We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 244
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 405
US$ 297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 455
US$ 336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
US$ 86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$ 459
US$ 358
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 312
US$ 279
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 402
US$ 172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashoka Tree Resort(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 696
US$ 632
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 775/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 980
US$ 896
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
34
20
17
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
20
17
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolmin driveshuttle serviceshuttle busoutdoor showerenjoyed my staypleasant stayair conditioningtwo nightsvillakitchenettedrivernaturemassagemotorbike
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I came out to ubud for our first stop of our honeymoon. We booked via agoda to stay at The Kampung Ubud Villas for 6 nights.
Due to traveling over 19 hours to get to ubud our first night at the hotel seemed fine to us as we were dead tired.

The disaster of our stay starts from day 2.
Firstly the "fresh towels" were stained and dirty and the curtain drapes around the bed had red stains (God knows what it was). The pool was filthy which both my husband and I refused to get into.

As the evening approached this is when our nightmare began. We were both woken up at 3am to the sounds of Lizards running and screeching in our room coming from all directions - behind our bed, under our bed, on top of our bed and on the walls around the room.

This freaked us out!!!! We contacted reception right away to deal with the situation. They tried to get rid of the lizards however they were too fast and ran and hid in our room.

At this point both my husband and I couldn't go to sleep -our eyes looking everywhere to the sounds we could hear.

We fully understand lizards are a big part of Bali's habitat nature but we never expected them to be sleeping in the room with us.

The lizards entered our room by the cracks between the wall and sliding doors and the biggest gaps between the "closed" sliding doors.

We immediately packed our stuff and decided to look for another hotel as the Kampung Ubud Villas did not address our concern nor helped to find a solution to help us. (The only solution provided at the time between 3am - 7am was to place tissues in the cracks but only done to one section of where the problem occurred).
My husband and I went to look for an alternative hotel to stay in for the rest of our duration.

When we returned back to the Kampung Ubud to speak to the manager and to check out and request for a refund - yet again no help was given and no refund. Instead we were informed it is normal for lizards to be in the room with us and this is part of nature and the norm.

We contacted agoda for their support and provided images and a full description in writing of what happened- agoda contacted the hotel to request for the refund and the hotel refused to do so and agoda did not support us at all.

Please find attached images of what we encountered and experienced.

Stay away from this hotel unless you want to sleep with lizards and insects and not worried about hygiene. Furthermore do not book through agoda in case you have any problems and need support- this agent will do absolutely nothing to help.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heba S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Kampung Villas are spacious than most in Ubud and the location is close to the market (2kms approx). They serve decent portions of breakfast and have pure vegan options which is really good for someone who's complete vegan. Overall, excellent service and great quiet Villas.

Just an advice and not complaint: Would request you to provide motorbike rentals on regular basis instead of tour basis. The reason being the men sitting in a local bar outside on the main street would keep on stalking and hence instead of walking, we would prefer motorbikes. However, appreciate that you have free shuttle services but would like you to offer motorbike rentals on separate basis.

Thanks for making our stay pleasant to team Kampung.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoshua D, General Manager at The Kampung Ubud Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at The Kampung Ubud Villa during your recent visit to Bali. We trust that your time with us was an enriching experience filled with many special moments.

At the same time, many thanks you for time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels to the island of Bali.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We checked in to The Kampung Ubud Villa and was blown away with the size of our room! One thing we love the most about the room was the perfect morning view we woke up to, as the sun shone in on our sheets. Felt like a magical golden morning. The only thing was there were many insects and rooster (nearby), so we couldnt had a quiet sleep. But i guess that is inevitable since its surrounded by nature. The staff were friendly and very accommodating to our request for an early breakfast and transfer since we needed to be at the pier early for our ferry ride. Definitely one of the highlights of our Bali trip!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JanXZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoshua D, General Manager at The Kampung Ubud Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at The Kampung Ubud Villa during your recent visit to Bali. We trust that your time with us was an enriching experience filled with many special moments.

At the same time, many thanks you for time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels to the island of Bali.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We were in The Kampung Ubud Villa for 4 nights, and overall it was a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and the bathroom facilities were great (outdoor - which was also an experience). Although I must say, that I don't think the price lives up to its standards in this hotel. We were in Bali for 2 weeks, and this was definitely the place we felt we got "least" of our money. We got a private villa with pool and it was located right next to some kind of farm so there were a lot of animal noise but the most bothering was the smell. It smelled really bad and I think it is hard to avoid with animals, but still not nice when you expect nice quality and surroundings at that price. They tried to "camouflage" it with incense, but it didn't really work. The massage that they offer is also quite expensive compared to actually all other place we went during our stay in Bali - both hotels and cliniques. The Kampung Villa was our first stay so we didn't have anything to compare to.

Beside all of the above the staff was very kind and they helped us with booking taxi, day trips and so on. If we had to do it different we probably wouldn't book the private pool villa as we felt that the value of it didn't match the price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederikke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoshua D, General Manager at The Kampung Ubud Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at The Kampung Ubud Villa during your recent visit to Bali.

At the same time, many thanks you for time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. All your comments are noted, currently being working with local community to relocate the animals. Look forward to welcoming you back on future travels to the island of Bali.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in The Kampung Ubud Villa for 5 nights and we had a very pleasant stay. The staff is super helpful and friendly. You can ask for anything and all the food we had was good.

They also arranged our trip to climb the mount Batur. Their BBQ on Friday night was lovely!

Of course things can be better, but still the villa, private pool and service of the staff is amazing!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoshua D, General Manager at The Kampung Ubud Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at The Kampung Ubud Villa during your recent visit to Bali. We trust that your time with us was an enriching experience filled with many special moments.

At the same time, many thanks you for time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels to the island of Bali.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews