We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly luxurious for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cendana Resort and Spa
Ranked #129 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
No Permanent Abode
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fairly luxurious for the price”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The gardens here were gorgeous and my room overlooked a beautiful rice field. The pool was great as well - very luxurious and dreamy. The low-point were the rooms - I stayed in the old part of the hotel and had a great little deck overlooking the rice fields but wasn't terribly thrilled about being in the room itself. The bathroom was just okay and the room was the same. That said, for 45 dollars US I still think this place was awesome. The bed was super comfy (very important) with ample mosquito netting, the windows were big and opened, great air conditioning, gorgeous grounds, incredibly sweet staff, great breakfast and the best location ever. Right in the middle of Ubud but you still feel like you're far away in rice paddy land. I will definitely stay here again.

PROS:
Gardens, location, staff, breakfast, great free wifi - 24 hours (even got it in my room), pool, grounds in general.

CONS:
Bathrooms, old rooms.

Also, for some reason, this place was real popular with the over 70 crowd. There were young people too but I've never seen so many seniors! Not good or bad, just an observation. Stay here, it's awesome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellyMcLovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    184
    59
    15
    5
See reviews for
80
143
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Cendana was fantastic - in a great location on Monkey Forest Street but set back off the street so it was very quiet. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very large, with a massive bathroom. The grounds were gorgeous,and the infinity pool looking over the rice field was beautiful. The staff were very friendly, my friend was on a restricted diet for health reasons and they made her special breakfasts each day which we weren't expecting. The spa was excellent, a bit mroe expensive than the ones out on the street but cheaper than any other hotel I've stayed at. The 5 hour package was heaven. The pillows were hard, but I have found that is the case everywhere in Bali. I'm looking forward to staying at Cendana again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Lovely place. Rooms were not in the villa style, but on a flooring basis.

I took a superior room for triple share, but it could have easily shared 5 people as the original beds were queen sized and they added a single. This place overlooked a padi field had 2 swimming pools (!) a fresh water one and a salt water one. The salt water one was an infinity pool overlooking a padi field. Toilets were good, although it took some time for the water to warm up and the marble floor made it cold and slippery. The hotel was not directly on the main road, but it was a really short walk away, which was nice. And they had 2 talking pet mynahs! Food was average, but overall a very good stay.

We did pop in other hotels while we were in Ubud, and they were comparable exterior wise.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

When planning a long stay in ubud a few years ago, Cendana Resort was recommended to me by a fellow Australian. Upon my arrival at the hotel, I was immediately taken by how fortunate I was to be there. The standard room was in a traditional building with wooden shutters that open to display a rice paddie. The next morning I was even happier to find the beautiful gardens, a lovely restaurant overlooking one of the pools and welcomming staff who have now become like my family in UBud.I have stayed there three times since then and wouldn't go anywhere else in Ubud. It is in the centre which makes it easy to go out for dinner, but so far back from the monkey forest road that you can't hear the traffic at all.They have permanent drivers who provide a free service around Ubud, but are also available for longer trips.Ity is well run and the new manager is constantly on the look out for improvements. As well as the regular gardeners, once a month the entire staff work together to clean ponds and gardens giving it a much loved atmosphere.I can only say complimentary things about this hotel. Diana B. Sydney

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

WE Love Ubud and our favorite hotel is Cendana. Not only do they have the best pool in Ubud, but the staff is great, totally trustworthy. Willing to do whatever is required to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are clean, spacious and overlook working rice fields. The location couldn't be better and is very safe. A walk to all the best restaurants and Ubud attractions. They provide any transport needed. We have stayed with Cendana many times and it just keeps getting better. Breakfast is always great also! THey also have a great space for yoga, solo or with a group and a spa on site.

Room Tip: Really all the rooms are fine. The Superior are closer to the back of the area but we have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBethCroceBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.4 km away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#105 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
0.3 km away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#135 of 198 in Ubud
235 reviews
0.7 km away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 198 in Ubud
708 reviews
0.7 km away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Property: Cendana Resort and Spa
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#101 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,069 - ₹ 6,271
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing