We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horison Suites Surabaya
Ranked #43 of 131 Hotels in Surabaya
Jakarta
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Need Renovation”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed here two times in the last two months. I was upgraded into business suite both stays.
Since this was not my first time, so i found this hotel was kind a outdated but still get the feeling that the hotel is being well maintained.

Typical old hotel, that the space of the room is huge. But sometimes the layout didnt make any sense to me. In the business suite room, the LAN cable on the working desk was far from the bedroom, so i couldnt enjoy the news fromt the TV while working.

I also found that one of the business room during my first stay, there were no Bathub in the bathroom, it was modified into big shower space.

The location is still the best thing about this hotel.
But during my second stay in May, i found that the restaurant for breakfast during peak time, becoming not comfortable for guests. Because there's a long waiting queue for table, and even for food. They need to look for alternative to solve this problems.

One thing, TV was so old. They should consider to convert into LCD at least.!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    88
    63
    17
    5
See reviews for
36
20
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The room and bathroom are spacious. The breakfast area is rather small. But the design is like 90s or late 80s. Within walking distance to mall and trade centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholaiDendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is good value business hotel.
Rooms are spacious with a small lounge and desk and sepearte bedroom which worked well for me to have a private business meeting.
The bar had good live band and good food.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing for westerners.Not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Terjemahan
We stayed there in March 2011 with the family. The hotel is actually showing signs of age are old enough. some facilities are poorly maintained and dirty looks. We found in a bedroom sofa cushions are deflated, the former leak in the ceiling and walls are not painted. Seen a few stains on the carpet and sofa. Actually when I think back, it is rather disgusting. But the truly disgusting is the cleanliness of the bathroom. There are many stains in some spots on the toilet, sink, and bath up ..
Bedrooms are very spacious. Able to accommodate two king size beds.
Breakfast food is quite tasty
Bathroom facilities and toiletries good
A strategic location, near the hotel there are shopping malls that are old enough, the Plaza Surabaya. There are places to eat with a relatively cheap price.
Overall hotel is quite ordinary. If you only want a maximum of 1 day transit is still ok. But if more than that, I recommend to stay at the hotel next door which offers similar rates and sanitation facilities are much better.

Room Tip: Ask to the hotel's staff cleaner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didikkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is located in the Center of Surabaya although I did not stay long enough to really experience the location. The rooms are of a nice size and are clean. The bathroom fittings could do with refurbishment, they are quite old but still in working order. Overall bathroom cleanliness is OK, mould around bathtub edges and bathtub inside with enamel damages. Wi-Fi works well and is pretty fast.Breakfast buffet is rich, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Egg cook has (for Westerners) strange habit of pre-preparing omelets and fried eggs in advance, leave them on the counter for self-service while he disappears for a while. The hotel enforces a very strict 'smoke free premises' policy, for me this is done much to aggressively.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.2 km away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#42 of 131 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.5 km away
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
1.1 km away
Crown Prince Hotel
Crown Prince Hotel
#50 of 131 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Grand Darmo Suite
Grand Darmo Suite
#23 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 km away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#19 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 km away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 131 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horison Suites Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horison Suites Surabaya

Property: Horison Suites Surabaya
Address: Plaza Boulevard Jln. Pemuda 31-37, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia (Formerly Surabaya Suites Hotel/Surabaya Plaza Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#23 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,133 - ₹ 4,590
Hotel Class:4 star — Horison Suites Surabaya 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Horison Suites Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horison Suites Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing