We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
36
10
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
10
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

love this place! Fantastic staff and owners, some of the best food I have had in Indonesia and close to both a great dive center (they drive you there for free, it takes 5 min-perfect!) and lots of land adventures. Came as a couple, but looking back I realize it would also be great with kids - not least the garden and nice village setting. Perfect for anyone who wants to dive Bunaken, but wants something more interesting than the typical dive center scene.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Familywithtwoyearold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

A perfect place to spend your holidays if you want to relax, have incredible meals, dive at Bunaken and meet nice people. The British owners are really kind and they can offer you many tours around the place. Enjoy Bahowo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RQTRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

This is a great place to see Sulawesi in a traditional village, from the free range pigs to the friendliest people in Indonesia. The owners Phil and Paula are good hosts, the breakfast is great and the bread is to die for, they also do a good spread in the evening, even if we did have to suffer the regular power cuts, not the fault of the owners though, these were throughout the Manado area. The only real complaint was the general untidiness of the outside areas, it just needed a good brush up, there was a beautiful area for just relaxing outside out room but it was so untidy, also the toilet seat in the bathroom wasn't fastened on at all, it was completely free of the base. On the upside was Raymon the driver who was superb, this guy can drive and he new everyone, very knowledgeable, just can't praise this guy enough, as for the house keeper, buy him a brush and show him how to use it. Overall I would recommend this homestay to friend, but please spend some time on your home, it's time for a little TLC I think

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent 4 nights at Bahowo Lodge, and wished we had twice as many! Phil and Paula are lovely hosts and spent lots of time with us. The staff .... lovely, no complaints. The Lodge itself is lovely, we used the family suite..which slept 4 of us very comfortable. The rooms are spacious and air-conditioned. The balcony is lovely and overlooks the mangrove forest, which has lots of birds to watch. Our kids loved the Lodge and especially the 2 dogs on the grounds..
We loved the trips, both over-land as well as the boat trips the lodge arranged for us...they did a great job, we didn't have to think of a thing as all our needs were looked after. Would we return YES YES YES!!! Thank you Paula,, Phil and Lodge staff for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brinnell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have just returned from my sixth stay at Bahowo Lodge. Over the last three years I have been a regular visitor both alone and with groups of up to 6 friends.
In all aspects, this is one of Asia's many well kept secrets. From airport pickup, accommodation, service, catering and friendly laid back atmosphere, Bahowo Lodge is fantastic.
This is not a 5 star resort with associated price and extravagance. It does however maintain a high standard of customer alignment and focus on simple, homely and quality accommodation.
Of special note are;
- Customer focus and friendly / straightforward approach of owners, Phil & Paula.
- Excellent staff.
- The breakfast and local BBQ dinner
- Alignment with local dive centers, (specifically the Lulley Dive Resort)
- Eco tourism approach and local / Indonesian community engagement
I would highly recommend Bahowo Lodge to anyone planning a dive trip to Manado / Bunaken as well as to individuals, groups or families looking for a unique locally tailored experience.
Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews