We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Felt like home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here for a very relaxing, very affordable 4 nights. The places is mainly frequented by Dutch 50 somethings who must all be in the same bridge club or something. This makes the place a pleasant and quiet change from all the other places in Bali that are infested with Bintang-Beater clad Australians. Sanur in general is a LOT more laid back than Kuta for instance. Don't go there expecting any decent surf though, as the break is behind a reef. There is kitesurfing, but the wind was poor while we were there. This meant that we spent almost everyday lounging and drinking by the pool, getting poolside service or in the spacious airconditioned rooms. We also got a couple of massages at the unprofessional but affordable on site spa. The breakfasts are good and they have REAL bacon. Nice and close to the beach but still very private. The staff were amazing and we were almost sad to leave at the end of it all. Top spot. Would recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suitophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    148
    54
    17
    4
See reviews for
55
124
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed here twice and would do so again. We have stayed ina normal room and in a garden room which I would prefer next time. This place is close to the beach and markets, friendly staff, comfortable, airconditioned, has a pool, good breakfasts and clean. Plus it is very reasonably priced. We have been very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday-hopeful2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at Puri Kelapa for one night in Sanur. We were given a garden cottage which was nice and spacious, but do not stay in a cottage if you are scared of insects and you will certainly have an encounter with some or hear the outside. The whole cottage is in traditional balinese style woven leaves so walls are ceiling quite thin and you can hear all sorts of noises outside.

The hotel staff are extrememly friendly and provide you with a welcome drink on arrival and transport bags to your room.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful with the paths to the rooms winding through lovely gardens and then sign posts were painted rocks. We also noticed that some people had planted their own trees and plants with plaques which was nice.

The location was really good - very close to the beach (5 minute walk) and close to the town in the other direction. We also booked a fishing trip from a tour operator called Ano who works just outside the hotel. WE ate dinner on the beach and they have hundreds of lovely restaurants selling pretty much everything but I would recommend the sea food selection.

Breakfast was included in the price too which was really nice, and free wifi too. Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StagJesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I booked one of the upper rooms in one of the six room two storey buildings and not a cottage. The room had wifi with limited signal, a large bed, a good sized sundeck over looking the pool and good sized bathroom.

The level of cleanliness overall was good, but the bathroom could have been cleaner. There was a nice pool where towels were provided and a free breakfast in the restaurant each morning.

Overall the value of the hotel was quite good given the low price I paid and the services that were included. The staff was generally very helpful and friendly.

Of all the guests at the hotel I was the only one who wasn't German. They could be a bit obnoxious, but I only spent a couple of afternoons by the pool and I just put the Ipod on and ignored them.

Sanur turned out to be a quiet place where I could use as a base to explore other parts of the island such as Ubud on the scooter I rented for the week.

If you are on a budget, this is a reasonably good option.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSReynoldsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

After a lukewarm reception upon arrival, I discovered that puri kelapa is more a case of a jungle with a few huts than a hotel. I found this to be a quite refreshing concept, and I must say my stay was on the whole enjoyable.

The choice of breakfast is After a lukewarm reception upon arrival, I discovered that puri kelapa is more a case of a jungle with a few huts than a hotel. I found this to be a quite refreshing concept, and I must say my stay was on the whole enjoyable.

The choice of breakfast is quite limited, bit I towels you going for two weeks. The staff take a little time to warm up to you, but when they do, life gets a lot easier. I have a feeling the next time I turn up, they will react much more positively towards me.

As for the accommodation, my room was rather nice, basic but on the whole clean and tidy. The bathroom was grimy enough to put off the more selective traveller, but being the more hardy type, I didn't mind this too much, and it wasn't as dirty as it looked. One guest told me you have to slip the staff a few thousand rupiyah, and your bathroom looks good as new. The room service is impressive, with fresh water bottles every day, as well as sheets. 

The location is pretty good. It's a quiet corner in the north of sanur, with access to both the beach and the main drag. Sanur is a quiet place, with more tourists over the fifty mark than under it, the predominant nationalities seeming  to be a mix of Dutch and Australians. This gives it a more relaxed atmosphere than Kuta. 

A few tips: 
1. Don't promise anything you can't keep, the Balinese will hold you to it. They are a very special social people, who will recognise you immediately after only meeting you once, and will remember your name for ever.

2. Find another couple who have been over a few times, and learn the ropes from them.

3. You are going to get ripped off (this is a certainty). While the Balinese, a lovely and friendly people, certainly need the money, they do tend to sell things at exorbitant tourist prices. Go to a local supermarket (hidden away along the main drag in the south of sanur) and check out the prices. For example, shorts actually cost 36000 rp on the Market, so don't think you're getting a good deal with 7000000 rp (70 dollars).

This brings ms to the final golden rule:

4. DONT LOOK LIKE A TOURIST. do not buy a bintang shirt and walk around with a sunburn and a beer in your hand. Respect the local customs, learn about three Balinese phrases, and never say it's your first time in Bali. 


Enjoy the magic of this beautiful island and it's people.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
3.1 km away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
1.0 km away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#30 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.3 km away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#33 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#24 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 km away
Inna Sindhu Beach
Inna Sindhu Beach
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.5 km away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#25 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages

Property: Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
Address: Jln. Segara, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,658 - ₹ 3,371
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages is a hidden away home, away from home. Quietly tucked away in the mid of green surrounding, Puri Kelapa is Serene & Peaceful. It is located at the heart of the traditional village of Sanur with approximately 45 minutes’ drive from airport, 15 minutes’ drive from the capital city of Bali & 5 minutes’ walk to Sanur famous sunrise beach & market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Hotel Sanur
Puri Kelapa Garden Hotel
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing