We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Natural surroundings and happy, polite staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Jiwa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #49 of 191 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Natural surroundings and happy, polite staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great place to stay. We stayed from the 15-17th April. There isn't anything else that I would require on a holiday. Alam Jiwa is nestled amongst nature yet not far away from town. You hear water flowing anywhere you walk. The varying sounds of the animals add to its rustic charm. The rice paddy fields are a must to see at sunrise. Wayan showed us the bridge which we crossed over to watch the sunrise.
This place gets really busy. Don't be disappointed if it's full. Other reviews mentioned the higher rooms for the views of the rice paddy are a must but there were non available when we booked. We stayed on the bottom floor in room "Garuda" and I could not fault anything with this room. You could get a great view of the rice fields from sitting on the day beds out of the porch. I guess the view from above will be more expansive but don't be disappointed if your room is below as it's a beautiful view. The bathroom in Garuda is amazing! it's huge and beautifully designed. You can have a bath and watch the rice fields or you can have a quick shower in the open air, yet private shower. There are orchids growing in the bathroom which simply completes this beautiful bathroom.
We loved talking with Komang. He is the manager. He speaks very good english and has an abundant of knowledge of the 3 residences (Alam Jiwa, Alam Indah and Alam Shanti) and of Ubud. We were very tired one evening and he arranged for us to get food from Laka Leke delivered to our room. It was great. Another restaurant to try is Cafe Wayan. They would tell you how to get there (20 mins walk through the monkey forest). It is actually owned by the same family as the Alam residences. After meeting their staff and having lovely breakfast by the pool together with their impeccable service, once we found out that Cafe Wayan (on Monkey Forest road) are the same owners, we had to try it!! The food there was the best food in the area.It was tasty and fresh and once again the staff were friendly and had us laughing. The grounds of this place is amazing. Make sure to wander all the way to the back. It's a very big restaurant with lots of secluded nooks. The spring rolls are very nice. They were fried but the pastry wasn't overly crispy and the sauce that it came with was very tasty. The curries are full of flavour. Great serves with reasonable price.
You get a free pick up or drop off service from the hotel. Be prepared to wait depending on traffic and also take note that it maybe quicker to walk as cars are not allowed through the monkey forest. Depending on where you are, it maybe quicker to walk. When walking through the forest be careful not to have water bottles and sunglasses visible to the monkey. They pounce on you and would swipe it from you. I watched them do it!! They are not aggressive, just cheeky... just be careful.
"Clear" on Hanoman road is very good for their juices. Free wi-fi . Also, a restaurant called "Kafe" is very good. Fresh and tasty food. This is also on Hanonman Road. But if I wasn't keen to try out different eating places , I would have easily settled for Cafe Wayan during my stay in Ubud!!!
Make sure to go to the Elephant cave - beautiful rock faces that are carved. Very peaceful place. Our driver took us their on our way to Ubud and also a temple. There are many temples in Indonesia. If you don't get time to see a temple during your stay, don't worry it won't take you long before you run into another one. The market is worthwhile for the experience. Lots of bustling and bartering. Start at a third of the price and make your way upwards. I didn't like bartering but the locals love it as it's like a game to them. If in doubt, if it converts to a good price to you, just buy it. The majority of people live basic lives.
Photos of Garuda to come

Room Tip: I loved Garuda. The bathroom is amazing and the view from the porch is nice. You have access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    76
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
150
238
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and sure wished it was longer! It has many plants and trees around that give a really nice natural feel, beautiful rice patty views, and a very nice pool and rooms. The staff are extremely accomdatling, and the hotel offers free driving service. But many of the Ubud acctrations are not too far away. It was by far one of the best places I've been!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of rice pattys, and the room named Ganeca has an awesome outdoor sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in the Manis Merpati at Alam Jiwa. A house some 50m from the main building and the pool. Rice paddies are on both east and west of the House and it has a view on the distant cone of Gunung Agung - lest it be shrouded in clouds. The sound of the stream some 20 m below, the sight of a raft of ducks moving through the rice fields, and the wind playing with the bright green rice stems is sheer bliss. Just sitting with a book on the large covered terrace adjoining the bedroom, taking in from time to time the sight and sound of rural Bali is immensely relaxing. Aptly named Alam Jiwa - the soul of nature. The room Merpati has no air conditioning, if it gets a bit warm just get the ceiling fan going. Call the desk for afternoon tea, for a bottle of cold Bintang beer or for free transport to a restaurant or shop in Ubud. I remember Ubud to have had this atmosphere of tranquility some 30 years ago. Now, to escape the hustle and bustle of the townyou have to go beyond the monkey forest to the village of Nyuhkuning. Although within walking distance to Ubud, you are in a different world.
Very friendly staff. Good breakfast and dinner if you just cannot bring yourself to go out as night falls and the chorus of frogs from the fields.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the ALAM JIWA. We had a group of 14 people from 1 yr through to teens and adults and booked out a number of the rooms. Everyone agreed that this was the best part of our trip. The hotel is stunning in appearance. The views spectacular and it is sooo peaceful. We could see our family in surrounding rooms and waved from our large balcony where we relaxed on daybeds. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms big. Some have outdoor showers which was pretty spectacular. The bathrooms and bedrooms are very dimly lit which took a while to get used to. Although we were happy to have mozzi nets on all our beds. The pool is average in size but does have a small kiddie pool attached which was great. There were always chairs and towels available and most of the time we were the only ones their anyway. I think the resort has appox 11 rooms so it is very quiet. They offer a free shuttle to and from Ubud (5 mins by car) at anytime. Breakfast is included and the banana and apple crepes are really really delicious. Harder for the kids as cereal isn't available - so byo. There is a litte store out the front on the road where you can buy whatever you need. Make sure you turn right at the end of the drive and head to kertiyasa for lunch or dinner. It's a great restaurant and only 5 mins walk. The hotel provides afternoon tea but we never had any. Cafe Wyan is connected to the hotel and was fabulous too. Would recommend this hotel to those wanting somewhere a little quieter with a lot more authentic shopping and real Bali scenery. Heaps to do with mountain, volcano tours, cycling and the Bali Safari Park isn't too far. If you have kids check out Bali Kids World nearby too. We would all love to come back to ALAM JIWA.

Room Tip: Casuary has a great big balcony and is good for kids but no outdoor shower, only a bath with a remov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redroch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in here for 3 nights in november 2011. We had a room with balcony(big, around 4x4 m) which had a great view on the rice paddies. The room was really nice and big. The bathroom was partially open, which means you could shower under the sky!(the rest was under a roof including a seperate bathtub). But the best thing was the friendly service, people were always available for questions, the breakfast(which was lovely) could me brought on to the terras. Also the shuttle service from and to Ubud was top(Although a walk along the Monkey forrest to the hotel should be done at least once!(in daytime)). Is Alam Jiwa a 5-star-resort, no luckily not! You should go here if can appreciate the natural environment, want a peacefull place away from the noise of Ubud, and appreciate an individual approach. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hidde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#65 of 191 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 191 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.6 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 191 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 191 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.3 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 km away
Mawa House
Mawa House
#8 of 502 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#44 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,357 - ₹ 11,731
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing