We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, you go to heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Yes, you go to heaven!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

All we can say is WOW! We have traveled all over the world and this property was our favorite so far. They are not kidding when they say "Butler". Your every need and want is fulfilled.
Let's start with the check in-ice cold towels, juice and a golf cart ride around their magnificent property. We had two reservations and our friends were the ones upgraded to a "Full Villa" with a private pool and outdoor hot tub. Our room was a regular villa and lovely with the outdoor shower and very spacious bedroom. Their is Vodka and Scotch in decanters, and a completely stocked mini bar with beers and sodas. They have delicious cashew nuts that they keep refilling. They do 6 pieces of luandery per person per day, and they did two days worth 24 pieces and it was back the next morning folded beautifully. The breakfast menu is amazing. They have some very unique and delicious items. If that isn't enough the have happy hour from 6 to 7 with these amazing drinks especially with Basil and unique creations. They serve them with little appetizers at the pool, restaurant or in your villa. We had the pleasure of staying for the Kecak dance and they had over 100 performers there that we took photos with and loved it. We stayed for an amazing dinner overlooking the rice paddies. They have a gym and yoga available. The pool is refreshing and can be very social. They offer you shuttle service into town which is only about a 10 minute ride for about $10 US, and we took a taxi back to the hotel for only $4 US...Tari was our hostess and so friendly as was Dharma our Butler. The manager originally from Switzerland came out to meet us as well. As we were checking out they even went to our room to make sure we didn't forget anything. This is a place you HAVE to experience. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
198
683
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I haven't got a bad word to say about the Chedi Club.
We stayed there for a few nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. It was absolutely wonderful. The setting and room were incredible, and the service surpassed even our wildest hopes... Top class. Our butler Pasek was the loveliest and most helpful man, and made our stay really special.
The food is also excellent... And definitely try the purple basil cocktail. Divine!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keb2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Almost a bit too quiet for my taste, but it was what we needed and wanted; a relaxing and peaceful Ubud experience where we could rest and think.

The Chedi Club is located about 15 minutes with car outside of Ubud Center, and the property is absolutely beautiful. The pool area was really nice and I loved walking around looking at the landscaping and listen to birds and ducks (cleaning the rice fields) during the day and frogs at night.

Our villa was great and the highlight for me was the outdoor bathroom- there is nothing like a good outdoor shower! Our butler was great working with and we found the service to be outstanding from start to finish.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were great but the breakfast was our absolute favorite, with home made bread and watermelon jam (the best I have ever had!) , egg dishes, fresh fruit etc.
We liked going into Ubud for most lunch and dinners but we really enjoyed the Kecak Dance on the property, followed by a traditional dinner- just amazing. The restaurant is located on a rice field it self and gives such a unique and memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Everything about this place exceeds all expectations! Form the moment you step into this wonderland you are surrounded by 1st class hospitality. Caring but yet unobtrusive from top down everyone is doing and excellent job.
The wonderfully kept garden seems like a place out of a fairytale. Full of tropical plants, Balinese statues and flags, little ponds linked with enticing pathways, stairs, bridges and parasols the garden creates a feeling of peace and tranquility. The unique location in midst of paddy fields adds a magical touch.
We wished we could have stayed longer in this haven of peace and quiet!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A beautiful location, wonderfully kept gardens and the most fantastic location for the restaurant especially for breakfast ( the best Mie Goreng I ever tasted). Service impeccable as it always is at GHM hotels. The only reason a point was deducted was because the butler service was poor compared with other GHMs such as the Nam Hai Vietnam. The butler at The Chedi did everything asked of him but no more and did not seem to think proactively like a butler should. Example being that instead of making up the room while we were at breakfast ( we even told him when we were going for breakfast) he waited until we returned to the room and then started cleaning meaning we had to sit outside and wait for him to finish. Special mention goes to Anik in the spa who my wife said gave her the best massaage and pedicure even and is a credit to the hotel. Happy hour cocktails are generous and make sure to ask for a second helping of the spicy cashews. The fast track service avoding the queues at the airport is also a big bonus for chosing this hotel. Good to combine this hotel with a stay at the sister GHM hotel The Legian in Seminyak. Simon well done for managing the Chedi so well and we'll be back -hopefully before the rice harvest:-)

Room Tip: Room 9 for best view of rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we do value and appreciate your feedback. I have passed your comments to Anik and she was very happy to receive them.

Please rest assured that your comments about your personal butler have been well noted. I have already spoken with our Guest Service Manager and the butler about your concerns and we will make sure to work on it and improve the quality of service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club!

Kind regards,

The Chedi Club Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.3 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
5.1 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
5.2 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 196 in Ubud
1,894 reviews
3.8 km away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
249 reviews
5.8 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,480 - ₹ 45,361
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Prestigia, Ostrovok and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing