We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Majapahit Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
Ranked #1 of 124 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

stayed in this hotel for a week and would say it's one of my best..colonial hotel and very relaxing..big rooms with garden view in the heart of city. there is 4 gardens in this property and the way they maintain it is hats off. huge swimming pool and renowned Martha tilaar health treatment. Buffet is fantastic. staffs are well trained and helpful. a lot of functions take place here..the dim sum here is the best..across the street tunjungan plaza for shopping and great food. Charlie Chaplin has stayed here as well as other important dignitaries.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hameem888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    184
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
122
243
66
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The atmosphere of the hotel common areas and the rooms is just lovely. The green courtyards are beautiful. The staff are also very helpful.
However, during my 4 day stay there were several issues that will prevent me from coming back.
The building itself is 5* but the management is 2*.

(1) On several mornings I was woken at 8am by loud construction noises. Power tools, floor buffers, hammers, etc... 8am is too early for this type of noise!

(2) On two occasions the hot water was not working.

(3) On one occasion when the hot water was not working I called to the reception THREE times and no one answered the phone. It seems they were goofing off or sleeping. I finally had to walk to reception in my towel and ring the bell to get some help.

(4) The internet access is very slow and poor quality. Forget doing anything with video or audio. Sometimes it wasn't even possible for me to open a website to check on flights, etc... I checked with the IT staff in different rooms with different laptops and had the same problems in all places.

(5) I ate 4 times at the various hotel restaurants. The food descriptions look fantastic in the menu but the look/taste of the food when it arrives is very disappointing. It's very bland and stale. You'll get better eats up the street at McDonalds.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have no doubt about why this hotel ranked #1 in Surabaya from Trip Advisor, because starting when you enter the hotel, you will served as if you are a VIP guest. The receptionist welcome us warmly and gives us lychee drink as welcome drink. Taking walk into the room, your eyes can not move from its surround because the beautiful garden, the historical pictures, the tile, the corridor really gives you such historic experience.

I took the garden terrace room, located near the presidents suite and Martha Tilaar Spa (Don't forget to have the spa here). Entering the room, the bathroom is totally luxurious with gold platted handling everywhere. Comfort yourself with the bathtub.

The interior design equipped with flat tv screen, big sofas, big double beds, cabinet. I do agree if you could spend more nights just do it, because one night doesn't feel enough, it is really comfy in this hotel. As the bed big and linens are smooth, i just want to sleep all day until check out time.

Next to my room is the access to pool, it is a wide pool almost olympic size.

To go outside this hotel, you may pick the cab or just walk. Surabaya has changed into a walkable city with gardens everywhere.

Room Tip: Pick the garden terrace, so that you can enjoy the garden right from your room while reading books o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theonlykarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Surabaya can be pretty jarring but this place will soothe it all away. The tropical gardens and historical architecture are beautiful and it's a pleasure to just wander around. The room was gorgeous and it's worth upgrading to an executive suite for the full experience - separate living room area, enormous bedroom and spacious bathroom. It's well maintained and clean, and apart from the festivities of fast-breaking during Ramadan, it's very quiet and peaceful. Even then, the dinner was always over by 9pm so not an issue at all.
There's a lovely swimming pool and gym and I had a truly excellent massage in the spa - as a spa junkie I can honestly say it's one of the best massages I've had anywhere.
You can easily access Tungjungan Plaza (TP) on foot in about five minutes and there you will find anything and everything you need. There are also lots of options for eating out if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
If you've been travelling round and roughing a bit or even if you're in Surabaya for business, try at least a night or two here just for the experience.
This hotel really rates as one of the great historical hotels in Asia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
219 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Previous reviewers have said it all....but I have to add more of the same. We booked 4 days here, and the first 2 days we didn't leave the hotel until we went to the shopping mall to eat in the evening. From the moment we checked in every single member of staff was polite and friendly and totally efficient in every way. The building, the stunning gardens and the rooms are just amazing. I we spent hours just wandering around. The peaceful ambience makes you forget you're in a bustling city. I agree with others that the pool and gym are great too. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel. It's for good reason that it's #1 on Tripadvisor. The value for money here is incredible, I hope rates stay as they are because we can't wait to return, and we definitely will. Thank you to everyone at The Majapahit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 124 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
4.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
Shangri-La Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 124 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 km away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#4 of 124 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
1.3 km away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#10 of 124 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majapahit Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majapahit Surabaya

Property: Hotel Majapahit Surabaya
Address: Jln. Tunjungan 65, Surabaya 60275, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#1 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,026 - ₹ 9,823
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Majapahit Surabaya 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majapahit is a historic luxury hotel in Surabaya, Indonesia. The hotel was founded in 1910 as Hotel Oranje by Lucas Martin Sarkies. During the Japanese occupation of Indonesia the hotel name was changed to Yamato Hotel. Mantrust Holdings Co. became the new owner in 1969 and it was named after the most enduring kingdom of ancient Indonesia. In 1993 it was formerly operated by the Mandarin Oriental group. PT. Sekman Wisata took over the hotel and changed the name to HOTEL MAJAPAHIT in 2006. Located on Jalan Tunjungan in Indonesia's largest city and capital to East Java, the hotel is located in the centre of Surabaya, close to businesses, government offices and the largest shopping district in Surabaya. HOTEL MAJAPAHIT is trully and oasis in the heart of Surabaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Majapahit Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Surabaya
Surabaya Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Majapahit Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing