We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2D 1N Hotel”
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Batam
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Batam
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is situated very near to BCS mall. Hiring a cab to BCS cost IDR 30k.. Basically, check in and check out is a brisk without much hassle.. The staff are always smiley.. However, do not expect too much for the room.. We have 3 pax sharing the room. There is only 1 set of the slippers and toiletries... The bedsheet has alot of pen ink stains and I believe because of the central aircon, someone from the other room smokes in the middle of the night and our room was filled with the cigg smell... The room is also pretty dim despite we turn on all the lights in the room.. There is a swimming pool and a gym on the first floor... Swimming pool is very crowded during evening time and it is highly recommended to wake up just abit earlier in the morning to use the pool if you want... It was raining the night before and the chairs were wet when we arrived at the pool.. The staff was very nice to offer to wipe the chair for us.. There is also a spa located on the first floor.. However, when we tried to book the foot massage, we were being told that the masseur has already retired and they only have body massage available in the spa... Breakfast variety is not alot but it is sufficient enough for me... Overall, this hotel is not too bad for a 2D1N stay...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.

We are very sorry for what you have been through and please rest assured that we will follow up your comment. We will check again our linen quality control to ensure no stain bed sheet in our operational circulation, also we will check AC ducting maybe need some repair to avoid air interconnecting between rooms.

For your information, we are working on bulb replacement especially main light with brighter one to get better light in the rooms. We have some health club membership which often using our gym and swim in the evening, morning is the best time to use our swimming pool if you enjoy a quiet ambiance. Reflexology therapist soon will have replacement.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Batam,
please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vincentcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 January 2012

You'll be able to see brown stuff in the water when you try filling up the bathtub.
Slight stain on the bedsheets.
The electric kettle is stained and rusty.
There's no proper pavement for walking outside the hotel. It's just roads with slightly heavy traffic most of the time. Hence, was unable to take a walk outside the hotel. Other than a 24hrs mini mart, there's nothing else near the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Sincerely our beloved guests,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you have encountered during your visit in our hotel. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We are very sorry for what you have been through and please rest assured that we will follow up your comment. For your information we now have fixed and replaced main pipe and replaced new booster pump for water supply to the rooms, hopefully this may solve problem with water supply to the rooms.

We also now working on our laundry quality and plan to replace our laundry chemicals with better quality, soon this solution will finalize.

For your information, Raden Patah area (where the hotel located) now growing with some new restaurants and cafe. The nearest KFC (5 minutes walk from hotel) now being renovate and Pizza Hut only 10 minutes walk from hotel. New hospital also being build now next to the hotel.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again soon in Mercure Batam. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

the room is dim and despite knowing that there were 2 occupants in the room, only 1 set of the tooth brush, bathroom slippers,etc were given. Lights control = Six light switches, hastily cobbled together and set to control, without any indications which is for which. Rooms such as 205, 206, etc, has a master control panel which allows aircon and light control. Checked upon arrival at around 4ish and found that: toilet was clogged; it fills but doesn't go down and air con was terribly noisy. Called the reception to report at least 3 times, waited for around an hour (we were travelling with tour group, hence were anxious as they took their time to respond) and went down to the reception twice before the engineer came. As it was time for us to meet up at the recept with the rest of the tour group, we left our belongings in our friends' room that was beside (didn't have the opportunity to check whether the aircon and toilet were fixed). Upon our return, our tourguide checked with the reception and was told that the items were fixed. However to our dismay, we found that the toilet was still not working but the aircon was quieter (at least for a few hours). Totally gave up on getting their help to repair the toilet, and was thankful that the aircon runs quietly. However, we were woken up by a continuous loud knocking noise in the wee hours and it continued so for the rest of our stay (im glad that i was only there for 2days 1 night). As the room faces the main road and is right on top of the hotel entrance, it is awfully noisy to stay in that room. I would say that the overall experience in that room and the slow service rendered alone has left a terrible impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Sincerely our beloved guests,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you have encountered during your visit in our hotel. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests.

We are very sorry for what you have been through and please rest assured that we will follow up your comment and will give special attention to toilet flush and AC quality.to ensure proper accomodation for all the rooms. More training will be given to our receptionist and engineering team to be more attentive in handling guest feedback and follow up.

For your information we are now realizing renovation work partially replacing our AC system with new FCU and this project will continue until early next year.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again soon in Mercure Batam. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary / General Manager





Please rest assured that more training will be given to our receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have stayed in this hotel in July this year. Earlier I have stayed at this hotel with friends. Its good hotel with large rooms. Its close to Sekupang harbour ( short ride). Staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel is mostly frequented by Golfers ( Batam has 2 golf corses which are very popular). Hotel is on the main road to the harbour on the outskirts of the city. They serve good break fast here and bar at the entrance is good one. Food quality is good. Group booking strikes good bargain.There are good seafood restaurants nearby. Taxis are cheap. Overall, its makes worthwhile stay. Nearby 89 Hotel is also good.

Room Tip: Take a detour while in Singapore. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milanbhise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Sincerely our beloved guests,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel. And thank you for positive comments on our room, breakfast and our bar lounge.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Batam.
Let Good Things Happen:-)

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.3 km away
The L Hotel Entertainment
The L Hotel Entertainment
#75 of 100 in Batam
6 reviews
2.1 km away
Crown Vista Hotel
Crown Vista Hotel
#25 of 100 in Batam
106 reviews
0.7 km away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#2 of 6 in Batu Ampar
645 reviews
0.7 km away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nagoya
229 reviews
0.9 km away
Amaris Hotel Nagoya Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jl. Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Batam
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam
Mercure Batam Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing