We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
380
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
64
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields outdoor shower jalan kajeng your luggage the main street mobile phone scooter ride minute walk away from the hustle and bustle visiting ubud busy ubud reception area special thanks ubud centre amazing place yudi ducks
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The accommodations are superb! There are six newly constructed villas, all perfectly outfitted and situated by the infinity pool and outdoor patio. We loved the the private outdoor shower attached to our unit. The villas are located at the edge of the rice fields and about a 10-15 minute walk from the mail street of Ubud. City noise is absent; there is only the sound of the frogs at night. Breakfasts are very good and now there is an onsite Italian restaurant for lunch and dinner. Stefano and Yudi, the owners, are always there and provide excellent advice about sites to visit, dance performances and other attractions of Ubud and Bali. They and their staff are most gracious and helpful. On two occasions they found drivers for us for all day tours. As you can tell from our review we really loved our two weeks here and would readily come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We found a little piece of paradise when we stayed at the Samara. Stefano and Yudi are the epitomy of the perfect hosts. They made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.Their staff are extremely professional and competent and so so friendly. There are six villas which have the most beautiful outlook over the rice fields and in the evening whilst enjoying our delicious italian meal in the restaurant on site we watched the fireflies dance around the rice fields. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable.The open air shower was quite a novelty and really made you feel like you were living at one with nature.. The trip to the villas from the main road is not accessible by car but is a pleasant walk up a pathway however the staff are more than happy to transport you on the back of the scooters to the main road which added to the adventure of our stay. The breakfast was great and the banana pancakes my favourite. I have travelled quite extensively around the world and never have i written a review for anywhere i stayed before but feel compelled to share my thoughts on this accommodation such was my fantastic experience. So do yourself a favour and spend some time in this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karynl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's a 15 minute walk (uphill) from the Ubud market, located in the beautiful countryside just outside Ubud. Due to the narrow road, the last 300 meters is not accessible by car. The hotell was helpfull with transporting the suitcases with motorcycle though. A lovely little hotell, just a few months old. Excellent standard and the owners and staff are very nice. Although there are plenty of restaurants downtown Ubud, it's definitely a an experience eating with the beatifull view over the rice paddies, and in the evening listenig to the toads croaking. A mix of Italian/Indonesian kitchen. We would definitely stay here again. A+ for the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingvar-sth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

If you don't mind the short walk up to the villas from Ubud town, then this is the place for you. Vehicles (except for motorcycles) have no access to the area which makes the place reasonably quiet and less polluted.

The six villas are constructed in the middle of rice fields. Simple but beautifully designed with breathtaking views of the surrounding areas. The rooms are clean and the huge comfy pillows were to die for. The villas, however, are not quite sound proof but this has been informed by Stefano (the owner of The Samara) in advance. You might hear the sound of motorcycles passing by the area every now and then during the day but this is expected as there are villagers living and working in the area.

Evenings at The Samara are lovely. I could sit at the restaurant for hours after dinner, just to enjoy the cool evening breeze and watch the fireflies whilst sipping my Balinese tea. Stefano, Yudi (his wife) and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. They will accommodate any special requests as best as they can (Thank you for the beautiful lilies and birthday cake!). Also had a minor issue with the shower but it was rectified promptly.

Restaurant menu is mainly Italian but there are also a few other Indonesian dishes to choose from. With regard to breakfast (included in the room rate), there are three options to choose from; Continental, American or Indonesian. All options come with a fruit platter, a glass of fresh fruit juice of your choice, and coffee/tea. Vegetarian options are limited but you could always head down to Ubud town to hunt for vegetarian-friendly restaurants.

Complimentary wi-fi access is available throughout the property and inside the rooms. A mini torchlight is also provided with the room key (very handy for those who are out till late).

For those of you who are visiting Ubud, I'd definitely recommend this place. However, given the nature of the property, you might want to consider staying elsewhere if you have children below the age of 12. The villas are more suited for solo travellers or couples.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lil316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just returned home after spending 3 nights at the Samara. The owners, Stefano and Yudi, are passionate about their hotel and this shines through in their fantastic customer service. The hotel is stunning with only 6 rooms which were very clean, well proportioned and well designed with great views out over rice paddys.The bed was probably the most comfortable we have slept in anywhere in South East Asia. We particularly enjoyed our evening chatting with Stefano and Yudi while watching the fireflies making their way over the rice fields. Don't worry about the distance to Ubud, we far preferred the walk down our quiet road to town rather than walking from Monkey Forest which is down a rather busy road! We will certainly be recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Bali.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, Rooms 5 and 6 have the best views. We were in room 3 to begin with but for our 2nd and 3rd nights Stefano moved us to room 6 without being asked! Again, great service!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirbsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews