We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“River villas rule” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purist Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Purist Villas and Spa
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“River villas rule”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just spent 6 days as a family in this magnificent Villa resort just out of Ubud (5 mins by friendly taxi). The two villas share common living area and access to the main pool so are ideal for mum dad and two kids. Decor is stunning and service is spot on.
Dinner in the gazebo was special and the pool area has a beautiful outlook. Only 7 villas so quiet and private and plenty of attention from the wonderful staff.
We let the front desk organize our tours and day trips and they were all good.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iandes198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    57
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
306
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We need a quiet villa in Ubud to stay.We chose Purist cause it is a small hotel with only 7 villas.We stayed in Villa River1,which has a large open area with local decoration.We like it so much.You can have breakfast ,dinner,reading book,anything in this area with a jungle view front & a small river behind.We don't have a private pool,but the main pool is just steps aside.We only saw people there once.The breakfast is amazing.You can anything on the menu,and the butler will deliver them next morning,sweet.We also use the hotel driver to the downtown,the driver was so kind and will give you great suggestion.We will try other villas next time.

Room Tip: River villa 1 is great.A large open area and the main pool just aside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yabadabado98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We just spent 2 nights at The purist and we were sad when we left because we wanted to stay much longer. We stayed in the jungle villa. It really felt like we were in a jungle because of all the green around the house and the sounds of frogs, grashoppers, birds etc.. in the evening. The food was almost all organic and healthy and so good tasting. Everything was great about this place. We're definitily coming back to The Purist when we go back to Ubud again sometime.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days here at the stunning Purist Spa. Wonderful views, friendly staff, gorgeous food, and a great location. The Purist is beautifully decorated, and is laid out in such a way that you often feel like the only guest there. There are many great places to stay in Bali, but the Purist has the attention to detail. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Timor Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just had a wonderful 4 night stay at The Purist and thoroughly enjoyed everything. We stayed in the Garden Villa which was just magic - beautifully decorated, very romantic with a stunning pool. The staff could not have done any more for us - always obliging with that wonderful Balinese smile and happy to share a joke. The food was first rate - an excellent selection and different every day - would even make something that was not on the menu. The villas are all very private with beautiful landscape design features around every corner and having only 7 villas makes it very intimate and special. Would absolutely recommend The Purist to everybody! Thankyou for a wonderful holiday in Ubud.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude3106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.3 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.5 km away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#11 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
2.4 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#1 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
4.2 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.0 km away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#22 of 186 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purist Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purist Villas and Spa

Property: The Purist Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar | Banjar Kutuh Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,505 - ₹ 21,281
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Purist Villas and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Purist Villas and Spa, a PURE HAVEN of relaxation near the heart of Bali’s spiritual and artistic homeland. The Purist Villas & Spa is a hip designer’s hideaway nestled just behind a rustic Balinese village, where you can still see all aspects of traditional rural life, including daily offerings, traditional dances and music. Comprised of seventeen uniquely styled and tastefully appointed villas, this enchanting property at The Purist offers privacy, design-led luxury and a deep sense of tranquility set in breathtaking, natural surroundings. Manifesting a true feeling of the Magical Island Of The Gods. Each villa is an oasis of calm, created using natural materials and all have living spaces which open directly to the outdoors, overlooking the lush tropical Jungle. HOMAGE TO THE INDONESIAN ARCHIPELAGO The JOG-LO house, The LIMASAN Residence and The TIMOR Residence, are a combination of three villas reflecting an ancient Indonesian architecture, fully renovated and modernized with high-grade facilities. All beautifully reassembled with modern convenience in mind, they are all ideally suited to accommodate extended families or groups of friends, and perfect for special events like weddings. The Purist Villas & Spa embody the ancient Hindu beliefs of balance, harmony and purity of spirit; to this, we add a deep respect for the natural environment. Yvonne Hulst and Alberto Cortes have worked closely with architect Joost van Grieken to create a truly spectacular experience, a tasteful, beautiful resort designed in harmony with its landscape - the fragrant, lush hills of Bali’s magical Ubud region. We use an eclectic palette of materials, including recycled wood, authentic Indonesian artifacts, natural lava and lime stone and green river stones. Our wish is to connect our guests with Bali’s many spiritual and artistic traditions. That’s why we’ve furnished The Purist with only the most beautiful and authentic artifacts which we’ve slowly accumulated on our travels among the various Indonesian islands. In the peaceful Purist environment, we honor the slow food philosophy – it comes to you freshly organic, fair and delicious in harmony with the environment and seasons. That said, we cater to all dietary requirements and understand that culinary pleasure is an essential part of your stay. For that reason in particular, we select our chefs from among Bali’s finest and offer both Indonesian and International dining options. Complete with a unique Asian flare, traditional Balinese spices mixed with international delicacies. The Purist Spa offers a range of blissful Ayurvedic treatments and Sensatia products; Ayurveda is the ancient Indian philosophy of healing and well~being, focusing on re-balancing energy. With training that includes meditation and yoga, our therapists are deeply attuned to the practice of working with energy, and have mastered the art of mindful touch. The term ‘thank you’ in 'Bahasa Indonesia' implies both ‘giving’ and ‘receiving’ – our therapists are skilled at giving all they have, while inviting you to take all you need. You simply say ‘Terima Kasih’ – thank you. Still the mind and become fully present to the beauty around you by taking a yoga session or two. Our yoga teachers have trained abroad in some of the world’s finest yoga schools and can be booked for private sessions, in small intimate groups of four. You’ll find yoga mats in your room, simply let us know what style of yoga you prefer – if you have a preference - and we will ensure to bring the right teacher to your door. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on the traffic situation. With The Purist, Yvonne and Alberto succeeded in creating yet another home away from home, which has become their trademark signature. The Purist offers only seven private villas, making it the smallest boutique hotel in Bali. In this way, we can meet any of your personal and specific needs. The Purist: sophisticated hospitality stripped to the essence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Purist Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purist Villas Hotel Ubud
The Purist Villas And Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing