We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.”
Review of Tip Top Restaurant

Tip Top Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Dessert in Medan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The people watching and semi-historic setting were more inspiring than the food. And the roadside location is noisy with traffic. Popular for the ice cream and desserts. Not much good for us vegans.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank kxjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    256
    133
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatest restaurant on earth.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Went to Tip Top four times in four days. Food fantastic - well-prepared, cheap, abundant, wonderful. The restaurant itself is in a dire little neighbourhood in a double-dire city, and it was a pure oasis. Gloriously disinterested staff (until you smile, when they lit up), 50 year old busboys and older waiters, original decor, cold beer and crisp, tasty bitter ballen. I'd go back to Medan just to eat there again, it was that good. And then, twice a week (our stay only allowed us to see them once) they have a seven-piece mariachi band. Five guitars. Five. They were doing unbelievable reaching harmonies on wild versions of My Way and Country Roads and Hotel California. The rain was thundering down four feet away from our table and the band were WAILING and I sat there with my knife and fork hovering over my plate, mouth hanging open, stunned by the music. Astonishing. It was maybe Wednesday night they were playing, and one more. Worth a trip to Indonesia just for the band, and the food tip-topped it off. Go.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JuanAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“colonial era restaurant open till know”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

for people who like to enjoy old history of Colonialism Deutsch time can come here. its long history restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still has a lot of traditional items on the menu”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Used to like this place a lot when I was a kid. Now, I guess time has worn this place down. I hope the owner will do some improvement to the place, it has so much potential. The ox-tongue steak is a must try.

Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Antique”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I came to this restaurant is accidentaly actually. My main destination was Tjong Afie's house, but tht house was still close and I must wait about an hour till it open.I decided to walked around the area and found this resto. But I have heard about this restaurant long time before for it;s antique and history. So I was so happy and spent an hour here. Many visitors was foreigners, perhaps because it;s history that this resto was build since Ducth Occupying in Indonesia. I love the ambience of the resto, but I cant give the value for the food because I just ordered the ice cream (i have taken my breakfast when I came there). It was a handmade ice cream, simple and worth the price :)

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank qqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tip Top Restaurant also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Tip Top Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing