We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you don't have expectation”
Review of Aryaduta Medan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aryaduta Medan
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok if you don't have expectation”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Room is spacious, but they could have maintained it better. Bedroom and bathroom were clean, but it could benefit from a bit of refurbishment. My room was dilapidated and carpet looked dirty (which might not be the case).

The hotel used to serve freshly brewed coffee from the coffee machine, but not anymore. So, I ended up with stale and weak coffee. Breakfast was average and the cafe was understaffed. There were only about three people serving the whole area, and it was quite busy at that time.

However, I've never stayed at another hotels in Medan, so I could not really compare it with others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    250
    110
    27
    12
See reviews for
95
114
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Safed, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The rooms are quite nice but needs renovation - stained carpets etc. Questionable design in most (I was part of a larger group so I saw a few). The check in is OK but not more and the staff is helpful. Several good buffe restaurants and a Japanese teppanyaki offering as well. Nice and very stylish - for Medan. It is a good choice and I was not dissapointed in asnything more than not all romms have wireless.

Room Tip: Avoid 9th floor (no wireless)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerClown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

After a long week a small group of us returned to The Aryaduta Hotel in Medan at about 1115 PM just after the closure of the bar and were tolds so. I am as an Australian being told this and always thinking if I owned the hotel I would sort this sort of approach out ! Any way ( bit long winded sorry ) I asked if we could have a drink out side the bar - the nice girl said only room service and I said - good we will have it here and HEY PRESTO we got 2 drinks and I want to marry the girl and will stay there each visit to Medan untill I die.
It is these small things that make a big difference at any hotel and it must be a management thing? They have it here - charming desk helperss- comfy rooms and fair pricing .
Gets the OZIEMUNCHER 5 star rating !

Room Tip: Just take what you can - hard to get rooms all over Indonesia!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oziemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed for 1 night at a deluxe room with a large (2x2m) balcony overlooking the pool. The room is quite big and has a friendly, neutral feel. Loved the pillows which were super comfortable that I wanted to take one back home :p

Unfortunately, at that time I was just recovering from a cough, and the carpet (though it was nice and soft) exacerbated my cough. This, I take, is an indication that the carpet is NOT vacuumed enough!! The flat-screen TV had good channels but it was hung too far away from the bed. I also thought the amenities (tea/coffee + water heater) was oddly placed in a nook between the TV and the study table.

Breakfast and lunch is disappointing. Not much variety and average taste.

One other thing to note: the reception lobby is on the NINTH floor. Yup, you read correctly. It totally confused me when I got in the lift to look for the lobby.

I haven't stayed at any other hotel in Medan, but I understand that Aryaduta is one of the best, and only comes second after Marriott. I'm surprised, however, that the food is much worse than 5-star hotels in mainland Java, given that Medan is the third largest city in the country.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sweetbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is one of the best hotel in Medan , feel like home if I stay here , the staff are helpful & friendly , I stay here since 2009 if have trip to medan ...the atmosphere of room which I like it, definetly I love to stay here, try the western food in The Kitchen ...you will like it...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ywij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.7 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
1.0 km away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
0.2 km away
Hotel Santika Premiere Dyandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Medan
0.4 km away
Grand Aston Cityhall Hotel & Serviced Residences
1.3 km away
Grand Mercure Maha Cipta Medan Angkasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Medan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Medan

Property: Aryaduta Medan
Address: Jln. Maulana Lubis no. 8, Medan 20112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Medan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,547 - ₹ 4,837
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the vibrant business and entertainment district of Medan, Aryaduta Medan boasts exceptional comfort in its 195 guest rooms and suites, a multitude of spacious facilities , a breathtaking 35 meters Courtyard Pool and spectacular city views. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to The Mayor's office, 45 minutes drive to Kuala Namu International Airport, walking distance from Merdeka Walk and the train station that runs non stop to the airport is a few minutes drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Aryaduta Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medan Aryaduta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing