We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five stars +” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
southern Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Five stars +”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Five stars are not enough for this resort and for its staff. After a warm welcome one of the butlers took us to our villa (hillside, 106). We loved everything - all is true what others have said already here. The pool was a wonderful treat as it was so huge, that real swimming was possible.
And we loved to stay outside in the gazebo even when it rained, it was wonderful.
Breakfast was another highlight. We enjoyed it at the Scene Restaurant on top of the hill - close to our villa. The view was breathtaking and the food so good!! We went to the Swept Away
as well and did not regret it. Fantastic from start to end - pricy, but it is well worth it. Another
treat was the "high tea" every afternoon, enjoying lovley prepared baked goodies. We went to the spa as well and can´t applaud as much as we liked it. Come, see and feel yourself...

We went to Ubud several time and the free car service provided by the hotel was always friendly and in time. Ubud is so busy - we loved to come back to the peaceful and relaxing Samaya.

We did a rice field trekking one morning with two of the staff members which we liked a lot, too.

Everybody at the Samaya did a wonderful job for us, making our trip as one of a kind.
Thank you, Samaya, for making us feel special.

Room Tip: We loved our hillside villa nr.106. It had a wonderful view and was close to the scene restautant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    78
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
178
819
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Wow - my husband, daughter and I had an absolutely wonderful vacation at the Samaya Ubud. The service was absolutely superb. Every single person on the entire resort was ready with a smile and all remembered our names. The grounds were beautiful... and we especially enjoyed the infinity pool overlooking the river and jungle. The rooms were lovely... perfect for honeymooners. We were there with our one year old daughter who was treated like a princess. The staff whisked her away during meals and she had such fun. They made up special dishes just for her. We took advantage of the free shuttle service into Ubud, which was fantastic (some hotels only drop at the central temple in Ubud, but Samaya was much more flexible with drop off/pick up locations). We hired the resort babysitter so we could enjoy a cycle ride through the rice paddies and a couples massage and they were wonderful (both the babysitters and the outings/spa were wonderful!). We had also had a great time at the Samaya in Seminyak earlier the same week and the service at the Ubud location was even friendlier and more polished. Note that the private pool depth was over my head (I'm 5'6"), so I couldn't take my daughter in at all -- I just enjoyed it during her nap times. We could only take her into the common pool, which was up to my shoulder level. Both restaurants at the hotel were fantastic - loved both breakfasts and dinners. Swept Away restaurant was beautiful. Take advantage of the rice paddy bike ride -- very pretty. I can't recommend this resort highly enough -- we just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We opted for Samaya Ubud for our honeymoon and boy we surely enjoyed it!.We stayed here for ThreeNights and wished it was longer. Villas were very private. Our butler was really friendly (well all their staffs were friendly). The food at the Scene and Swept away was really nice & tasty. They even went tot he extend of personalising our menu as we were vegetarians! (How cool is that!). We are definately coming back here for our 1st Anniversary :D

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

From the moment we entered our hillside villa we knew we were in for a treat. The room was spacious and well appointed including a Bose sound dock. The bathroom was enormous and filled with luxurious products. Our pool and gazebo area was very private whilst still affording great views across the rice fields and mountains. it was the perfect place to relax, unwind and recharge. Great for couples who want to get away from it all.

The food was outstanding; a degustation experience at Swept Away is a must. The location of the restaurant by the riverside makes it a beautiful place to dine. A sumptuous breakfast was served each morning at our Villa and this was more than enough until our complimentary afternoon tea arrived each day.

The Samaya offers complimentary transport into Ubud whenever wanted, but the villas and surrounds were so nice we only bothered to venture out once in four days. The treatments at the spa were first class!

All of the staff were friendly, nothing was too much to ask and everything was carried out with a smile. We were treated like royalty and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: It wouldn't matter which villa you stayed in at the Samaya - they all offer either views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janrobperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights in March 2012 and wished it could have been longer. The hotel villas are very private, well appointed and clean. The views at breakfast in the Scene restaurant are truly spectacular with the terraced rice fields in the foreground giving way to
the palm trees and mountains in the distance. The food, both in Scene and Swept Away,
was excellent, just as the service was throughout the stay. We certainly will return and we look forward to sampling the Samaya at Seminyak on the coast. Although the hotel is a little out of Ubud, the shuttle service is excellent and very personal, indeed everyone at the hotel could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgwarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
5.0 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
6.4 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.2 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.8 km away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
6.0 km away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,225 - ₹ 55,832
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing