kfar Hanokdim, while attending to our visitor's needs and comfort. If I may note, spending a night in a real Bedouin tent can be a very challenging experience to most guests and is certainly not suitable for everybody.
Bedouin hospitality is experienced in Kfar Hanokdim by listening to local Bedouins describe their life, enjoying a Hafla - the Bedouin authentic meal, riding camels while being led by the Bedouins, and more.
In addition, we took great care in designing the unique décor so that it pays respect to the desert, while providing our guests with different types of accommodation – from authentic Bedouin crafted tents, to specially designed Lodges and private rooms.
Finally, authenticity is in the atmosphere as provided by the location itself, as Kfar Hanokdim is situated in the middle of the desert, with Bedouins being the only habitants in sight.

I will be glad to assist you any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night in their 6 bedder tent, hotel like amenities available in tent for this "room" category.
You will see donkey / peacock roaming freely in this "hotel".
Shared shower / toilet facilities only.
Buffet dinner / breakfast was acceptable.
Can get pretty chill in the night, so pack something warm.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wayne_T35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website. Feedback is always welcome and taken seriously, but it would seem that you were not aware of the entire range of accommodations that Kfar Hanokdim offers.
Kfar Hanokdim is not a hotel, but rather a desert experience, and our goal is to make the desert accessible to everyone, including tourists who look for comfortable hospitality.
It would appear you stayed in one of our tents, but Kfar Hanokdim has a wide range of accommodation types on offer: cabins, lodges, tents and more. As you most likely visited us as part of a group, you were probably not aware of the additional accommodation options.
For guests who choose to stay in the cabins there are ensuite bathrooms, while for the other types of accommodation there are communal facilities. We do our best to keep everything as clean as possible, and will try to do even better in the future.
I am at your service for any additional questions you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I'm going to start by saying perhaps we didn't make the most of this experience or perhaps it just wasn't for us. We were travelling up from the South of the country so we didn't get there until almost 7pm when it was already dark. We parked the car and were shown where to go to camp as that is what we'd picked. We were actually given one of the bedouin tents to camp in which was a touch. The camp sold alcohol which was a surprise (especially given the signs saying no alcohol) and we met a really interesting chap from Australia and shared a bottle of wine and an hour of conversation with him. There was hookah pipes there but we don't smoke (as I have severe asthma). We had brought food with us and it was nice to sit under the stars and eat that.

The night was quite noisy as the dogs that are security had plenty to bark at and the donkeys joined in which we actually enjoyed but if you struggle with sleep bring ear plugs. The chap at the reception desk kindly lent me a phone charger and the tent had plugs so that was another touch. We got up early and went into the desert to watch the sunrise which was great. We had a look around but then made the decision to move on.

In hindsight I think that the way to make the most of this experience is either to get there earlier and pay to be part of the meal etc (we enquired about this before going and declined as we thought it was expensive but it is actually on par with the cost in Israel which is more than we'd expected). This would've given us a chance to enjoy the bedouin experience more and to be able to meet more people.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JenFen6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Madam,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website. Indeed, feedback is always welcome and taken seriously, but it would seem that you were not aware of the entire range of possibilities that Kfar Hanokdim offers.
If I may agree with you – I think that you really did not make the most of this experience. Kfar Hanokdim is not a hotel, but rather a desert experience, and our goal is to provide a full experience to our guests, so we offer a package that includes a camel ride, a Bedouin Hospitality, a Hafla meal - the Bedouin authentic meal and in the evening, there is a bonfire to sit around and mingle with desert people as well as with other guests from all over the world.
It would appear you stayed in a camping tent, but Kfar Hanokdim has a wide range of accommodation types on offer: cabins, lodges, and more.
Regarding the alcohol you mentioned, the prohibition on alcohol drinking is related only to younger guests from 'Taglit' organization.
I am at your service for any additional questions you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews