We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
81
50
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
50
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelios hotelhelios toursbring earplugsdouble bednice atmospheresunrise tourplace to staymalang cityclose to the train stationnice viewtraditional foodgazebobamboodormhostelrooftopaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Nice place at the top of tje Helios hotel. Location of the hotel is excellent. Its near the trainstation of Malang and a buscompany that arranges nightbusses to Bali is around the corner.

Staff is friendly and willing to help.

Only but is the noise in the Gazebos (bamboo hut). Bring some earplugs!

The vibe in the hotel is good because they also have a great dormroom witch brings along a goodn backpackers vibe.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruud87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The view over the city is nice, some over the staff too but they can't even manage the cashregistry. Since it's very noisy we didn't sleep for two nights we decided to move to the hotel under it. One day after checkout they came with two bills we didn't pay according to them....

Further more it takes forever to get some food if you order anything. The impression we got from the staff is that they think they are at home and not at work. They sleep at the beds and some off them are very rude.

Also the maintenance is pretty bad. The sink leaks water all over the place and the toilet won't stop running.

The Helios hotel only costs 80.000rph more and for that you get privacy, way less noise, breakfast and staff that can manage the place. We think that is more than worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

One of the best accomodation during my indonesian hollidays.
Gazebo os the best choice - enought for two adults & todler. But take care in the night time - it can be cold - long sleeves & pantlegs are good choice.
Showers always with hot (really hot) water.
Tasty dishes - I recommend soto ayam, Bintang is always cold ;)
Be prepared for intensive beeping at 7 am - Kampong is situated at crossroads.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadwiga-sept29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Loved this place! I arrived at 4.30am off the train from Jogja. Even though my gazebo wasn't available (some lucky person was still sleeping), they were happy for me to doze in the gazebo or on their couch and even offered me a blanket. Gazebo was clean as were the toilets and showers. Food wasn't quick but was tasty and their herbal teas were full of homegrown herbs and I mean FUll! There were a few backpackers having a drink and playing cards at night but all was quiet by 9pm. Great location and Helios tours located downstairs are reliable and trustworthy.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank threesutherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We booked a bamboo gazebo (for 3 people) at Kampong Tourist just for one night, since we were taking the Malang-Bromo-Ijen-Bali 2D/1N tour with their tour company Helios Transport Malang. Given that the tour starts at midnight, we only stayed there for a few hours, but it was worth the stay. The gazebo was very clean, the shared toilets and showers were also very clean and the atmosphere around is really cool, with comfy places to chill and a bar to have a drink. The view from here (top level) is breath taking, were Malang city can be seen quite well.

The city centre was also very nearby (10-15 min walk), and the staff members were very helpful and recommended good places to eat from. Definitely recommend this accommodation even if you're staying for a few hours in Malang!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livermagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews