We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great seafood great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gama Ikan Bakar & Seafood

Gama Ikan Bakar & Seafood
Ranked #15 of 578 Restaurants in Semarang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 5
Cuisines: Seafood, Indonesian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Family restaurant located in the center of Semarang city, providing traditional Javanese seafood with locally sourced ingredients. Open all year round including during public holidays.
indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great seafood great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

if you want have lunch or dinner with big family and a lot of friends this is the place! the taste was soo good and they have big portion of food. the value was appropriate for this big portion. soo enjoy this nice restaurant when you visit semarang

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank littleangelIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    53
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My family of 9 went to have our dinner there. The crab has not fillings and the servings was small. My father who is a crab-lover did not enjoy it. And when we went out of the restaurant and we saw big live crabs at the kitchen, we were shocked.Really disappointing.

The good thing is that they have quite a variety of food, waiting time is short as we went earlier and did not clash with dinner time. Also, the place is clean as we sit as the no-smoking area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Owner at Gama Ikan Bakar & Seafood, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Ida,

I am very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience at our restaurant. We sell a variety of live crabs which are all sold by weight (the most expensive ones being the king crab), and you can actually stop by the kitchen to choose the crab (and fish) that you like.

At any case, please accept our apologies. Perhaps there's been a mix-up or a miscommunication with the waitperson, but this is no excuse. I hope you will give us another chance in the future and I thank you for giving us a valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best seafood in Semarang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

they have various sambal and the food is good.
but i disappointed with the salted egg squid, it's very difficult to chew.
but the lemburi and fish very fresh and delicious

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rizki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice and reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The serving of the food is good, the service is quite fast and informative.
Came here on Friday, March 29th 2013 with my mother and later, my relatives.
Ordered menu: Ikan Sebelah bakar ( roasted with leaves ), Pecel Udang ( Prawn with belacan chilli sauce ) and Tumis Genjer ( some kind of greeny leaves, quickly cooked in wok ). Dessert : Ice Kacang Spore (Singapore Red Bean Ice ). The roasted fish is properly roasted, the spice is just right. The prawn has a good taste of belacan, and it is not too hot. The red bean needs more red beans :), but it is good in overall.
Recommended to entertain your guest, or your relatives from out of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food make happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My favorites here is : srimping
but there are also a lot of delicious seafood you should try..
I've been here for 5 times and the foods aren't disappoint me whenever the restaurant is full of costumer or not..

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artrinomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gama Ikan Bakar & Seafood also viewed

Semarang, Central Java
Semarang, Central Java
 
Semarang, Central Java
Semarang, Central Java
 

Been to Gama Ikan Bakar & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing