We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bromo Cottages Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bromo Cottages Hotel
Ranked #116 of 129 Hotels in Surabaya
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

If you want to visit Mount Bromo, you need to stay at this hotel, because there are no other hotels in the city!

The hotel is very bad and is the worst hotel we have stayed at. The view is good and that all the positive you an say about this hotel.

Food is mediocore and tripple the price of other places on Java. The rooms are not clean and the same goes for the bathroom. There are no heating in the rooms (remember it gets quite cold at night - down to minus degrees celcius).

Our guide told us that she had talk to he owner several times highlighting the bad standing of the hotel. He is of the opinion that guests only visit for one night and most of them only one time. So he don't care...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    43
    105
    77
    70
See reviews for
45
158
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in ! The rooms were dirty and run down, neither the television or telephone were working and the staff were unbelievably rude - a request for extra blankets was refused with no explanation. The hotel is undergoing major building work so after getting up at 3.30am to make sure we didn't miss the sunrise there was no chance of a nap due to the constant hammering, drilling etc. We were staying in the middle of a building site. The food was just about acceptable - although having ordered a bowl of chips we watched the staff dipping into the dish and helping themselves as it was being delivered to our table.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibsonlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Large hotel located on the edge of a small village - a base of Bromo. We lived in houses on the hillside. Rooms are big but modest and rather require renovation, smelling humidity. Restaurant average. On arrival the delicious ginger tea. There is a little shop where you can buy postcards, books, warm hats or rain coats.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutSpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

WE stayed there to see the sunrise at the volcano. It is the closet hotel to the summit which is the only reason it exisits. Lots of tour buses. The hotel is well past its prime. If cleaned up it would be great but since it has a captive (or should I say hostage) audienece they have let it run down. It was the only place in INdonesia (we were ther for a month) that I could not recommend. The food was bland which is hard to do in Indonesia. It was also over priced.

It is very close to the summit so if you don't stay there you have to get up very early and drive up a long road in the dark. So it is a trade off. If it is clear you have a nice view of the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

As posted in other reviews, the hotel is too expensive for what it has to offer, especially where it comes to the restaurant. On the other hand, we loved the view from our room and they organised a good tour for us. Our room was in a way better state than most other rooms in the hotel, judging by the pictures from other reviewers. However, expect nothing fancy.

The personnel does not speak English, which was quite difficult in my case. Late at night I discovered I had a skin infection on the back of my leg. I do carry some first aid items but I had run out of bandages so I went up to the front desk to get some. All they had in the medical department was a nearly empty bottle of Betadine... which is not a good thing in such a remote location. They were sweet enough to take me to the village doctor on a motorbike, which was quite a ride on those dark steep roads. Our Indonesian phrasebook helped a great deal!

There is hardly any mobile phone coverage so when I wanted to call my own GP and my family in the Netherlands that was a bit difficult. My mother tried calling the hotel, but the personnel speak too little English to put her through to my room.

All in all: the hotel is overpriced (but well,there is just not a lot to choose from) and you just have to hope nothing serious happens while you're out there. On the other hand, the hotel personnel were really kind and helpful when I needed the village doctor, which I greatly appreciated. Bring an Indonesian phrasebook!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarliesAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surabaya
34.0 km away
SM Bromo Hotel
SM Bromo Hotel
#4 of 12 in Probolinggo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 km away
Dalwa Hotel Pasuruan
Dalwa Hotel Pasuruan
#5 of 11 in Pasuruan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
33.2 km away
Bromo Permai I
Bromo Permai I
#8 of 12 in Probolinggo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Tretes Raya Hotel & Resort
Tretes Raya Hotel & Resort
#6 of 11 in Pasuruan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Transit Pasuruan
Hotel Transit Pasuruan
#7 of 11 in Pasuruan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
38.7 km away
Hotel Santika Jemursari
Hotel Santika Jemursari
#49 of 129 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bromo Cottages Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromo Cottages Hotel

Property: Bromo Cottages Hotel
Address: Tosari, Surabaya 67177, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 129 Hotels in Surabaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,033 - ₹ 9,622
Hotel Class:3 star — Bromo Cottages Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bromo Cottages Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bromo Hotel Surabaya
Bromo Cottages Hotel Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing