We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most exciting breakfast you'll ever have”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #90 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most exciting breakfast you'll ever have”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is above average. The pool, service, rooms, location, and amenities are all fine. The true beauty and attraction about this hotel is the hilarity that ensues every morning at breakfast when the monkeys from Monkey Jungle traverse the street, take to the rooftops, and desend on Champlung Sari's (somewhat) defenseless breakfast patio. No morsel is safe, no sausage secure during your entire meal. The staff try to keep your food safe by using sticks and yelling at the monkeys but i believe the monkeys usually leave the winner as they simply climb the roofs and wait for their chance.
My advice is to eat quickly, get your fill and sit back by the pool or even in the dining room and watch humans try to match wits with hungry simian advisories- I promise you will have a lot to laugh about!
If the idea of defending your food or if you hate animals you will not like the hotel very much... I think there are far better places in Ubud to stay for someone who doesn't like animals.
They do have 2 great pools and a fairly large courtyard.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool or courtyard if you'd like to wake up to monkeys on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pechorin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    313
    148
    72
    32
See reviews for
136
289
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is right next to the monkey forest and it was a highlight of our trip. The monkeys joined us for breakfast the first morning by flying in and jumping on a table as this person had a HUGE plate of fruit...I think the monkeys thought it was way too much for one person!
The next morning around 6AM we heard knocking on our door and so when we opened the curtain we had 6 monkeys giving us our wakeup call. It was a blast!.
The hotel is in a great spot..right next to the monkey forest, at the bottom of the long street to walk up and shop. They have 2 pools and nice to relax around. The rooms are nice. The bathrooms looks great but it definately could use some maintainance..the toilet and the tub need replacing...
The staff were very friendly and we definately enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHRMLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I quite liked this hotel & is probably a good choice if you want a big place bordering the monkey forest. It is a bit lacking in atmosphere if that's what you're looking for; many tours groups use this place, they ran out of towels & chairs by the pool a few times. The monkeys enter the hotel especially at breakfast time- one stole my bread! They room was a reasonable size but the toilet had problems which they fixed but it happened a couple of times, There are two medium sized swimming pools. Overall a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muchachitaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Upgrade to deluxe room was great! Downfall was all the ants so don't leave open food or drinks out for long! Breakfast was ok, becareful a monkey could attack if you sit close to the edges and there will always be hungry cats at the table watching you! Pools and grounds were beautiful! Main ubud only a short taxi ride away but plenty of shops and restaurants just outside the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutch Alps
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here 2 nights during our 2nd Indonesia tour and loved it. Great location next to the monkey forest (be aware that the monkeys leave the forrest at night and populate the hotel grounds untill the early morning so you must really have doors and windows closed !)
We had a fantastic room overlooking the swimming pools, but the bathroom needed some work.
Although we had no electrical problems we saw technicians work on the breaker boxes outside, so there must be some problems in other rooms.
Breakfast was good and quiet after staff chased the monkeys away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
2.0 km away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
458 reviews
1.0 km away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#101 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#107 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
0.4 km away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
0.7 km away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#117 of 198 in Ubud
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Property: Champlung Sari Hotel
Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,197 - ₹ 5,621
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and ACCOR so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing