We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #51 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Traditional Bali”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in the Manis Merpati at Alam Jiwa. A house some 50m from the main building and the pool. Rice paddies are on both east and west of the House and it has a view on the distant cone of Gunung Agung - lest it be shrouded in clouds. The sound of the stream some 20 m below, the sight of a raft of ducks moving through the rice fields, and the wind playing with the bright green rice stems is sheer bliss. Just sitting with a book on the large covered terrace adjoining the bedroom, taking in from time to time the sight and sound of rural Bali is immensely relaxing. Aptly named Alam Jiwa - the soul of nature. The room Merpati has no air conditioning, if it gets a bit warm just get the ceiling fan going. Call the desk for afternoon tea, for a bottle of cold Bintang beer or for free transport to a restaurant or shop in Ubud. I remember Ubud to have had this atmosphere of tranquility some 30 years ago. Now, to escape the hustle and bustle of the townyou have to go beyond the monkey forest to the village of Nyuhkuning. Although within walking distance to Ubud, you are in a different world.
Very friendly staff. Good breakfast and dinner if you just cannot bring yourself to go out as night falls and the chorus of frogs from the fields.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
152
241
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the ALAM JIWA. We had a group of 14 people from 1 yr through to teens and adults and booked out a number of the rooms. Everyone agreed that this was the best part of our trip. The hotel is stunning in appearance. The views spectacular and it is sooo peaceful. We could see our family in surrounding rooms and waved from our large balcony where we relaxed on daybeds. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms big. Some have outdoor showers which was pretty spectacular. The bathrooms and bedrooms are very dimly lit which took a while to get used to. Although we were happy to have mozzi nets on all our beds. The pool is average in size but does have a small kiddie pool attached which was great. There were always chairs and towels available and most of the time we were the only ones their anyway. I think the resort has appox 11 rooms so it is very quiet. They offer a free shuttle to and from Ubud (5 mins by car) at anytime. Breakfast is included and the banana and apple crepes are really really delicious. Harder for the kids as cereal isn't available - so byo. There is a litte store out the front on the road where you can buy whatever you need. Make sure you turn right at the end of the drive and head to kertiyasa for lunch or dinner. It's a great restaurant and only 5 mins walk. The hotel provides afternoon tea but we never had any. Cafe Wyan is connected to the hotel and was fabulous too. Would recommend this hotel to those wanting somewhere a little quieter with a lot more authentic shopping and real Bali scenery. Heaps to do with mountain, volcano tours, cycling and the Bali Safari Park isn't too far. If you have kids check out Bali Kids World nearby too. We would all love to come back to ALAM JIWA.

Room Tip: Casuary has a great big balcony and is good for kids but no outdoor shower, only a bath with a remov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redroch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in here for 3 nights in november 2011. We had a room with balcony(big, around 4x4 m) which had a great view on the rice paddies. The room was really nice and big. The bathroom was partially open, which means you could shower under the sky!(the rest was under a roof including a seperate bathtub). But the best thing was the friendly service, people were always available for questions, the breakfast(which was lovely) could me brought on to the terras. Also the shuttle service from and to Ubud was top(Although a walk along the Monkey forrest to the hotel should be done at least once!(in daytime)). Is Alam Jiwa a 5-star-resort, no luckily not! You should go here if can appreciate the natural environment, want a peacefull place away from the noise of Ubud, and appreciate an individual approach. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hidde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
301 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

There have been so many wonderful reviews of this small hotel that I don't think that I can really add anything as everything has already been said.
Our room was gorgeous with a huge, very comfortable bed, wonderful balcony, beautiful bathroom, all with incredible views.
The staff is great. They deliver a fantastic breakfast to your room if you ask. The shuttle service is superb. They took us to the Sayan River Valley during the day and into town at night.
The pool is wonderful for cooling off and afternoon tea can be served poolside.
The hotel setting is sublime with rice-paddy and volcano views.
The massages at Alam Shanti were very good.
We researched a lot of hotels in the Ubud area, many of which were a lot more expensive, but were overwhelmed with our stay at Alam Jiwa.
We would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a special place, we really loved it here and the staff was really great too. Our room was large and we had a great big patio overlooking the rice fields. There is no tv in the room which was fine with us since we new this a head of time and had movies on our tablet to watch before bed, but it might be a problem with some with kids on holiday with them. The bathroom was big and nice as well my only sugjestion whould be that they add a fan to the bathroom as it got very hot in there. The hotel grounds are sooo nice, magical even with water terraces, lilys and lightning bugs. The location is on the other side of the monkey forest and we enjoyed our walks to the shops and restaurants via the monkey forest. Also there are several wood and craft shops on the way from the hotel to the monkey forest that had really nice carvings at much better price than in town. There is also a small store at the end of the street leading to the hotel that was good for getting cheap drinks and snacks. The hotel has a driver to take you and pick you up in town if you need and breakfast was also provided and it was great too. I wish we had skipped the beach all together and stayed at Alam Jiwa longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#57 of 195 in Ubud
594 reviews
1.6 km away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
0.8 km away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 195 in Ubud
881 reviews
0.3 km away
Alam Shanti
Alam Shanti
#70 of 195 in Ubud
554 reviews
3.3 km away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#98 of 195 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,154 - ₹ 15,093
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing