We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“They make you special!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 183 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They make you special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is one of the best resort that we have ever stayed. The resort concierge is on top of the hill and over look the Bali's signature 'Rice Field'.

Our Villa is right next to the river. You can constantly hear the sound of river stream. The villa has really good villa setup. You can have all the privacy you need and the best part is, you don't hear any crazy traffic and tourist noise!

The resort staffs are very friendly too. We stayed there for 5 days and the 1st day they already know our name and it make you feel special...

The only crazy experience we had was the driver from the Resort... He was a bit dangerous (if you know the road to Ubud) and on the way back to the airport, he was dozing off and we had to yell at him.

Room Tip: Room next to the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyBBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    76
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
176
788
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you are deciding between the many villas that Ubud has to offer, look no further cos Samaya is no doubt the best choice ever. My wife and I cannot sing enough praises for this place. Everything from the environment to the food to the butlers spell perfection. Of course, this is not with its tiny winy flaws such as stained floor tiles and part of its curtains were slightly mouldy, which I believe after they read this review they'll pay attention it. We also like it that the resort service manager actually welcomed us personally during our arrival and all the staff in the villa addressed us by our names.
3 nights for us is not enough. We're now already contemplating our next trip to Samaya very soon.
Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gyrineum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, North America etc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The service was impeccable, the villa was clean, modern and beautiful. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel and the staff. it is ideal for a couple looking for a private,relaxing place to stay.
We stayed in one of the riverside villas. All the food was delicious but breakfast was especially so and you can have it in the villa, out in the garden or on the terrace overlooking beautiful rice paddies. The hotel offers walks around the rice paddies which I would highly recommend. I would also recommend Monkey forest (don't buy the bananas if you don't want to be harangued by the monkeys). Ubud itself is interesting but only for a day or two so we hired a car with driver for the day to explore the main attractions in the area and around Bali for only 60 euros for the day - highly recommended.

Room Tip: riverside villas have a great view of the river, wonderful in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biztraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I came to Ubud as part of our honeymoon and wow it is a must. Perfect rooms - lots of space and everybeed catered for from Bose docking station to free DVDs, perfect staff who smile everyday and where nothing is too much trouble. All our needs catered for inc special requests for food that were not in the menu. Free afternoon tea and if you like a specific cake they will make them just for you on the days you require. Spa was amazing and again wanted to please. If you fancy nightlife there is a free car that takes you into Ubud but we were more than happy with the food and service in the hotel but did venture into town once and there were plenty of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was first class and again they would make anything if. It on the menu. Also, another plus point was that breakfast didnt finish so you could have it anytime if day if you wanted to sleep till lunch! Served in room ir in restaurant. Pools in villas were large enough to swim in and clean. The whole resort was well maintained. There were buggys to take you around if you didn't fancy the walk. Views were delightful over the padi fields. If you want a really lively resort this ain't for you but if you want to have the luxury if a private pool, excellent service and nightlife just at your fingertips, this is the place to come! Thank you Samaya

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed five nights here over the Easter weekend and it was perfect. The staff are very attentive and work very hard to give your stay a personal touch. The villas are wonderful - spacious, comfortable and well equipped without being over the top. The pools are a real treat. The spa, gym facilities and pool are in glorious setting and the treatments are just sublime. The Samaya is wonderfully still and peaceful and this made it the perfect place to wind down and relax. There is a very efficient, flexible and complimentary car service in to Ubud which allows you to explore the town and it's many restaurants (we would recommend Sari Organic for lunch and Melting Pot Warung for dinner - need to book for both). The breakfasts at The Samaya were good, and the Swept Away restaurant was very memorable. A high light for us was having the complimentary tea served in our villa - we had it while sitting in our cabana. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel but stay as long as you can, and book early. It is real gem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
6.4 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
5.0 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#1 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.2 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#11 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
4.8 km away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#4 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.1 km away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#9 of 183 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,297 - ₹ 46,577
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing