We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful & Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Shanti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alam Shanti
Ranked #65 of 186 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Upon check-in we were welcomed with a cold drink and shown to our rooms. We had two rooms in the same building; one was to sleep 2 adults and one 3; however there was some confusion in room placement as the staff weren't aware that a 5th person had been added to the booking - the booking was originally for 4 adults, but was changed to 5 adults a few weeks before our arrival via. email.
We were told the downstairs room was for 3 adults and upstairs was for 2; but this was wrong because the upstairs room had 2 double beds and the downstairs one only a chaise longe - which was turned into a bed. The matter got resolved but it was still an annoyance because the make shift bed wasn't very comfortable.
The room was of a decent size but a little cramped for 3 adults. The bathroom was very big and had a large bath; the shower had no holder so you would have to hold it to shower yourself, a little annoying but not a big problem. The water pressue and temperature were both good. The room was always kept clean.
We were in the Laksmi room and because we were on the ground floor we had a small kitchen next to our room with fridge and sink etc. Mini bar is available; a little more pricey than the supermarket in town but this is to be expected.

Breakfast was included and was to be ordered from the reception the night before with what time you would like it to be brought to your balcony/terrace. The breakfast was very ymmy, I had jaffles most mornings with fruit salad and orange juice. The croissants from the local bakery were also very good.
Every morning outside your room the staff offer a blessing outside your room, this is a Balinese tradition and it nice to watch them do.

The hotel does offer free wi-fi, however it did not work while we were there due to the bad weather.

The hotel also offers a shuttle service into town, taking 10 minutes. This finishes at 10pm.
If you wanted to walk into town, the receptionists offer you a map and show you a shortened route through the moneky forest, this would take around 30 minutes. There are some good restaurants in town, most of them offer free wi-fi.
We ate at the Dirty Duck one night which is a famous restaurant; the food was very good!

I had a full body massage at the hotels spa - USD$25 for a full body one hour massage, It was very worthwhile, they offer different services and all are reasonably priced. There are 2 different buildings where they do the massages' so be sure to find out which one as we had to be split up due to limited space

We didn't use the swimming pool however it was a decent size and had sunbeds and huts.

This accommodation is very peaceful and has beautiful surrounding, the staff are helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying here, it's my parents idea of paradise however if I was to return I'd want to stay somewhere a little more central as it's a little too quiet for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
157
283
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We really lucked out when we stumbled across Alam Shanti whilst me and my girlfriend were travelling around Bali.

The owners had another property not too far down the road which was unfortunately, though in the end fortunately fully booked. The advised that they had a newer place a little further up the road and that we would be able to stay there for a few nights.

We were both blown away by the place. With its beautifully landscaped gardens, tranquil atmosphere and incredibly attentive staff we knew we were in for a great few nights.

Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. I noticed a review that said it was limited. Not sure if they were wanting a full English or something, but at the end of the day the options were more than satisfactory to all but the most glutinous of guests.

The location, whilst a bit of a trek to get to, is excellent due to its proximity to the Monkey Forest and then on to the main strip in Ubud. We choose to walk but would perhaps recommend getting a taxi sorted. I think I lost about 6 pounds in sweat dragging all of our gear up there1

The only bad thing I could say about this place is that its on the other side of the world! I do find that a little bit inconsiderate!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Spent 4 nights in the Yamuna room which has its own private pool sharing with the Gangga room upstairs (although other guests didnt use the pool - bonus for us). Tea/Coffee are complimentary on request anytime of the day or night. Also between 3pm and 6pm complimentary cake and coffee, you just need to advise reception. Breakfast is also ordered through reception and brought out to your balcony. We were fortunate enough one morning to watch the antics of up to 50 monkeys ranging from babies to adults in the trees in front of our room whilst eating breakfast. They were playing around for a good hour before the staff sent them on their way via gings! Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Be advised that this property is a little way out of Ubud town. You can walk along the path at the side near Monkey Forest which we did (although apprehensive at first) however the monkeys were not interested in us. Complimentary shuttle is offered for this reason which we made good use of. We had initially chosen Ubud as our base for day trips but once arriving at this property we didnt want to leave and just enjoyed the serenity. A must stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiebaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Thank you Alam Shanti staff for a wonderful 2 day stay in early April.

We knew we were in for something special by all the positive reviews but we were still blown away by the serenity of this property. It sounds cliche but it delivered everything it promised and more. When our 3 year old had a case of the grumps from being hot and tired "Aunty" Iue and another male staff member whisked him away and cheered him up with yummy cake and juice. It's no wonder people flock to Ubud - the service is amazing, the food is incredible, the sights and attractions are unique and the people are delightful. I am already plotting my return and would highly recommend this place without any hesitation. Must be experienced to be believed!

Room Tip: We stayed in Indus which was on the upper level. I think any room would be just as amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Townsvillepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoinDublin1
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

loved this place, the rooms are amazing. Staff are really freindly and the breakfast is excellent.

the location is ok, its outside ubud about 5 minutes 5 dollars in a taxi. I wouldn't like to walk back at night. walking into Ubud during the day is fine.

We stayed for 3 nights right at the start of our holiday and it was a great place to unwind and get stuck into the bali rhythm.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EoinDublin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 186 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#67 of 186 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#12 of 492 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 km away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#6 of 484 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 km away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#46 of 492 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Property: Alam Shanti
Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,414 - ₹ 8,534
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alam Shanti 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing