We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Excellent(!) and well kept hotel.It has only more or less 20 big and beautiful villa's with a lot of privacy. They do everything to make you happy . Our butler Supri is very nice and attentive person. He looked after you without being intrusive. Meals at the restaurant are good but it has european prices (some times much more than european prices). But after all we recommend this hotel for everyone who is looking for luxury and privacy.We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumatra011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we do value and appreciate your feedback. I have passed your comments to Supri and he was very happy to receive them.

We regret that you considered our restaurant to be not the best value for your money; in terms of restaurants at surrounding properties of a similar standing we do consider ourselves to be very much competitive. However, we will keep your comments in mind as we keep developing our restaurant menus.

Thank you again for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club!

Kind regards,

The Chedi Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
199
685
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed in one of their suite with my friends for two nights as the base to visit the Ubud area. This hotel is one of the most unique hotels that I ever stayed in. The hotel setting is so tranquil and beautiful that you just wanted to relax and forget everything else. The hotel is not huge but it has a lots of prviacy, you hardly bump into others. I had a massage there and was out of this world, excellent! They offered butler service, although its a good experience but I personally don't find it necessary. Also, they have shuttle service to transport you to the town center or organize a local tour with a fee which I find it is very convinience. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Location of this place is great if you are looking for somewhere to relax. Surrounded by rice paddies, it is quiet, apart from the sounds of ducks, geckos and other animals. We always look for quirky/boutique style accomodation and this does not disappoint.

We had a pool villa which was fantastIc. Extremely spacious, pool was a good size and a nice outdoor seating area. The Bose sound system with speakers outside is a nice touch and we used this a lot.

The room also had a complementary mini bar which is great,only complaint here is the drinks were quite limited and there was no variation. We had afternoon tea served to the room most days which was lovely, with a different selection of cakes each day. We also had complementary cocktails served at our pool each day between 6 & 7pm. Free wifi was also great for booking trips/reading up on where to go for dinner. The complementary laundry service (6 pieces each per day) was also brilliant.

Breakfast each morning is a la carte with lots of options. This was really great, much better than I expected. We only ate in the restaurant once for dinner when we booked the 'Rice paddy romance' experience where your dinner is served to a platform in the middle of the rice paddy. The experience was great and we loved the privacy. The food was good, but it is quite expensive when you compare to eating in local restaurants, even top end ones (see my other reviews).

We had 2 massages at the spa which were excellent. The spa looks directly onto the rice paddy and we chose to have the doors open during the massage and all you could hear were the farmer's ducks. So relaxing, this hotel has been really well thought out. The grounds are extensive, but the main building and villas are set well apart which is perfect - nice to see they resisted the urge to cram extra villas in.

All of the staff are excellent, but our butler, Rasti, was exceptional. She made reservations at restaurants for us, booked taxis whenever we needed them, booked a trip for us and generally made sure we did nothing during our stay. We have experienced great service in Thailand, but his was in a different league. Rasti also took us on an early morning trek through the rice paddy and local village which is not to be missed to get a glimpse of traditional village life.

I only have 2 criticisms. Firstly,the taxi situation. The hotel operates a free shuttle until 6pm, but after that, it is charged at 100k Rupiah plus taxes each way, or you can ask the hotel to book an outside taxi for 50k rupiah each way in the Ubud area. Why would you not choose the 50k option?!

Secondly, the restaurant lacks atmosphere. Sure, this is to be expected as there are only 20 villas and people can choose to eat at their own villa or at one of the many local restaurants, but it seems like people did want to stay around the hotel (rather than 15 min taxi to Ubud), but the prices definitely put people off. Example - cost of 2 bottles of water, 1 cocktail and 1 beer at the restaurant = 327k Rupiah. Entire 2 or 3 course meal with drinks outside hotel could be had in lots of restaurants for less than this (e.g. Melting Wok = 139k). Expect to pay a premium inside the hotel, but it seems excessive to me. Drop the prices and i am sure more people would stay for dinner, especially as you serve the complimentary cocktails up until 7pm - i imagine most people would be happy to stay where they are to eat rather than get a taxi.

On the whole, we loved this place and the criticisms are minor. I really don't want to leave and I'm now hoping the hotel for our second part of our trip doesn't live in the Chedi's shadow.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdownesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our property, we appreciate your taking the time to write about our hotel. Thank you as well for your comments about Rasti, I have forwarded your note to her and she was very happy to receive it.

Regarding the transport and restaurant comments, we appreciate your feedback as this helps us identify areas where we can definitely focus on. Among the Club benefits, the private shuttle to Ubud center is the most popular, and we're working on extending these hours. I agree that taxis are inexpensive and usually easily available here in Ubud; we do keep our private cars available for guests with small children, for example, since we have car seats, and sometimes we cannot guarantee that a taxi driver will find a particular restaurant or store, or won't smoke in the car. Unfortunately, as with many hotels, private hotel cars cannot match the prices of the taxi service.

Restaurant prices are something that definitely comes to our attention. We're glad you enjoyed Bridges and Melting Wok! Ubud has a huge assortment of bars and restaurants that our guests like to explore, and our restaurant's prices are competitive with similar hotels in the area; when we next change our menus we will keep your comments in mind.

Thank you again for your review and comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chedi Club.

Kind regards,

The Chedi Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

chedi club is a very small resort, if you want to enjoy relaxing time with your love ones i suggest this is the best place to hibernate LOL We had a great time there just chillin esp if you love nature quiet place this is perfect for you. Staff are very helpful our butler was superb. This is one of my best getaway vacay. Hope to come back soon. More power chedi

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mae p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I booked The Chedi Club for the first part of our Honeymoon due to the resort's universally positive reviews on TripAdvisor. After staying there for 6 nights, it's clear that this reputation is well-deserved. We stayed 3 nights in a Spa Villa and 3 nights in a One Bedroom Suite.

Service: 5/5. Our butler, Yuni, was very proactive with recommending ways that she could help enhance our stay. For example, we booked a sunrise hiking tour that departed from the hotel at 2:30am. Yuni suggested that she could arrange for a breakfast box to be prepared for us, which was definitely much appreciated as otherwise we wouldn't have had any food until hours later into our tour. In addition, Simon, the General Manager, personally introduced himself during breakfast on the first morning of our stay and also asked us for feedback about our stay before sending us off with a small gift. With just 20 rooms at the resort, the staff really gets to know you by name.

Appearance of the Property: 5/5. One of the most beautiful hotels I've ever seen with a design that's uniquely Balinese. Property is also very well maintained.

Room Quality:
Spa Villa - 5/5. Very well appointed with lots of attention to detail (such as a Bose speaker system that reached throughout the entire villa). This room included daily in-room spa services with the room rate, which were very relaxing.

One Bedroom Suite - 4.5/5. Very comfortable room. The spa villa is definitely much larger, and we were glad that we had splurged for the extra pampering for part of our trip. Only negative of the one bedroom suite is that we would have preferred that there was more outside lighting around the entrance to the room.

Location: 5/5. If you're looking for a beach holiday, then the Nusa Dua area would definitely be a better choice. However, the Ubud location of The Chedi Club was perfect for us. The resort itself is located in a peaceful, serene setting. We did a lot of tours in Bali, and The Chedi Club was a great home base, since all of our tour operators were also based out of Ubud. If we had stayed in Nusa Dua, we would have spent a lot more time in transit rather than enjoying our tours.

Food: 4.5/5. Service at the restaurant was top-notch. We stayed with the local fare throughout our trip and were not disappointed. My only comment is that at dinner you're asked whether you'd prefer sparkling or still water. As they use a brand imported from Europe, each bottle costs 5 USD. However, when we politely declined, they would always bring us the complimentary regular filtered water that they used for breakfast, which was more than adequate.

Overall: 5/5 - truly amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.3 km away
No photo provided
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,056 reviews
5.1 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
5.2 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,895 reviews
3.8 km away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
250 reviews
5.8 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,393 - ₹ 45,256
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Ostrovok so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing