We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ubud”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #12 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ubud”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We splurged for a family villa and really enjoyed our 3 nights at the Bisma. The staff was very welcoming and the view from the villa amazing considering how close you are to the shops and restaurants. We especially liked that we could take a short walk to the Monkey Forest and took advantage of the shuttle a few times. The restaurant is nice but not as stellar as the villas and there are so many places to eat in Ubud. The one thing to consider is that there is so much to do in Ubud that you don't spend as much time enjoying the room as you might like so if the price is too high, it may not be worth it. But if price is not an issue, you won't be disappointed in the accommodations. The apple TV full of movies was huge hit for our kids as they could pick from a nice selection down in there own room.

Room Tip: I didn't see the regular lodge rooms but the villas are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    158
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
399
1,047
66
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel delivers all that you can expect from one in this price range. Just read all other reviews to get a sense of why the staff can say "welcome home" and really mean it. Great views overlooking ricefields, a big infinity pool, free afternoon tea and a huge big room (we stayed in the suite). But still I think they can do a bit better for steep price they ask. The view is nice, but overlooking small ricefields that are owned and farmed by the hotel itself feels a bit too artificial to me. Ubud still has some great authentic parts outside the commercialized heart of the city which is really what this hotel tries to deliver, but it falls short. Breakfast was adequate but really not more than that. In a place like this I would expect the hotel to exceed my expectations. The coffee at breakfast is unfortunately also not something to write home about.
Overall, these things are minor and we had a fantastic stay, but there is always room for improvement, even in a place like this

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olafdapolaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We arrived very late due to the international flight. They were waiting with our room ready and some freshly squeezed juice. The accommodations were impeccable. There was a rose petal heart waiting for us on our bed and a celebratory cake in the room as well. The balcony overlooks the back of the resort where there are rice paddies and the pool. Picturesque!

Despite the fact that you were in the heart of the city, it felt as though the resort was in the rain forest. Close to everything with shuttles running into the heart of Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have just returned from 4 days away with my 4 girlfriends staying at Komaneka Bisma. We chose the Hotel as it was highly recommended on websites and by our travel agent. As a group of 5 ladies, we booked 2 rooms with an adjoining door on the balcony. We were quite a noisy bunch and noticed that the Hotel was very quiet and serene, so we hope we did not disturb the many honeymooners that were there. Not many children to be seen either, so we were glad we left our 6 rowdy kids at home in Australia as they would have caused quite a disturbance. We asked for and were allocated rooms on Level 4 which were terrific especially for the great views and Level 4 is the same level as reception which makes access excellent. We all loved the views and the atmosphere of the Hotel. We loved the cookie jars everywhere including in the hotel cars and also the yummy toffee scrolls that filled large jars at reception. They did cater particularly well for one of our group who was fondly known as "GF"...gluten free food only. They made sure that the afternoon tea and breakfast had GF options for our friend. The location is great, Bisma St is full of activity and you can walk into town, although we often got the hotel shuttle in and out of town, which was only 5 minutes away. Walking home at night to the Hotel was a little treacherous. There were 5 of us, but it is very dark in parts with a few howling dogs around. The Hotel rooms were really spacious and had beautiful bathrooms, plenty of space for 3 of us who shared a room. Bottles of free water were everywhere so we did not have to buy any. The only issue we found was that Hotel staff at reception were not very forthcoming with information on Ubud. We asked about a Painters Village which we had read about and staff seemed to have no idea (just kept saying go into town), nor did they know about how to get us into the #1 recommended restaurant in Ubud, the Melting Wok Warung, so we missed going there. We did end up finding it in town, but with only 8 tables we missed out. We ended up meeting and then booking a lovely local driver Sandi who gave us the real info and took us out of town on a day trip. He took us to buy a variety of art, see the local Painters Co-op, took us to Celuk to buy jewellery and then to eat the famous suckling pig, but not at the terribly busy one in central Ubud. He knew all the tricks...it was like a holiday romance for 5 of us, so finding a good local driver that you can book each day to do all your driving was the key. Sandi even took one of the ladies who is a keen photographer all around to sites to take photos of people, villages, the cemetary, rice fields, the local famous coffee plantation to recreate the Julia Roberts experience...nothing was too much for Sandi. He also showed us the best streets to shop which again the Hotel Reception staff did not really advise us where to go. There are 2 particularly nice streets with more stylish and upmarket cafes, clothes, jewellery, art etc Dewi Sita is one of them. We wish we had discovered these streets sooner in our trip, not at the end. What we loved also was a meal at Mozaic. Oh my god, we loved the food so much, it was well worth the money. We picked the Balinese degustation menu and the wine matching option. If we had more time we would have returned to do the Chef's Cooking School. The meal is had sitting in the most amazing garden setting with lights hanging over candle lit tables. Again we were very noisy!! The other hidden surprise for us was the Komaneka Bisma Hotel Spa...we nearly missed this one. At the end of the stay we decided to give it a try as we had not looked at the spa when we arrived. We all booked in for 2 hr treatments (5 of us at once) and when we got into the rooms, we were all gobsmacked. They were the most divine spa rooms any of us had ever been in. Lying in the spa rooms, you look across to the wild jungle but you relax hearing the sound of the amazing river that runs beneath the rooms. We wish the hotel promoted the spa more, as it was truly a luxurious but affordable experience. we snuck back the next day to take photos as it wa so divine! The spa staff were so lovely and discreet as we had our treatments followed by a soak in each of our own bubbling bathtubs covered in rose petals and eating fresh fruit kebabs. If only we had known how nice this sap was, we would have gone more than once. The jogging track is well worth a look too even for a walk, it is beautiful. We even got the staff to take us on a ride around the track on one of the golf buggies.

Room Tip: Level 4 for the views, but if you can afford it, book a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here 13th to 17th June. If this was my first stay in Ubud or Bali, I would probably have given it a higher rating. However, after visiting Bali and Ubud numerous times through the years and staying in different villas and hotels, my expectations tend to be higher here as the service quality is already much higher in Bali compared to the rest of the world.

First, the negatives:

We booked 2 single bedroom villas, one for my family of 4 and another for a friend's family of 3. My family stayed 4 nights while my friend's family stayed 3 nights. Komaneka offers a free pick-up from the airport but not a free service back to the airport. Not even when we offered to go in a bigger vehicle together instead of 2 vehicles.

The location of the hotel borders on a fine balance of just right for privacy to any further from the main road and it would be an inconvenient walk especially for kids. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main road and another 5 minutes to Ubud Centre. That walk will appear longer when the weather is hot and humid and you end up drenched in sweat or at night when it is dark as there are no street lamps or residual light spilling from other establishments closer to the hotel. The stray dogs, though they are harmless, can be unsettling to kids when they bark.

They offer free shuttle and pick-up service to Ubud Centre and the surrounding areas. These shuttles run on schedule on the hour. So if you just missed one, you will need to walk out or wait an hour for the next. They will accommodate your request if they have available cars but you will have to ask. They do not offer this service automatically. I could sense reluctance when they acceded to the one-time I made this request.

I was greeted with a nice cool room in the villa with the airconditioning working exceptionally well...or so I thought. It got very cold in the middle of the night even when I turned the temperature on the remote up. We realised in the morning that the aircon had iced up when the maintenance guys came over. This happened twice in the 4 nights we were there.

An extra bed in the villa costs US$55 per night, pricey considering we paid close to US$600 per night. The water in the pool in the villa is usually cold as it does not get much sunlight compared to the main pool.

Now the positives:

The Villa is indeed very beautiful and the layout well-planned and thought through. Amenities are just where they should be. The room is very well maintained and the attention to detail is amazing. They even provide sleepwear and they must have "sized" you up because all of us had sleepwear to our sizes, including my 12 year-old son. No shortage of drinking water daily.

To fully appreciate Komaneka Bisma and the natural beauty that surrounds it, you need to walk pass all the villas, down to the chapel, and through the trail by the river up back to the spa area. The view is stunning.

Mozzies are real pests in some places in Ubud, but here through regular foggings, we were not bothered much.

Although I feel that they could improve in their shuttle services, I must say that they are usually very accommodating when it comes to pick-ups from restaurants at night after dinner. Just call them and they will come get you. But you need to be a bit patient.

Their wood-fired pizzas that they make from scratch is also very good by the poolside.

The best accolade goes out to their restaurant staff. They are all very nice and make you feel welcome every time you meet them, whether it is at the restaurant, tea by the spa area, or in-villa breakfasts if you choose. The service by this group is impeccable. A special mention goes out to Nersi, who just knows what you need before you even ask. Such a warm and wonderful person.

In a nutshell, if you prioritise cleanliness, a quiet place to kick back, Komaneka Bisma is great. If you want better service and value, and convenience is key, there are better places at cheaper prices I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K_Khong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.1 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
4.8 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.1 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,864 reviews
0.1 km away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,630 - ₹ 78,682
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing