We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Careful if with small children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #90 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Careful if with small children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting with extremely helpful staff. Our stay did not start on exactly the right foot as we expected our "two bedroom pool villa" to have two interconnected rooms - beware as they are not. They are a duplex style meaning the kids bedroom was going to be outside the main entrance and up a stairway to a separate keyed entrance. For us with 2 small children this would not work as we not hear our 18month old if he waked in the middle of the night as well as other security fears. The staff were very attentive to our concerns and this was clearly an owner issue but we felt the owners should not be allowed to rent this accommodation out if they were aware of the ages of our children (which they obviously were as we had a cot made up in the master bedroom - which meant leaving a 4 yr old alone which is also not acceptable in our opinion).

The staff and manager - ms henny - was great and we made do by using the separate dining room in our duplex as a second bedroom. While not ideal as we had to walk through this bit to get to the pool or out the front door, there were curtains on all sides that at least made privacy ok. And staff made up for the change with free dinner or spa treatments on each day of our stay.

A lovely place with great views, good breakfast, not too far from Ubud (50k and about 10 mins) just be aware if traveling with small children. By the way not all duplexes were like ours so may not be a solution for everyone. We were in room 203.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selenial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    141
    57
    39
    34
See reviews for
89
289
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

our very first visit to Bali and our first 4 nights we stayed at the Payogan. We had a one bedroom valley view pool villa. The villa was spotless, cleaning was done daily while we were having breakfast never saw them in the room. Privacy was respected while on our stay. Food was devine, we had room service 3 nights and just wonderful. Views over the valley we beautiful, outside bathroom captured views in all their splendid. We wish we stayed there the whole time now. Staff were friendly and chatty. JUst a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: go for the Valley View pool Villas, you wont be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from 6 nights in Ubud staying at the Payogan and my wife and I were thrilled with the hotel's location, appearance and spectacular views and upkeep. Our 1 bedroom pool villa was outstanding and staff were extremely friendly and courteous. A wonderful stay...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregBecM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I defiantly enjoyed this hotel, but don't think I will be back. When I read the past reviews I thought people were just whinging, but now I can see where they are coming from. I went with my family, but booked a separate garden room for myself. My family booked the duplex villa with private pool and that was very relaxing with a great view. Unfortunately the garden villas are located right next to a surrounding village (as in share the same wall) and this does tend to send some bad animal smells over every now and again. My worst experience was with the rooster(s)that would start cock a doodle doing from 4am right through to 2pm, non stop! I was also too scared to sleep in the room alone as my husband couldn't make it so I made my mum abandon my dad and come sleep with me for the 4 nights we were there. I think that if you are wanting to stay here you should book a private pool villa as they are away from the village wall and have a great view. yes it is old looking, but that's what ubud is like and it gives the place character. For those sick of walking through massive hotels to get to and from the lobby, they have a free golf buggy that can pick you u and drop you off. I wouldn't stay here again, but I may recommend it to friends as long as they booked the right room. Service is great.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbtravelPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We were staying for 3 nights, came during quiet season. We found it a bit difficult to find it, we drove a rent-car from Denpasar, and had to pass Ubud town, while actually we didn't have to.
Staffs were very nice and friendly, we received all the services we requested.
Foods are not recommended. If you can, just try to dine in Ubud town since they have numerous cheap and nice foods around (a small restaurant next to Bintang grocery market is cool, can't remember its name though).
I agree this place is a bit overpriced, I stayed in one of the villa with private pool. The room is nice, everything works fine. I take visits from local insects as a perfectly normal thing to happen in this kind of location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
7.9 km away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
0.8 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
7.0 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 km away
Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
3.9 km away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#100 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#61 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,094 - ₹ 12,511
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing