We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience. We will be back.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Ensuite with a jungle valley view
Cocktail by the pool
Long lunch by the pool
Welcome fresh tropical flowers
The villa at dusk
Ensuite bathroom with flower bath
Welcome juice
Personal and friendly service
Complimentary daily afternoon tea by the pool
Main bathroom with flower bath
Tastefully furnished cozy lounge with views
Balinese feast cooked by villa chef
Upstairs bedroom and living with a view
Luxurious comfort
Sunrise across the valley
Hindu temple at the villa
Warm hospitality
Lounge area for relaxing and entertainments
Daily turn-down service
Secluded tropical home for a couple
Welcome to Shamballa Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erik L
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience. We will be back.”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The property is architecturally a delight, with fine details, and is comfortably furnished. The staff (Mini, Kadek, Wayan, et al.) make you feel right at home. The property is quite secluded yet quite close to the major shops and restaurants in Ubud.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Infinity pool
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Villa in Ubud”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week and had a wonderful relaxing time in this beautiful villa and can highly recommend a stay at Shamballa Residence.

The owners and staff are very proud of what they have created in this luxury Balinese styled villa. The villa has two stories and on the ground floor is an elegant lounge and dining area along with a large pool set in a lush garden with an outdoor bathroom containing a large stone bath and rain shower. The second floor complete with bamboo shutters and straw roof contains a large bedroom and lounge along with another luxurious bathroom with a private outlook over lush gardens. All is done very elegantly.

The staff were friendly and provided great assistance in organising everything from transport through to getting cloths washed or organising massages. We also enjoyed our interactions with the staff and loved the breakfasts they cooked, particularly the banana pancakes along with the other meals when we dinned in. Also we appreciated how all the staff were connected to the local community and were very proud of working there and what it brought to their community.

Just to be balance I should mention that you can get a bit of road noise from across the valley but I did get use to it and it was not a problem at night at all.

The Ubud area has heaps of things to do and restaurants to eat at however the centre is a busy place with narrow roads and traffic jams so it is nice to be 10 minutes out of town and out of the congestion.

However there is one downsides to staying at Shamballa Residence and that is leaving it.

Enjoy your stay

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolo_Tim...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spring Rolls and Satay by the Pool”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is our second stay at one of the Shamballa properties. We previously stayed at the Shamballa Villa and this time decided to try the Shamballa Residence. Both properties are brilliant with all of the things we loved last time evident in the new property.

Shamballa Residence is tastefully decorated with designer touches throughout. The quality sofas and chairs are so comfortable they are hard to get out of. The pool is huge and well positioned looking out towards the jungle. I bought an inflatable lilo for drifting and sunning which I would recommend.

Some of the staff who looked after us during our last stay had changed however they were as fantastic as ever. We still had Kadek and her husband Wayan, and Wayan the driver with some new staff, another Wayan, Mini and Gusti. I do not know who recruits the staff for these properties but congratulations as they seem to find the most wonderful people. Iluh who also looked after us during our previous stay popped up from the other villa to say hello to my wife which I thought was nice.

We requested to see Shamballa Moon which is next door to the Residence. While it is smaller than the Residence and Villa it is as per normal well laid out with impeccable interior design. We will probably stay here during our next visit as we are looking at booking the Residence next door for our daughter and husband who have a couple of young ones.

We were there for 7 nights which was longer than our previous stay where we moved around a bit more. The 7 nights was perfect as you settled in more quickly when you arrived knowing you weren’t leaving in a couple of days.

Dining in town is good. I would recommend Melting Wok for a green chicken curry and a chocolate crepe. It is great value for money for a quick meal.

The most memorable dining moments we experienced however were just relaxing in the villa lounge next to the pool with some Lumpia (Balinese spring rolls) and Chicken Satay with a bottle of wine. We did this for a few nights and if you are looking to relax, I highly recommend it.

I came here looking to completely relax and unwind, much in need of a break from a hectic work environment. Shamballa delivered again as we were both made to feel so welcome, comfortable and even privileged.

We will definitely be back, and I am already planning my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth of the staff.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie P
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Shamballa will exceed every expectation.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Words cannot describe the magic of Shamballa.
The location is breathtaking. The villa is impeccable. The lifestyle is priceless.
And, above all else, the most beautiful hospitality by the most beautiful staff. Absolutely flawless.
If you want to experience the true essence of Ubud, Shamaballa will exceed every expectation.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chella080...
Karratha, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, Stunning View”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I recently stayed in the Shamballa Residence with my Mum for some much needed chill time. On arrival to the villa we were greeted with really friendly staff and were exited to see the stunning pool and beautiful decor. We did feel the villa was a little big for just the two of us, however after a couple of days we settled in. Our dinner by the pool on the first night was delicious and would be ideal for a romantic night (couples) ... The only dissapointing things for us were that the spa wasnt in use and the pool was too cold to swim in. Everything else we were really happy with. The Staff - Iluh and Mini were so sweet and we loved having them cook and chat to us.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing