We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day with monkey”

Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 86 things to do in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In this unusual place of worship, mischievous simians throng among sacred temples and lush greenery.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This place offers us so much fun time in Ubud. There are many monkeys who can not wait to steal your stuff. Ubud monkey forest also has beautiful rain forest. But, make sure you have your stuff in your bags safe. These monkeys never feel full. Overall this place was so much fun

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Serenapiatkopick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (30,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"be careful"
in 1,888 reviews
"buy bananas"
in 1,137 reviews
"wild animals"
in 510 reviews
"baby monkeys"
in 461 reviews
"follow the rules"
in 341 reviews
"cute monkeys"
in 285 reviews
"monkey business"
in 281 reviews
"love monkeys"
in 212 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 220 reviews
"water bottles"
in 474 reviews
"walk around"
in 292 reviews
"fun experience"
in 227 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 329 reviews
"nice walk"
in 302 reviews
"fruit"
in 283 reviews
"aggressive"
in 2,473 reviews
"bag"
in 1,505 reviews
Filter

2,376 - 2,380 of 30,376 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We did not have any food with us and did not have any articles stolen or any mischievous monkey business. We stayed around 40 minutes and had a nice walk in the forest and some good pics. There are enough toilets and drink stalls. Other people advise you bring bananas, we didn't want the monkeys stealing our stuff or being aggressive so we did not bring food. There are 749 monkeys even babies!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank burygirlkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Although this is a great attraction at a good price. 50,000 idr per person. We did see quite a lot of aggressive behaviour from the monkeys (admittedly this was due to a human interfering) however they can easily jump on your bag and un zip it or take water bottles and phones out of your hands! They are cite to look at at but make sure you keep a distance and don't have valuable showing invade they want to play!

There are signs before you go on advising you on how to be safe :)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ella343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Well, we were pretty scared of the monkeys at first, but this sanctuary was actually more that we thought it'd be - there are multiple routes you can choose to walk once you are inside the forest. We spent about a couple of hours, laughing at the adorable monkeys and exploring the old trees that are nothing less than splendid.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Vasundhara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 hours here, took some great photos and it was amazing to be so close to the monkeys. I can’t see you spending more than 2 hours here in my opinion. £3 per adult to enter and you can buy bananas in there for the monkeys. Loved it

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank nickbY2187RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing