We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short March Break at the Chedi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #9 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Short March Break at the Chedi”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Chedi with my wife recently and had a superb stay. The room was fantastic. We went for the spa room option which included a 90 min massage a day in the adjoining spa room facility. There are plenty of little touches about our stay here that made it excellent, but what I would really like to say about this hotel is that although it is certainly not cheap, it still represents very good value relative to other similar offerings in/around Ubud in my opinion. Attention to detail and service is superb.
Is there was one small gripe I suppose it would be that although you are offered complimentary drops in and out of Ubud (with a small mobile phone given you to call and arrange for collection) but for slightly longer trips you aren't given an alternative to the hotel transport being offered (as far as I was aware anyway). Booking longer trips through the hotel guarantees that you have a decent car and friendly driver but expect to pay upwards of 300% of what it might cost through a metered service. Saying that, at the end of our stay we were offered transport to our next destination which wasn't something that the hotel necessarily needed to do. Overall I would very highly recommend this hotel as a spot to base yourself while in Ubud

Room Tip: spa room represents superb value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pillarofhercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
191
667
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

From the moment you step foot onto the pathway at the entrance to Chedi Club, Ubud, you know you have arrived in a very special and magical place like no other on earth!!
Breath-taking surroundings which are a combination of amazing water features, traditional Balinese sculptures and all in a location that brings the best of Bali's flora and fauna together. I can guarantee that around every corner and at every glance you will find the most beautiful views.
We were met by Rasti, who was our personal butler during our stay. She provided service that can only be described as perfect. We booked at spa villa which housed our own twin treatment room where we were spoilt with the most amazing Balinese therapists. Our villa also contained a personal sauna, plunge pool and huge bathing tub and tropical shower, all in a secluded courtyard garden.

The restaurant was also of the highest standard, and in a stunningly beautiful location overlooking rice fields. We met Dean the head chef who took time to discuss our culinary requirements and made us feel very special. Every person that works at the Chedi club is attentive, professional, arm and friendly and makes time to make you feel very special...

If you are looking for a place that is uber-luxe, the ultimate in relaxation, service, cuisine, spa treatments and an amazing location, then you must visit the Chedi Club, UBud.

P.S Make sure you book well in advance as there is only 12 individual villa's - that's how exclusive it is......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Booked the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not let down! Simply amazing hotel, staff and location. I have stayed in 4 Leading hotels of the world (slowly trying to work down the list!) and must say this was so far the best.
We were greeted by the manager and introduced to our personal butler. We were also upgraded to a spa villa at no cost and the villa was amazing.
Free minibar, breakfast, high tea and cocktails. Only thing to pay for was dinner at the hotel for 2 nights which wasn't cheap.
They have free shuttles running to Ubud and you can book these anytime. They are also very flexible on timing of the drop offs/pick ups...for example we were looking for a nice authentic Balinese painting and mentioned this to the driver. He suggested a few small galleries and then took us out of the tourist route to a small gallery run by a master painter. He then helped us negotiate a good price for the painting. In my book, this speaks volumes of the staff and general attitude of the hotel. Well done!
The room was amazing with its own spa massage room and sauna. Very comfortable and butler was at pains to create spectacular 'towel' sculptures every night on our bed.

All in all, an excellent hotel with wonderful friendly staff and spectacular views of the paddy fields. Well recommended! Deserves its standing as one of Leading Hotels of the World.

Room Tip: Try and get spa villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magus_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My family and I just left the amazing Chedi and it was one of the most memorable stays we have ever experienced.

We arrived and where meet at the airport by our driver who took us on the beautiful drive up in the mountains to our home away from home.  Upon arrival at the Chedi we where greeted in the open air reception with a refreshing drink and some afternoon tea whist our check in was processed by our butler Darma. 

After a little tour of the property we where shown to our room, a beautiful private villa over looking one of the many beautiful water ponds.  Our room was lovely and clean and the bathroom was an outdoor / indoor experience which was lovely.

Whilst at the Chedi I took part in a cooking course which was just me the Head Chef and his Sous Chef (2hours of private one on one instruction) I was taken on a culinary delight thru the wonders of Indonesian spices and fruits. Hesitant to taste some of the local fruits,  with the guidance of the Chef I am now a true lover of many of these.

We ate all but one meal in the restaurant as the food was amazing, beautifully prepared, presented and the tastes - world class.  The setting is picture postcard beautiful.

Our 3 year old son was welcomed everywhere and nothing was too much trouble.  Which was lovely especially as this hotel is essentially for couples.

The staff are an asset to the hotel and are lead by a kind and easy to access General Manager Simon who knew everyone by name and made you feel like you belonged rather than just being a guest.

The Chedi is an amazing experience and one that we can not wait to repeat.  

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Choose here as it has been rated at no#1 on TripAdvisor so we booked 1 night for our short trip to Ubud so we didn't expect much.

Once we stepped in the resort, we must said this is the heaven. The resort looked well crafted with Balinese style with stunning rice field landscape. The front manager and general manager came over for greeting, then our personal butler take us around the resort. The room was very spacious, outdoor bathroom was amazing.

The club benefit was inclusive so almost everything is free (from Illy coffee capsule, mini bar, cocktail, afternoon tea,.......) My butler had also well prepared the bath with beautiful flower and arranged all the laundry. Breakfast was exceptional, try Mee Goreng (Balinese fried noodles)

I would suggest everyone to stay at least 2 nights to enjoy the resort, the has so many things to enjoy!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natssant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.3 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
5.2 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
3.0 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
7.8 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
6.0 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#7 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,272 - ₹ 42,860
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 family (two bedroom) or spa (one bedroom) villas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All hotel guests enjoy personal butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily A la carte breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included), complimentary minibar with alcoholic selection (refreshed once daily), complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, private car service to/from Ubud Centre from 8am to 6pm, free Wifi, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing