We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dead Sea Adventure Hostel(Arad)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HI Arad Hostel(Arad)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert View _ Cohen House(Arad)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 103
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dead Sea Sun Guest House(Arad)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 162
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
85
59
21
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
59
21
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedouin experiencecamel rideunique experiencelarge tentsleeping bagbedouin campserved tea and coffeericedesert experiencedifferent typessleeping arrangementsboth dinner and breakfaststayed for one nightsaladyoung peopledead seashort talk
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017

I'm not saying that Kfar Hanokdim is a bad place. It's really not It's a typical hotel in the desert. The views are wonderful, the rooms are nice, and they have these huge tents with mattresses if you bring a large group of people in their mid 20s who want to hang out together. (which we did). You can experience the dessert with hikes and camel rides before returning and taking a shower and having a nice dinner.

The staff is nice and helpful. The price is OK for large groups and it includes meals. The meals are OK . . but pretty standard Israeli food fare.

But . . . it is billled as "A Bedouin experience". It's more like "A Bedouin-like experience". The only Bedouins we saw there were the janitorial staff and the guys who brought the camels (assuming from their own nearby village) for tourists to ride.

Bottom line, if you want to say you had a Bedouin-like experience . . . with flush toilets, electricity, and decent food, it's fine to go here. But if you want a real Bedouin experience . . . go spend a night with real Bedouins.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Sir,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website.
As you stated of the experience, you felt that it provides a good desert experience (the views, the rooms, the staff, a chance to experience the dessert with hikes and camel rides, etc.), but you felt disappointed that it is "A Bedouin-like experience" and not a real Bedouin Village.
Kfar Hanokdim does not present itself as a Bedouin village, but rather as a desert experience with the opportunity to meet some elements of Bedouin life and all our publications present it as such. I take this opportunity to highlight the ways in which we aim at bringing the Bedouin experience to our guests at Kfar Hanokdim, while attending to our visitor's needs and comfort. If I may note, spending a night in a real Bedouin tent can be a very challenging experience to most guests and is certainly not suitable for everybody.
Bedouin hospitality is experienced in Kfar Hanokdim by listening to local Bedouins describe their life, enjoying a Hafla - the Bedouin authentic meal, riding camels while being led by the Bedouins, and more.
In addition, we took great care in designing the unique décor so that it pays respect to the desert, while providing our guests with different types of accommodation – from authentic Bedouin crafted tents, to specially designed Lodges and private rooms.
Finally, authenticity is in the atmosphere as provided by the location itself, as Kfar Hanokdim is situated in the middle of the desert, with Bedouins being the only habitants in sight.

I will be glad to assist you any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a night in their 6 bedder tent, hotel like amenities available in tent for this "room" category.
You will see donkey / peacock roaming freely in this "hotel".
Shared shower / toilet facilities only.
Buffet dinner / breakfast was acceptable.
Can get pretty chill in the night, so pack something warm.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wayne_T35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website. Feedback is always welcome and taken seriously, but it would seem that you were not aware of the entire range of accommodations that Kfar Hanokdim offers.
Kfar Hanokdim is not a hotel, but rather a desert experience, and our goal is to make the desert accessible to everyone, including tourists who look for comfortable hospitality.
It would appear you stayed in one of our tents, but Kfar Hanokdim has a wide range of accommodation types on offer: cabins, lodges, tents and more. As you most likely visited us as part of a group, you were probably not aware of the additional accommodation options.
For guests who choose to stay in the cabins there are ensuite bathrooms, while for the other types of accommodation there are communal facilities. We do our best to keep everything as clean as possible, and will try to do even better in the future.
I am at your service for any additional questions you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I'm going to start by saying perhaps we didn't make the most of this experience or perhaps it just wasn't for us. We were travelling up from the South of the country so we didn't get there until almost 7pm when it was already dark. We parked the car and were shown where to go to camp as that is what we'd picked. We were actually given one of the bedouin tents to camp in which was a touch. The camp sold alcohol which was a surprise (especially given the signs saying no alcohol) and we met a really interesting chap from Australia and shared a bottle of wine and an hour of conversation with him. There was hookah pipes there but we don't smoke (as I have severe asthma). We had brought food with us and it was nice to sit under the stars and eat that.

The night was quite noisy as the dogs that are security had plenty to bark at and the donkeys joined in which we actually enjoyed but if you struggle with sleep bring ear plugs. The chap at the reception desk kindly lent me a phone charger and the tent had plugs so that was another touch. We got up early and went into the desert to watch the sunrise which was great. We had a look around but then made the decision to move on.

In hindsight I think that the way to make the most of this experience is either to get there earlier and pay to be part of the meal etc (we enquired about this before going and declined as we thought it was expensive but it is actually on par with the cost in Israel which is more than we'd expected). This would've given us a chance to enjoy the bedouin experience more and to be able to meet more people.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JenFen6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KfarHanokdim, Guest Relations Manager at Kfar Hanokdim, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Madam,
We appreciate the feedback that you posted on this website. Indeed, feedback is always welcome and taken seriously, but it would seem that you were not aware of the entire range of possibilities that Kfar Hanokdim offers.
If I may agree with you – I think that you really did not make the most of this experience. Kfar Hanokdim is not a hotel, but rather a desert experience, and our goal is to provide a full experience to our guests, so we offer a package that includes a camel ride, a Bedouin Hospitality, a Hafla meal - the Bedouin authentic meal and in the evening, there is a bonfire to sit around and mingle with desert people as well as with other guests from all over the world.
It would appear you stayed in a camping tent, but Kfar Hanokdim has a wide range of accommodation types on offer: cabins, lodges, and more.
Regarding the alcohol you mentioned, the prohibition on alcohol drinking is related only to younger guests from 'Taglit' organization.
I am at your service for any additional questions you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a couple of American friends visiting us,and decided to take them to Kfar HaNokdim to experience the Israeli desert. After we were shown to the lovely SUKKAH we booked for the night, we walked around the serene complex. There's quite an attention to details, even the water fountains turned out to be not only refreshing and functional, but beautifully decorated. We then continued to a short camel ride, and snapped some fun photos, followed by an introduction to the Bedouin culture and hospitality. At sunset we sipped some beers on the deck on top of our Sukkah, and enjoyed the desert view, it was a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Noam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Our family (kids 13, 11 and 8) loved this experience. We were greated by a guide who was a point person for the whole stay, which was great.

A Bedouin women spoke to our group about her life, and her challenges. It was very compelling. We watched a funny video and then we rode camels, which was awesome. Then we enjoyed a delicious feast, presented in a unique way. We slept in a clean, unique room. In the morning we had an (unexpected) amazing breakfast.

Danny, the owner, came over and introduced himself to us and told us all about the locals and Masada visit options. He was so sweet and wonderful. The place is enormous, has a staff of over 150, and is a well oiled machine. Even with hundreds of guests, he still made himself available.

There are lots of teenagers and young people milling about but they actually enhance the atmosphere, making it more festive. There was a concert the night we were there, and the vibe was very fun.

Highly recommend Kfar Haokdim to all!

(I Do not recommend for people who have trouble getting around)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Elona23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews