We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Get Away - Utopia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #13 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Romantic Get Away - Utopia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

After years of the hussle and bussle of life, my partner and I needed a break...just the two of us, no phone, email, sametime, facebook, skype, just us and we wanted a place that could transport us to to piece and relaxation....

Komaneka delivered in spades...this place is heaven on earth. We got picked up at the airport by the hotel, which was really good, as the driveway to the hotel is a scary ride, and somtimes you feel like you have been highjacked, but have perseverence you will get there.

When you arrive at the resort you are met by the most happy, suppportive and friendly staff, in a reception that opens up into the beautiful rice fields and forest beyond.

The rooms are spacious and luxurious, with really well thought out finishes, right down to apple tv with a wide selection of movies for FREE (which is really nice compared to modern so called 5 star hotels).

Recommed going for a private cabin if you can afford it, they are amazing, or a suite in the higher levels in the main hotel, these are equally well appointed.

There is a good selection of breakfasts, with beautiful local fresh fruits and juices and local breakfast specials. The restaurant is really good also, with lots of options just a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Must Do is "Mozaic" - The only mitchelen star restaurant on the island,this is more in line with western prices, but the quality of the food and extravegance is one I will always remember, my recommedation ...go all out with the special digger station...amazing.

Tours: Monkey forest is a stones through away, and shuttles from hotel are free, we also organised a two day tours of temples and metal, wood carvings, etc which are really worth doing. We hired a car at the hotel and choose our own key points of interest from the hotels tour book. You can hire a private car for cheaper price, but for piece of mind in relation to insurance should anything happen, was our reason for going with the hotel car.

It is a two hour drive from Ubud to the more party area of Seminyake, but you can agree a price with a car at the hotel, to drive you there and collect you,

Spa - this place is amazing, the whole look and feel epitamises relaxation and everything you associate with Bali, very freindly, clean and professional.

The pool area speaks for itself, very relaxing and beautiful, not alot of children there, definitely a more adult type resort.

For a special romatic night.....Try the Honymoon Dinner at Komineka.....as a supprise for your loved one....you both will never forget it,

So I guess all I can finish by saying Amazing Staff, Service, Location and Food.....UTOPIA,

Room Tip: Go for private villa if possible, if not go for suite on a high level so you can take in the full vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    155
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
396
1,025
65
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Komaneka at Bisma is beautiful and deserve all the praises made by previous comments. But what make it really stand out are the staff and services. To say "they have exceptional service" is simply an understatement.

We experienced one incident that was very dramatic and almost like a movie plot. On the final day when we checked out, a group of tourists (4 large families) had just checked out and were waiting for their car in the lobby. The staff therefore took us aside to a quieter corner to do the paper work while keeping our luggage for us. The big tourist group left shortly after, and 15 min later, our driver arrived to take us to the airport. It was at that time that we realized that the big tour group had taken one of our trunks with them! One of the front desk staff, Kusuma, immediately decided that he would ride a motorcycle to chase the group since he could remember the license plate number and since there was only one way to the airport. As we headed to the airport in our car, he rode the motorcycle at faster speed ahead of us, at the same time the ladies at the front desk were trying to chase down the tour group's driver and his phone number. The drive by car to the airport usually takes 1.5 hr without traffic. 20 minutes later, Kusuma called our driver and met us by the roadside. The front desk was able to contact the tour group's driver. It turned out that the big group did not go to the airport. Their flight would not leave until 8 hours later. Therefore they were heading to the rice paddie on the opposite direction from the airport. Kusuma wrote down our hotel information in Bangkok and told us that he would go to fetch our luggage at the rice paddie and try to deliver to the airport. If he could not make it, he will for sure send the luggage directly to our Bangkok hotel by whatever means possible. As we continued on to the airport, our driver told us that there was no way for a car to make it (as the traffic around Ubud is notoriously bad). The only possible way to go from the rice paddie to airport in 1 hr is by motorcycle at a high speed, and that was to assume that he could locate the big group immediately and retrieve the luggage. But then the luggage was too big to be carried on a motorcycle--sounds like a mission impossible! At the airport, we explained the situation to Thai Airway people, and they promised us to be on the lookout for it. We waited and waited for the phone call, but it never came. 30 minutes before taking off, as we arrived at the boarding gate, a group of Thai Airway people and the airport security guard were waiting for us and right there, miraculously, was our luggage! They said that the Komaneka hotel man (Kusuma, we think) had just arrived with the luggage by motorcycle, and the airline and security people immediately delivered it to the gate just in time for our departure. Needless to say, we were completely speechless--just imaging how Kusuma accomplished a round-the-island chase for our luggage and delivered it to the airport against all odds! That is not all. The next morning, he called us at our hotel in Bangkok to make sure that we had received the luggage. The phrase "exceptional service" really cannot adequately describe what Kusuma and his colleagues did for us.

Aside from the dramatic episode, we really had a wonderful time in Komaneka and Bali. World-class spa, beautifully and tastefully designed ground, friendly staff in the restaurant and the ever-available staff who drove us around town all contributed to the best vacation. As my daughter, who has been to over 10 countries in the world, summarized: This is the best place I have been to and it is really sad to leave. We will surely come back. Thank you, Kusuma and everyone at Komaneka at Bisma!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

You could not ask for a better place to spend your hard earned money. I travel a lot and I don't believe I have ever been treated so personable anywhere. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel like I was royalty. The room was emaculate, the food on a scale from 1 to 10 was a 20, the whole experience will never be forgotten. I am telling everyone I know who are planning a vacation to go to the Komaneka Bisma. I visited another Komaneka not too far from where I was staying, and the staff was very polite, but I did notice a difference in the level of attention to the guest. The staff made me feel like I was on Fantasy Island because no matter what I requested someone made it happen. It was as if I was dreaming. My fiance couldn't stop raving about the spa. She booked a spa session every day of our trip. We walked the grounds and everything was orderly and clean. Impressive beyond words. I missed these guys as soon as started packing to leave. I can't wait to see them again real soon.

Room Tip: The view from the 2nd floor is breathtaking and overlooks the infinity pool and rice paddies. Very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at komaneka at bisma. Our pool villa had the most amazing views, the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, it was a lovely relaxing stay. you can hear the sound of running water from all over the hotel from the river below. We will definetly be going back to komaneka.

Room Tip: Pool villa was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_nicAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

After much research, my husband & I actually booked reservations at Komaneka at Tanggayuda for our anniversary. That location was beautiful and we were well received by both the hotel manager and our personal "butler". However, the manager at the Tanggayuda location informed us that there was construction going on next door, and if we wanted to move to their Bisma location instead, they would honor that request. Since we were looking forward to just relaxing at the hotel (not sightseeing during these few days), we went to check out the Bisma location - and immediately fell in love with the place. As guilty as we felt for leaving our new "friendly staff friends", the Bisma location was slightly larger and offered more "lounging" opportunities.

During our stay, we were treated like royalty! VERY friendly service (and we come from Hawaii, where customer service is supposed to be top-notch) with a staff who went out of their way to accommodate any of our requests. Let them know if you're there for a special occasion. Because it was our anniversary, they made us a special cake for breakfast and gave us good-bye gifts as well!

This location was larger than Tanggayuda, so no personal butler...hehe. But beautiful view from our lanai and the entire grounds of the hotel were gorgeous and well kept. They offer a shuttle service among the different Komaneka locations and the Neka Art Museum (which you can get into for free if you're a Komaneka guest). The food is wonderful - breakfast and tea time are included. And "tea time" can be taken at any of the 4 locations. There are 2 pools, a few bars and spa at the hotel so you really don't need to go anywhere! Overall, fantastic service and we will ALWAYS visit a Komaneka hotel during our future Bali trips!

Room Tip: No bad rooms here. All have amazing views - even the suites (vs. the villas).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LehiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.1 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
4.8 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.1 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
2.2 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,027 - ₹ 74,855
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing