We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair place to stay for Backpackers!”
Review of Kampong Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kampong Tourist
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2015

An Accessible place to stay in Malang city, and perfectly spotted In the middle of the town within several good places to hang out. But i bothered with their mechanism. We only can stay here by choosing packages. Whether it's Bromo tour, Sempu Island or just stroll around Batu city. by picking one of those package you can stay here for days.

Other than that, due to its cheap price they can't manage the the dorm clean (i guess). I feel like living in a foxhole...somewhat.

Room Tip: Pick a room in gazebo instead of dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Intany01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Nice place at the top of tje Helios hotel. Location of the hotel is excellent. Its near the trainstation of Malang and a buscompany that arranges nightbusses to Bali is around the corner.

Staff is friendly and willing to help.

Only but is the noise in the Gazebos (bamboo hut). Bring some earplugs!

The vibe in the hotel is good because they also have a great dormroom witch brings along a goodn backpackers vibe.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruud87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The view over the city is nice, some over the staff too but they can't even manage the cashregistry. Since it's very noisy we didn't sleep for two nights we decided to move to the hotel under it. One day after checkout they came with two bills we didn't pay according to them....

Further more it takes forever to get some food if you order anything. The impression we got from the staff is that they think they are at home and not at work. They sleep at the beds and some off them are very rude.

Also the maintenance is pretty bad. The sink leaks water all over the place and the toilet won't stop running.

The Helios hotel only costs 80.000rph more and for that you get privacy, way less noise, breakfast and staff that can manage the place. We think that is more than worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

One of the best accomodation during my indonesian hollidays.
Gazebo os the best choice - enought for two adults & todler. But take care in the night time - it can be cold - long sleeves & pantlegs are good choice.
Showers always with hot (really hot) water.
Tasty dishes - I recommend soto ayam, Bintang is always cold ;)
Be prepared for intensive beeping at 7 am - Kampong is situated at crossroads.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadwiga-sept29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Loved this place! I arrived at 4.30am off the train from Jogja. Even though my gazebo wasn't available (some lucky person was still sleeping), they were happy for me to doze in the gazebo or on their couch and even offered me a blanket. Gazebo was clean as were the toilets and showers. Food wasn't quick but was tasty and their herbal teas were full of homegrown herbs and I mean FUll! There were a few backpackers having a drink and playing cards at night but all was quiet by 9pm. Great location and Helios tours located downstairs are reliable and trustworthy.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank threesutherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.6 km away
Splendid Inn
Splendid Inn
#26 of 60 in Malang
80 reviews
1.4 km away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
7 km away
Solaris Hotel Malang
Solaris Hotel Malang
#18 of 60 in Malang
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Santosa
Hotel Santosa
#39 of 60 in Malang
28 reviews
5.4 km away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
0.5 km away
Hotel Tugu Malang
Hotel Tugu Malang
#1 of 60 in Malang
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampong Tourist? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampong Tourist

Address: Jln. Pattimura 37 | 3rd floor Hotel Helios, Malang 65111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Malang
Price Range: ₹ 648 - ₹ 776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kampong Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing