We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very intimate oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa
Ranked #113 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very intimate oasis!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The best choice we made in accommodation in Bali! The place is immaculate, quiet, peaceful, charming, and exotic. It was such relief to come here after the craziness of Seminyak. We had the whole hotel to ourselves as the only guests during our 2 night stay. You would never know we were the only ones there, as the place was still fully staffed just for us!

The breakfast was beautiful and we did order dinner from The West End down the road one night. Very lovely! The hotel uses a driver that lives near by, "Wayan," and it was very convenient to use him for transport. You can also do the lovely walk into town. It is a bit far considering the hot sticky weather, but you have to do it at least once because it is just so enchanting. Otherwise you can get taxis everywhere. The hotel does offer a drop off into town once a day at 10:30am.

We also had a spa treatment at the hotel. One of the scrubs and a 60 minute couples massage. Unlike most other nice hotels, this hotel doesn't jack up the spa prices. I think it was like $30 for this 2.5 hour treatment and totally worth it!!

My suggestions for this wonderful place to be even better is firstly, when it is time to replace the mattresses, go with something a little softer. The bed was too hard for me. Also, include a more substantial blanket. My husband likes to sleep with the air conditioning super cool, so I was left a little cold. Also, include larger bottles of water, we had to buy water everyday, which we shouldn't have to do for paying what we paid to stay there. Finally, during the spa treatment, the therapists did not give us privacy to undress before we began. This didn't really bother me, but I could see how this might bother other guests. Everything was just out in the open! Haha!

We really loved our stay at this lovely intimate hotel and will definitely return and recommend to all who are traveling to Bali. The staff are also so accommodating and just aim to please. We wish we would have stayed longer at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maitai008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
59
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
narrabeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed here during Nyepi was so beautiful to have the silence, staff were fantastic and so hospidable. the outdoor showers are great experience. Everything really was 110% fantastic its a great get away to relax with the rice paddies such a short walk away aswells as central ubud being a nice easy stroll into town.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have amazing bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buket2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We went during a writers conference, and hotels were full.
The good:
1. The garden setting was very nice
2. The service was good, though on par with other places I've stayed in Ubud.
3. The hotel doesn't serve meals other than breakfast, but a place nearby delivers excellent sandwiches (Reuben was great by Asian stds).
The bad:
1. This is way overpriced, easily the poorest value on this trip.
2. No cc accepted. They set the conversion rate at slightly higher than what you can exchange for, making the actual price above the quoted rate.
3. It's a 25 - 30 min walk to Ubud, and a taxi was rp30000 each way. There is only 1 shuttle to Ubud @ 10:30am. Impossible to be out a little late to listen to music as no taxis available.
4. The largest (of 3) breakfasts was 2 eggs, a few potatoes, white toast, and a small fruit plate (or juice alternative) w/coffee or tea...a few pcs of bacon was Rp23000 extra! Easily the least and worst breakfast on our trip.

Room Tip: Better to have upstairs room for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankv42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRTS, Manager at Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
The family who owns the property has taken over management in 2013. There have been a number of changes and the experience at Taman Rahasia, after new management, can be understood better by viewing reviews from 2013 forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I love this amazing hotel! I stayed here last time i came to Bali and i knew i would definitely return. I am already planning to stay here next year. You feel like you are in your own private oasis yet its only a 20 minute walk to central ubud. All the little cafes along the walk through rice fields are amazing too. I think for what you pay it is amazing value. The perfect holiday in Bali includes a stay at the Taman Rahasia!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Taman Rahasia was a little 8 room Oasis tucked away, about a 20 minute walk to Central Ubud. A lovely serene place to come home to at the end of a day, the staff were attentive, and very helpful, breakfast was included. Our room was spacious and very clean with a covered verandah overlooking lush gardens. Close to some lovely local restaurants. Would definitely make a return visit. Very safe. We were practising Yoga at the Yoga Barn - this was a 50 minute walk away, so we had a taxi pick us up and bring us home - this easy to organise either through the staff or in Ubud itself

Room Tip: there are only 8 rooms - 4 upstairs and 4 downstairs over 2 buildings - all rooms would be good, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon182811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.3 km away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
1.1 km away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#100 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.0 km away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#138 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#85 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.4 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
4.0 km away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa

Property: Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa
Address: Penestanan Kaja, Sayan | Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#71 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#92 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,277 - ₹ 5,832
Hotel Class:4 star — Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Balinese, family owned hotel, with 8 pleasantly spacious rooms featuring modern amenities and open air bathrooms. We are located 50 meters off the main road in the quiet village of Penestanan Kaja. The walk to Ubud center is about 1.5 kilometers and you will get there by walking on a pleasant path with rice fields, small local warung's, shops and spas. We are in a perfect location for day trips around Bali. We want you to have a memorable experience and we are here to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Rahasia Hotel Ubud
Taman Rahasia Ubud
Taman Rahasia Tropical Sanctuary & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing