We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Eastern beauty - cannot find in America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Eastern beauty - cannot find in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I had read the reviews of this beautiful place, but nothing could have prepared us for two days of heavenly scenery, tranquility and professional elegance of The Chedi Club. The lingering memory is of quiet, well kept gardens, only 20 secluded villas placed well apart that blends seamlessly into a expansive paddy field. The coming together of modern comfort, an open dining area with the happy sounds of farmers going about their daily livelihood, be it be shepherding a flock of geese, or turning rivulets of water this way or that for irrigation is not something I am likely to find anywhere in North America. Simon Spiller and his staff were superb, but unobtrusive, helpful but in the background. I am not, but if you are young, and can afford it, you will make a mistake in not discovering the charms of Chedi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    81
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
188
658
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This exquisite hotel is well described at this site. It is truly a 5 star property and I won't duplicate the rave reviews. I will just add a comment or two about ambience. It is a very large property with a small amount of guests. I cannot judge all their guests, but the ones that were there with us were all people who wanted quiet and privacy. To the point that for 4 days we did not have a conversation with anyone, but each other. The dining room is quiet, like a temple. Guests speak in hushed tones. Our only thumbs down would be that we would have liked to chat over a glass of wine other people after or before dinner. The Swiss manager was outgoing, you can get a conversation out of him, but we only saw him once. The place runs smoothly and invisibly. There is no "front desk" but a beautiful, empty, welcome pavilion where you can go sit and miraculously, a staff member will materialize and very quickly comply with your request.

If you are a photographer, you will be busy for hours in the gardens and multiple lily pond pools, fountains and swan lake. Ask your butler for a golf cart tour and history of the property. Speaking of the butler, our lady butler was a delightful lady and an immaculate cleaner, indoors and in the pool and private garden area. Not a leaf dared to be in the wrong place!

However, their laundry policy of having clothes in by 10 and back to you by 5 is unrealistic since they dry the clothes outside and it is a very warm and humid climate with frequent, short showers. They made every effort to compIy, but I would have preferred a small laundry line inside where my underwear and special travel clothing could have simply dried over night in the large bath area of the well air conditioned room.

I took the yoga class once and would encourage a student of any ability to attend this. The location overlooking the rice paddy and the charming instructor were worth getting up a little early for.

Room Tip: You will do some walking here. If you have walking issues let them know to give you a room as close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iwannago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We were happy to read your review and wanted to thank you for the comments and your feedback. You're absolutely right in that some rooms do not have adequate hanging space for laundry and swimwear, and we're going to look at adding a line or an extra rail for that.

I have passed your comments on to our butler team and thank you for complimenting their service.

We hope to welcome you back to our property soon.

Kind regards

The Chedi Club Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,908 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,796 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My vacations normally are a choice between a beach or the history and culinary delights of Europe.
It was such a shock then to find a place that met so many other needs.
We had booked in for only 3 nights, unlike many of your other reviewers who seem to stay for longer - if only I had taken better notice of their comments.
Just waking up each morning, having an early morning swim in the villa's own small pool and watching the workers tending to their rice fields and ducks was absolute heaven.
We made the mistake one afternoon of leaving the villa to look at Ubud and the Monkey Forest.
Ubud was every person's worst nightmare - just like a huge shopping alley with millions looking for the "real" Ubud - not sure that they found it.
Apparently since the book and film "Eat Pray Love", millions are doing this must trip - locals though now seem to call it "eat pay leave"
Couldn't wait to get back to Chedi Club - relaxing peaceful and no need to go looking for other outside restaurants - the food was wonderful - high quality and wonderful service.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with a pool - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have just returned from 9 night at the Chedi. Every moment of our holiday from the banana fritters on arrival to the escorted check in through to immigration on departure were perfect (this is worth the extra charge as it made arrival and departure so easy especially after the long journey to get there).

The hotel is stunning and you really get a feel for the local culture through the décor and the fact that you can watch local rice farmers going about their work from your villa. Of all the 5 star hotels we have visited this was the most stunning and the most memorable for the overall experience of staying here.

We stayed in villa 9 and the views were wonderful. The villa layout is spacious and despite some mixed weather the private pool was well used. The indoor/outdoor bathtub was great and we had no problems with mosquitoes at all. The complementary laundry service meant we could have taken half the clothes we did and everything was returned the same day. The service is so personal and professional that our room was cleaned every day while we were at morning yoga and breakfast and all the staff knew our names after a day and remembered our orders. The staff all go the extra mile to anticipate your needs, our butler Supri was excellent.

We enjoyed late afternoon tea, of Asian style rice cakes, and the evening cocktails with canapés in the restaurant. The views of the sun setting and watching the farmers attend to the rice paddies was such a unique experience and really unforgettable.

We ate in our villa all but one night. The restaurant tended to get a bit bug filled once the sunset so we were more comfortable eating in the room. The standard of food was excellent although the menu very limited choice wise for 9 nights. We would have liked more local options to experience a bit more variety.

The complementary shuttle into Ubud was great and we were given a phone to use to call when we were ready to collect, this as with everything else about the service at the Chedi made life very easy.

We will definitely go back and having had a quick look at the sister hotel The Legian on the drive to the airport we would stay only at the Chedi as it is on another level.

Room Tip: Villa 9 was in a stunning setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalieedwards6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the chedi club for 8 nights in November 2011 for our honeymoon. from start to finish it was fantastic!! our pool villa (villa 9) was gorgeous!! truly balinese, with a fully stocked minibar and giant outdoor romantic bath, our own swimming pool, a lovely daybed, the list of amenities goes on and on and on! oh and not to mention gorgeous breakfast in an ambient restaurant with music being played by two very smiley chaps. there is also complimentary afternoon tea and even cocktail hour (with more snacks!) privacy is also very much respected. the staff are so friendly and respectful and our butler was brilliant. nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they remembered our names, the things we liked to drink and our breakfast orders! we took part in yoga classes with breathtaking views over the rice paddies and breakfast looking out at the same view was wonderful. there was a free air conditioned service into ubud town centre every day if wanted between 9am and 6pm, we usually went in for lunch or dinner as the prices are pretty high at the chedi what with it being a 5 star hotel. (try cafe wayan-it was great!) we had a couples massage while we were there and it was lovely too, expensive but well worth it in my opinion. the only downside to being at a resort that costs so much is that the staff do politely enquire on a daily basis as to whether you would like to book the special dinners, go on an excursion at extra cost of course. quite understandable and they certainly dont harass you just be prepared to politely turn them down, we didnt want to do anything but lounge around and enjoy the grounds. no detail was spared, it was beautiful, clean and our butler komang was attentive and friendly. there were lots of hugs from staff as we left and a gift so we could make our own rice dish! we even got a postcard the other day wishing us a happy new year. we would love to go back one day and i'd recommend it to any couples wanting a relaxed and peaceful break away or honeymoon. this is not really a place for kids.

Room Tip: villa 9, on the end, the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOZAGSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.3 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
5.3 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.0 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
7.8 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
5.8 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,647 - ₹ 35,635
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 one bedroom spas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All resort residents are entitled to a daily butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily American breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included, complimentary minibar with well-stocked alcoholic selection, refreshed once daily, complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, scheduled private car service to/from Ubud Centre, return airport transfers or inter transfer from/to The Legian for combination stay, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing