We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is as good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #12 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at multiple 5 star places (Ayana, Banyan Tree...) during our stay at Bali. This place tops all of the them by a long stretch. I felt so displaced when I go to these other places after our stay at Chedi. The service is unmatched and the scenery is surreal.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_A_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    81
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
191
661
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We couldn’t have been more delighted by our six night stay at the Chedi Club in April. The property, surrounded by rice paddies, is exquisite; its beautifully maintained grounds provided a wonderful sense of serenity. Morning yoga on the rice fields was the perfect start to our days.

What made our stay even more special was the staff; the service we received was truly outstanding; from the GM to the gardeners, everyone made us feel welcomed. Our butler, Putu, was exceptional, so kind and helpful, all the while being discrete. The trek in the rice fields and local village was so much fun!

Hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Thank you for making this one of my most memorable vacation. Will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

1. Upgrade to a pool villa if you can afford it
2. Take the guided walk around the rice fields and near by village
3. Enjoy the (free) evening cocktails. The vodka with purple basil and the non-alcoholic “thirst quencher” are highly recommended
4. Take the (free) car into town – but come back quickly and enjoy the peace and serenity
5. Enjoy the very good a la carte breakfast (no buffet here)
6. Enjoy the spectacular Balinese dance and dinner if you are there when it is on. This is not what you would expect for yet another "cultural night" – you will be pleasantly surprised – think 50+ performers
7. Enjoy the other very good meals – yes more expensive than restaurants in town – but the quality is very good
8. Above all enjoy the very good, personalized but discrete service. As good as it gets !
These are not the biggest, grandest villas in Bali and the white brick is a bit off putting when you first arrive. However they are very comfortable and this place is all about the complete package of accommodation, service, food, drink and above all atmosphere. Lie back in your pool and gaze out at the rice fields. We were afraid our 10 year old daughter would be bored after the “excitement” of a few days at the beach at Seminyak. She loved it and can’t wait to go back (though we would still recommend mixing up a stay here with one somewhere on the beach)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I don't usually stay at the top rated hotels but we love to eat in their restaurants. The Chedi Club has a beautiful pavilion restaurant nestled within its beautiful grounds. I was told the hotel was originally an architect's personal home and the care and detail of the surroundings certainly mirrored that claim. The restaurant looks out on a marsh and we had a wonderful time picking out the variety of birds in the marsh. The food was wonderful and the service was exemplary. Even if you stay in Ubud you should definitely go out for a lunch or dinner. Also around this area is a mask and puppet museum that should be visited.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

After just spending 4 nights here at the end of our first Bali holiday, we have withdrawal symptoms!! This is the most tranquil setting and resort we have ever visited ( in fact I liked it better than staying in a suite at raffles in singapore). The location, the staff, the grounds and the 1 room suite we stayed in could not be faulted. Although a fair distance to ubud, the hotel shuttle cars were excellent and drivers obliging. The food was amazing too and the restaurant overlooking the rice paddies has to be experienced. Perfect for a romantic getaway without children. Thank you to yuni especially for making our stay so wonderful. HOK & AJ

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hels8769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.3 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
5.2 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
3.0 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
7.8 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
6.0 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,856 - ₹ 42,590
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 family (two bedroom) or spa (one bedroom) villas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All hotel guests enjoy personal butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily A la carte breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included), complimentary minibar with alcoholic selection (refreshed once daily), complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, private car service to/from Ubud Centre from 8am to 6pm, free Wifi, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing