We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience I ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best experience I ever had”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights during may 2012 with my gf, i have to say that the resort was absolutely gorgeous. Once we arrived at the entrance the guard did a thorough scan of the vehicle (even though it was their very own hotel car) I like how detailed they are. When we arrived we were greeted by their staffs full of smiles on their faces, the lobby was gorgeous very quiet, not to mention the welcome drink was superb! After checking in, the very friendly staff walked us to our villa and showed us around on where to get breakfast and afternoon tea and also the facilities. He was very friendly and we even chatted their english were really good. Better than the driver/.guide we hired to drive us around!! When we reached the villa the first thing i notice was the very interesting 'do not disturb' sign by the door, When we entered the villa we were greeted by a very personalise 'notice' it was a welcome sign that included our names! Even though it was something so simple and could be done in less than 1min it was how thoughtful they were that made it so special, never have i ever went to any hotel (even a 5star hotel at my very own country) that do something like this.When the staff showed us around the villa, the bed was huge, the outdoor bathroom was gorgeous! the pool is big and there were 2 gazebos! i also liked the fact that the bed area and the closet/bathroom area was kinda seperated. They have turndown service, so when we came back at night they actually help us turn on the lights and set up the electric mosquito repellent! Which we were really for! (not that there were many mosquitos there, in fact there wasn't much, which was really really impressive! because all around us were nature, trees, pond and rice fields!)

Their breakfast was also fantastic, it was very delicious their fruit juice were very fresh their service is really good! Everywhere we went their staffs we were doing their work with smiles on their faces, having being in the service line myself when i was younger i know thats not an easy thing to accomplish. We ordered their room service on our last night, the food was superb and the fact that it wasn't very expensive was a big plus point.

After all these I've already think that this resort was more than i can ever ask for! But what they did for us during our check out day breakfast was unbelievable! That day happened to be my gf's birthday and to our suprise they actually baked a cake and got their staff to sing happy birthday song for her during our breakfast! I couldn't believe it because we didn't mention anything to any of the staff there. Its is definitely because of their thoughtfulness ( the hotel was booked under my gf's name) they must have seen her birthday on her passport! I mean that was just wonderful, we were both very very touched by that. Especially me because i think this surpise was much better than the one i've requested from another resort that we were heading aft this ( kamuela at sanur, we spent 2 nights a ubud and 3 nights at sanur which we both regretted, we shld have spent 3 nights at ubud and 2 nights a sanur)

I would definitely go back to stay at this resort the next i go to bali, their staff was very friendly very thoughful the place was beautiful. The only minor problem was it is pretty costly we paid USD260 for 1 night! but i would say it was worth it, but i do wish it was cheaper so i could spend more days there! I would like to thank all the staffs there who made our Ubud trip so wonderful and enjoyable, the only name i remember was the driver we drove us to the resort his name was mardi (i hope i get the spelling right) he was very friendly he was telling us what is this and that and he actually wind down the window when he knows we want to take a photo of a statue.. really very thoughtful very friendly. Best resort ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    157
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
169
678
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Do I need to explain more? Heaven sent. :)

Stayed with this awesome resort in May'12 and it surely is the best decision we have made for our entire trip to Bali. Service was excellent and personalized, with helpful and smiley staff (all of them!), food was awesome, villa was great.

From the point of reservation, the staff was extremely responsive and helpful to all our email enquires. Booking of the villa was done without any difficulty.

There was a slight disappointment when we arrived at Bali airport. We have arranged for hotel transfer and were expecting to see someone carrying a signage and waiting for us once we reach the airport, but we did not. Not even after 10 minutes. Our plane was delayed for approximately 10 minutes, however we have given our flight details to the hotel and thus, we have expected that they will know of the delay and would have waited for us. We were pretty panicky as it was our first time in Bali and we did not know what to do. Only after about 20 minutes of wait, when we were about to give up waiting and attempt to take a taxi to the resort, then we saw our driver arrive. Apparently his tardiness was attributed to the bad traffic (apparently it is really common in Bali).

Everything else was great after that. The vehicle for pickup was nice and spacious, cold towels and cold water were presented to us (exactly what we needed as the heat was unbearable) before driving off to the resort. The driver was really friendly too and did a small introduction of Bali as we drove.

Upon arrival, there was a pretty pink-colored cocktail waiting for us and checkin was done immediately, seated down at their lobby, unlike other hotels where you have to stand at the reception counter and wait for your turn. Our butler was at the side waiting for us patiently all the while, as we checkin and finishes our cocktail. As he brought us to our villa, he carefully pointed out and explained to us the various amenities around the resort.

Upon opening the doors to our villa, the first thing that caught my eye was the personalized note right in front of us, that says “Welcome home, XXXX”. I was extremely astounded by the space, the amenities, the lavish bed and yes, everything. My mouth popped open and I just could not close it. Our faithful butler continued introducing the villa to us, with a smile that never left his face. Huge private pool, two gazebos facing the pool, loungers for suntan, private garden and small pond surrounding the villa, sunken outdoor bathtub, different rooms for toilet and shower, another outdoor shower, amazingly huge and comfy bed, nice wooden desk, day bed. Chocolate in a nicely decorated birdcage. And you do not have to worry about privacy. Though enclosed and your privacy is definitely well-taken care of, you will not feel as if you have been neglected by the world. Love at first sight.

What’s really amazing about this place is that even though it is surrounded by loads of greens, there were no mosquitoes! There were insect repellents and all provided in the villa, however we did not feel any need to use them. Delightful.

Other amenities in the resort were awesome as well. Huge infinity pool, rice field right in the resort, awesome venue for breakfast that overlooks a huge ricefield, tasty food served at breakfast and tea-time, our in-room dining was great (and it was not really expensive), free-to-play pool table, gym, free internet access and free rental of DVDs and the movies on rental are not extremely outdated. Our villa was nicely turndown every evening.

What really surprised me and left a HUGE impression was the management/staff’s initiative to celebrate my birthday! We were checking out on the day of my birthday and we were having breakfast at the restaurant before checking out and I was pleasantly surprised when a few of the staff started singing a happy birthday song and walked towards our table, with a cake in their hand! It was not a big hoo-ha, but it was a really nice touch and it was extremely heartwarming. This was not a planned surprise, but totally on the accord of the resort. Though my name was spelled extremely wrong (lol), but it really was the icing on top. When checking out at the reception, the staff wished me a happy birthday too. It seemed as if everyone knew and they bothered to make it a point to make my day! No comments or notification was made to the hotel at all about my birthday. It really, really impressed both of us.

As much as I wish to keep this resort a hidden gem, it is certainly not to be missed. We will be back very, very soon.

Stay here! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeslyn_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel is simply gorgeous. Upon arrival the lobby is stunning and the grounds are stupendous - with many rice fields, a magnificent pool that is really beyond description.

Our jaw dropped when we were shown to our very large, very magnificent villa with a private pool, out door cabana, outdoor tub and shower, and very beautiful bedroom and bathroom.

The staff were all so sweet and nice to us, and we indeed felt right at home. It was hard to leave.

It has been about a month since we were there; and I keep meaning to write something worthy of this place, but I run out of time. No matter, this place is amazing, read some of the other lengthier more descriptive reviews and then make a reservation. I have stayed in many four and five star hotels around the world and this ranks as one of the best. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our stay at the Ubud Village Resort was wonderful! The villas are absolutely complete. Everything you may need and more is present, with some nice extra touches, such as an personalized welcome sign and fresh flowers on the bed every day. Our villa had an outside and inside shower, the most beautiful outside bathtub ever and you have your own private pool, sundeck, loungers and sunbed.
The resort itselfs is also amazing. Ricefields and pretty green gardens, suberp views and a huge infinity pool. The resort is located a short distence from the busy Ubud centre, but there is a free hotel shuttle service every hour. We used the shuttle very often and it is perfect. It is just a small minivan, but if there are to many people the hotel arranges an additional minivan with no problem.
The staff at the resort are very friendly and attentive. For example they always check the shuttle if you haven't forgotten anything. My wife is allergic to tropical fruit and she mentioned that once at breakfast. The following mornings all staff members remembered and brought her an adjusted fruit platter. The breakfast is really good by the way, with lots of choices.
So, to wrap it up, our advice, do not hesitate, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DA120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Amazing, fantastic, wonderful and unbelievable!!
When shown our villa we felt as if we had won tattslotto! Here was this amazing villa with indoor and outdoor shows, beautiful sunken bath, huge kingsize bed, two double outdoor daybeds and our own pool! The bed was made to perfection and each night was turned down. The gardens were beautifully looked after and having breakfast whilst looking out over the rice fields was a magical experience. The staff were fantastic and when we first arrived, very late, there was a lovely punch given to us prior to going to our room. I had a brilliant massage - I was pampered and gently pummelled to perfection! Perhaps the only thing I would mention in the negative was the cultural dinner, the dancers were beautiful and it was lovely to watch. I think getting the audience up to dance on stage cheapens the whole night, perhaps just having photos taken with the dancers is enough.
I'd go back there in a heartbeat - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 km away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
347 reviews
1.5 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.7 km away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
1.7 km away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 196 in Ubud
771 reviews
0.9 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 196 in Ubud
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ubud Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ubud Village Resort & Spa

Property: The Ubud Village Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Nyuh Kuning Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ubud
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#24 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,853 - ₹ 39,072
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ubud Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the verdant hillsides of Ubud, Ubud Village Resort & Spa is a perfect Balinese hideaway for romantic couples, honeymooners and families alike. Overlooking an expanse of gorgeous terraced rice paddies, Ubud Village Resort and Spa has a relaxing atmosphere throughout which is further enhanced by excellent service and guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ubud Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ubud Village Resort And Spa
The Ubud Village Hotel Ubud
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing