We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #392 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is truly an amazing find in Ubud. If you are looking to get away from the hectic atmosphere of Central Ubud, but still have it within walking distance (5-10mins) for restaurants, Ubud Market shopping etc, then this is the perfect place. Very serene and relaxing with a beautiful flower garden surrounding you. You wake up to the sounds of roosters crowing, an amazing sunrise amongst the rice paddies, and a delicious breakfast prepared by the owners- be sure to try the banana crepes and nasi goreng. One caveat to the birds chirping (which I loved) is that this also means an early wake up if you do not have ear plugs. The birds are quite noisy, but I appreciated the natural alarm clock as it guaranteed that I was up each morning to catch the sunrise. This is really a special place. I had planned on staying for only one night, but fell in love with the location and cancelled my reservation for the Laguna Resort in Nusa Dua changed my plans and booked an additional two days at Sawah Sunrise. The staff is extremely friendly and the husband and wife team are just adorable and wonderful to chat with.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
50
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and agree with the previous reviews that this is the place to live at if you want to avoid the little city's hustle and bustle, and if you can get by without wifi. Although cars and taxis cannot access this B&B, it is still possible (though a challenge) to ride a motorbike in and out as we have seen the locals do. Freelance taxi drivers are otherwise on stand by outside Abangan Bungalows if you need porter help or scooter transport in and out for a small fee. However, the 15 min walk wasn't so bad even in the night (and rain!) but just remember to bring a torch out with you and be prepared to get your shoes/feet wet if caught in the rain. We checked out Sari Organik and loved it! Cantika spa was okay, not fantastic for us but still a convenient stop when you live here. Love the vibe here from the staff and pets! We would have loved to stay here longer!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meliacholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth. West Aust
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Have just returned from our 3rd trip to Ubud and Sawah Sunrise in 2 yrs. We would not think of staying anywhere else. Its peaceful and away from the busy main area. The noises of nature make it more enjoyable.We enjoy the walk as you see so much going on around the area. Also see the many frogs and at night the fireflies.
We missed Mary and Wayan's company as they are away but Suma, Nyoman & Koman are fantastic. Always ready with advice and help - and hot water for a cuppa. Rooms are kept spotless, gardens neat and tidy and breakfast always delicious. we consider them our friends and miss them heaps.Having Mary's dog Uma and 2 cats around also help to make us feel like we are at home not in a hotel.
New power poles are being installed to accommodate all the new buildings that are going up behind Sawah so hopefully they will be able to get WiFi in the future.
No hesitation in recommending again. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katonsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I just spent 3 great nights at Sawah Sunrise. It was idyllic set amid the rice paddies, on the path out to Sari Organic restaurant (which is wonderful). Mary and staff were all really friendly. This is a great place to simply kick-back and chill. Breakfasts are delish (I am now addicted to banana pancakes) and the sound of nature at night is a beautiful backdrop for sleep.
If you like to be in the middle of it all this is probably not the place for you (although only a 15 minute walk from the centre), there is no TV and no wifi... but if you want to relax, read a book, and take it slow (as I did) then I 100% recommend Sawah Sunrise.

Room Tip: If you get an upstairs room you can leave your windows wide open and catch the night-time breeze com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filmchick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed one night here because sadly it's all that was free. They have 4 rooms and seemed to be quite busy even in the low season so get in quick - it's worth it! The rate was really cheap and the room was great - comfortable clean and lovely views of the rice fields. The management were really responsive to emails and the staff were very friendly too. Its close to Sari Organik too which is a plus in my book. I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The fan in my room (room 4) wasnt enough to keep me comfortable but staff quickly assisted with a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilc168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 km away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#176 of 198 in Ubud
134 reviews
2.0 km away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
2.3 km away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 198 in Ubud
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#155 of 198 in Ubud
105 reviews
1.4 km away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#105 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
3.0 km away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 198 in Ubud
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jalan Subak Sok Wayah, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,038 - ₹ 6,271
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful home located in central Ubud village. Our tranquil garden accommodation, set amid centuries-old cultivated rice fields, is off the beaten path yet still an easy 10 minute walk from all Ubud attractions: restaurants, museums, temples, spas, the traditional market and royal palace. Each of our 4 guest rooms offers stunning views, en-suite bath with hot water, and private balcony for relaxing to the sights and sounds of Balinese farming life.Sawah Sunrise is a "secret garden" in Ubud's tourist center, with all amenities and luxuries within reach. Our Balinese host family will welcome you and assist with all of your holiday needs: tours, rentals, transportation and special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawah Sunrise Hotel Ubud
Sawah Sunrise Bed And Breakfast
Sawah Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing