We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Ubud”
Review of Guci Guesthouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guci Guesthouses
Ranked #35 of 629 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Guci Guesthouse in November 2012. The owners - Ulli and Nyoman were very nice and helpful, they also provide some information sheets about the area for the guests, they also helped me to arrange the transfer from Ubud to the airport.
We stayed in the bungallows and loved them. The outdoor showers is great, the room and the bed is comfortable. The breakfast is included, they serve homemade breakfast in the garden, where you can chat with other guests if you want.
The guesthouse is in a quiet area (inspite of the fact that you can hear the cocks somtimes, but you can't hear the noise of the traffic) but shops and restaurants are nearby. It was a perfect place to stay when we discovered the Ubud area. The Monkey Forest is within walking distance and the ARMA museum is also in the neighbourhood.
There was no AC in the bungallow but the fan was perfectly enough.
Nyoman is an artist we could see some of his paintings and sculptures in the lush garden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked the house for two nights, it was beautiful! We actually just wanted the bungalow, but since it was not available, we chose the house as it was just 10 Euros more. The house was beautiful with a kitchenette, a dining area, two bedrooms, and a tastefully done bathroom. It was too large for the two of us, but we enjoyed it nonetheless! The choice of earthy colours, lush greenery surrounding the house, waking up to the chirping of birds, beautiful nets strewn around four poster bed, the wooden rustic feel to the house- it was splendid. Ulli and Nyoman were fantastic hosts, and loved the folder they had put together offering information - from laundry to restaurants to itineraries in Bali. The prices given in the folder for taxis helped us keep perspective while we negotiated with the drivers! Loved the fresh and flowery smelling towels, and we totally loved the pretty and tasty breakfast they had made. If I HAVE to complain, these are four things I'd want to point out:
1. The hot water fluctuates, they do have a little board there asking us to contact them when that happens, but you really can't do that when you're in the middle of a shower and hot water stops! But it was humid Bali, so a cold shower wasn't too bad.
2. We got the same breakfast the second day morning, so maybe long stayers might get bored.
3. The house is of open style, so if you need lots of privacy it may not be a good idea, as there is not 'do not disturb' board you can hang on the door (in fact no door for the main entrance , although the bedrooms have doors) the girls would just walk in and ask you if they can clean the place.
4. You don't get soaps and the little tit bits, and since its an open kind of house dust collects quickly on surfaces. (even though its cleaned everyday)

Seems like a lot of complaints, but these are very tiny things that I tried hard to knit pick. Overall it was a fantastic relaxing experience and a great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed in one of the huge bungalows for 30e a night (breakfast included). Lovely outside shower with hot water (a spider might bother you once in a while). Giant bed plus an extra big bed in the room, and also an outside porch with view to the lovely garden.

Nyoman and Ulli provide a folder with everything you need to know about Ubud and the surroundings and are very helpful with advice or reservations. If you’re in need of a pool (we didn’t), you can visit one of the neighboring guesthouses. Laundry and 24h supermarket also very close to the guesthouse.

As for the location, it's quite hidden away the first time you get there, but pretty quiet as it's not along one of the main roads. You can walk to the center of Ubud in 20 mins (nice and safe walk), so you can't really argue that it's "out of town". Just watch out for the sidewalks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alegzundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a bungalow at Guci Guesthouses for three nights. Nyoman and Ulli were so welcoming and informative about the area. We really felt at home. The bungalow was beautiful with an outdoor shower and porch. The breakfasts were lovely, homemade, and in the garden. It is walking distance to many shops and spas. We had easy access to everything we needed. They have discounted prices for spas and tours in the area and have excellent recommendations. they are also happy to book reservations on your behalf. The prices were very low- 30euro a night for a bungalow includin breakfast and you can pay extra for beer, wine, soda, and water. We loved the Guci Guesthouses and will definitely return if we are back in Bali. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic retreat in Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Amazing! We had a wonderful stay, it was too bad that we had to leave so early. Even klamboe (musquito nets) were provided and the shower outside was with hot water. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.7 km away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
531 reviews
5.4 km away
Puri Bunga Resort and Spa
3.6 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 km away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
4.8 km away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guci Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guci Guesthouses

Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: ₹ 2,598 - ₹ 4,872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guci-Guesthouses is located in Pengosekan/Ubud. We offer three bungalows and two houses for rent, which are set in a lush and tropical garden. We have been running the guesthouse since 1987 and many people from all over the world have already stayed with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guci Guesthouses Hotel Ubud
Guci Guesthouses Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing