We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfyind dinning experience”

Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 455 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 19
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Gong is the signature restaurant of Kayumanis Sanur specializing in the finest in traditional Balinese cuisine whose exotic flavours begin with the harmonious blend of the freshest local ingredients, herbs and spices available. Offering an intimate and relaxed setting, gong is an ideal venue for couples or small parties seeking stylish dining and a delightful culinary adventure. Complimentary transportation within Sanur area
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was excellent and the staff very atentive and friendly.
It's a quite restaurant for a romantic dinner.
We ate the balinese rijstaffel, which contains different kind of balinese meals in small portions so you can taste them at once and my wife and I liked it very much.
You may find it cheaper in other restaurants, but for sure not with the same added value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gongrestaurant, Manager at Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Xavier V,
Warmest greeting from Gong Restaurant at Kayumanis Sanur Private villa & spa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review on TripAdvisor,
We are happy to know that you had a great experience during your spent times to had dinner at Gong Restaurant.
We would like to have another opportunity to serve you another sumptuous Balinese foods at Gong restaurant in the nearest future for another memorable dining experience in Sanur, Bali.

Best regards,

gong team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant offers an outstanding Balinese experience! The site is beautiful and the staff are really attentive. We tried two cocktails each and used their in house shuttle service to and from our hotel. We highly recommend coming to this restaurant and trying Rijsttafel, as that is the traditional Balinese dish. We ordered 2, and for us it was too much food but the servers assured us that for westerners it is normally enough. I am very petite with a small appetite so it was hard to taste it all. Every dish in the Rijsttafel was so delicate and we wanted to try it even when we felt completely stuffed!
As a side note, when we booked the restaurant asked us if it was a special occasion and we mentioned we were on honeymoon. We were served a beautifully decorated cake as dessert. It was a special treat for honeymooners so do mention if you are going for a special occasion. We loved it and hope to one day come back!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FsuGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gongrestaurant, Manager at Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear FsuGaby,
Warmest greeting from Gong Restaurant at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review on TripAdvisor,
We are happy to hear that you had a great experience during your spent times at Gong Restaurant. Thank you for your comment to high lights of the foods, It was a delight to read your comments and we would like to welcome you beck to serve you another Sumptuous Balinese foods in traditional Balinese style at Gong restaurant in the nearest future.

Best regards,

gong team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing experience. Seamless booking online. Followed up by email and FB messenger.

We were collected by Car and taken to the Restaurant. If you are in Sanur contact them to arrange this.

We made sure we tried the cookie in the car as we snuggled in with the cushions.

On arrival we were bowled over. It was like something out of a movie.

I cannot say we were waited on. More “hosted” by Agus,Hemi and Adi. It felt like private fine dining with friends as they are all so knowledgeable and friendly.

Every step of the way we had great explanation on the meal, Balinese culture, customs. Adi even wrote our names in Balinese.

The meal was adapted to our needs and we were asked about allergies. That way we were able to tweak the spice level and eliminate foods that we could not eat. They made us feel nothing was too much effort.

They were constantly smiling, soooo friendly and attentive.

I would not hesitate to recommend this dining experience. To say Restaurant is not enough. It was the whole package. Made more special indeed by the staff.
Well done Gong Team. Five stars!

Thank Sunflowergirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gongrestaurant, Manager at Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sunflowergirl18,
Warmest greeting from gong restaurant at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & spa

It is truly delightful to read that gong experience lived up to your expectations and thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip Advisor. We would like to ensure you will visit us on your next trip to Bali.
Thank you

Sincerely,

Gong team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful and quiet outdoor setting, with fresh cocktails, delicious food and impeccable staff. Our waiter Adi made sure we felt at home and showed expert knowledge of the menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gongrestaurant, Manager at Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alex R,
Warmest greeting from gong restaurant at Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa.
It is truly delightful to read that gong experience lived up to your expectations and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor. The service, food and ambiance put together is what makes gong a special .
Look forward to serve you again
Thank you!

Sincerely,

Gong team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expect a magical experience. Soothing Balinese music fills the air, shimmering candles light the walkway, the surroundings the epitome of tasteful elegance,a staff that could not be more responsive / attentive, the food so attractively presented and so carefully prepared, all combine to frame a dinner here as enjoyable, fun, and one you'll remember.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PrimeConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gongrestaurant, Manager at Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Prime Consumer,
Warmest greeting from Gong Restaurant at Kayumanis Sanur Private villa & spa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review on TripAdvisor,
We are happy to know that you had a great experience during your spent times to had dinner at Gong Restaurant.
We would like to have another opportunity to serve you another sumptuous Balinese foods at Gong restaurant in the nearest future for another memorable dining experience in Sanur, Bali.

Best regards,

gong team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Gong Restaurant - Balinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing