We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, beautiful property and the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sanur, Denpasar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Cassandra...
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, beautiful property and the right price...”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My fiancé and I traveled to Bali this past summer with another couple. We loved the idea of staying in a rental property for the privacy and freedom (our own kitchen, pool, etc). But we wanted to have the option of being close to the beach and within walking distance to the nightlife. Villa Serena was exactly what we were looking for.

Every morning we would wake up, make breakfast (Kadek, the housekeeper always offered to do it for us….but I love cooking so I never minded), pour some drinks and wander down to the beach. It was a 5 minute walk away from the Villa. The boardwalk, tons of bars and restaurants, beach-side massage huts, shops, and a million beach activities were a few minutes' walk from the Villa. The central location of the property would have been enough to give it 5 stars, but there was so much more about it that made it fantastic.

The housekeeper Kadek is amazing. She truly made our stay easy. There were so many little things that she handled that made our vacation great. We provided her with grocery lists every other day or so and she would stock up our fridge for us, she took care of our dishes, did our laundry EXACTLY how we requested (I wear a lot of workout clothing that must be gently washed and hang dried and she never shrank my stuff), made our beds, did our dishes, cleaned up the bathrooms, offered to have massage therapists come to the villa for us and always had great travel advise and tips for touring around the island. Most importantly she provided us with two services that probably saved us from getting seriously ripped off - she went to the money changer for us (apparently the local money exchange places will rip off tourists and not give them the fair exchange) and she also arranged our transportation (many of the local drivers are illegal and almost all of the 'legal' taxis avoid turning on the meters and quoting you for a price higher than what it should be). So trusting her with our money was a huge relief.

This villa has three private suites - each with their own large bedroom with king or queen sized beds and a large, beautiful bathroom, walk in closet area, in-room safe and outdoor garden shower (there is also an indoor shower and tub, but the weather was so gorgeous that I showered outside every morning - it felt amazing). The A/C works fantastic in the bedrooms. I need to have a cold, dark room to sleep comfortably and these bedrooms were great. No sleeping problems at all. The center of the villa has the great room - with a living room and kitchen. This area is all open air. So there is no A/C in that space, but you really don't need it. The breeze is beautiful and they spray for bugs so there aren't any mosquitoes in the house. We saw a few ants in the kitchen sometimes but what can you expect in an open-air layout? At night sometimes fruit bats will fly around the yard and dart in and out of the living room, but they never bother you. The ceilings are really high so they fly up there and then dart back out.

Dave, the owner was a pleasure to work with. I had serious reservations about sending a stranger across the world a ton of money, and he worked with us so that we felt comfortable with the exchange. He was very responsive to all of our email queries and came through on all of this guarantees and promises. Kadek was even kind enough to mail my fiancé's flip flops and jeans to us after we went (he left them in the room by accident).

The pool and garden area is gorgeous. There was a groundskeeper that came and cleaned up the pool and lawn. We relaxed in the pool every night and it was a perfect way to end our days.

The property is very secure. There is a security guard on duty 24 hours a day and they question everyone that comes to the gate. We have our engagement photos taken while we were there and they even stopped our photographer from entering! The power on the entire island went out one evening and the generator at the Villa kicked on and worked great. It ran out of fuel but as my fiancé was changing it, the power popped back on…so no big deal. The rest of the island was operating by candlelight but our A/C was humming perfectly.

Overall there was nothing I would change about our stay at Villa Serena. We're already planning a trip back to Sanur and will absolutely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly067
Hamilton New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED EVERY MOMENT”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this villa. The first time it was managed by a local company. It is now managed and renamed Serena by its Australia owner, Dave who goes out of his way to make sure you are going to have an enjoyable time. It is really a hasslefree holiday from the moment you leave the airport in your prearranged taxi and arrive at the villa to be welcomed by your personal hostess/housekeeper, Kadek.
Serena is in a very private gated lane with 24 hour security and all mod. cons, a sparkling swimming pool and attractive gardens. It is also only a block from the beach.
Kadek is the " Icing on the cake " !! She arrives each morning with a big smile and goes about making the beds, washing and ironing and keeping the villa spotless. Kadek speaks very good English, has extensive local knowledge and knows how much a taxi costs, where to change money and what are the best restaurants etc.
We love the privacy and the pampering and certainly will return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikky T
Wyee NSW Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So magical it entices us back each year!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Serena Villa is the only property myself and my adult children will ever stay in Bali. Situated away from the hordes of tourists in the Kuta/Seminyak area but only 20 minutes by cheap cab if you wish to go there to shop. Sanur has a huge array of eateries and bars and a very relaxed atmosphere. This beautiful villa is serviced on a daily basis by the wonderful Kadek - a hostess/housekeeper extraordinaire! Nothing is a problem for her, she is discreet and more than obliging with anything you require and is also a great guide and historian on Balinese history and culture. The villa itself is spacious with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, beautiful pool which is all yours, BBQ and comfortable open plan living area. We are heading back in October for our 6th visit and could not recommend a better base. Make sure you book at least 10 days because you won't want to come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the relaxed atmosphere and open plan living
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
437Marie
Perth, Australia
1 review
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From the moment I decided to book a holiday with my 3 good friends, as you know its not easy pleasing all, but Dave the owner made our decision easy.He answered all our queries swiftly and satisfied all our questions.
Villa Serena is what we like to call our home away from home, the lovely Kadek looks after the villa and you, so much so you feel very spoilt.Kadek greets you in the morning with a lovely smile a fresh made cappuccino and will make your breakfast for you if you so desire.While we are out doing the important holiday things (massages shopping etc)Kadek does our laundry, our rooms, shops for essentials.How to make four women very happy.
The villa itself is very clean, the pool is very well maintained and in the sun(some villas I have stayed in the pool is always in shade ).Lovely big bathrooms with indoor and outdoor showers.The air conditioner was perfect and ran very well all time, fresh pool towels were always available .
The location was fantastic, just 2 secs and you on the main drag of Sanur(if you can call it that still lovely and quite).Walking distance to fantastic restaurants, a new one called Fire Station, you have to book(Kadek) will do this to.
You can walk to the beach if you want to or a short taxi ride takes you to Sindu beach, with great restaurants, markets, and spa's and veiw.
I have stayed in many Villas in Bali and this ticks all the boxes.
Kadek you are a joy, Villa Serena you are a joy.I will return it was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and Kadek
Liked least: the lounge cushions to hard but one suggestion to the owner now fixed, good service eh!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June E
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous villa & a wonderful destination”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful holiday villa; beautifully presented; fabulous pool, very comfortable open plan kitchen/living area and 3 very private ensuite bedrooms. As 1st time Bali tourists we were a bit unsure what to expect but we couldn’t have chosen better. The gated villa was first class as was the daily maid service, a sweet lady who discretely washed and cleaned, spoke good English and was a mine of information regarding local amenities. The beach, shops, cafes, fabulous restaurants and top class hotels were all within walking distance. Sanur is a really good holiday destination, we felt safe, we loved the local people and there was plenty to do. This turned out to be one of the most relaxing and fun holidays we have ever had. We will definitely be returning to Bali and to Villa Serena!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully clean, spacious and in a great location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing