We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Japanese food!”

Hamabe Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 238 Restaurants in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: This signature Japanese restaurant in Bali that combines high quality modern and authentic Japanese cuisine. The menu at Hamabe has been refreshed to offer guests a more defined Japanese dining experience. Hamabe has been given an impressive face lift with a contemporary design inspired by the serenity of a traditional Japanese garden. A new entrance with an eye-catching feature wall creates a distinct sense of arrival where guests are personally greeted by our costumed hostess. There is a greater emphasis on authenticity through the use of high-quality ingredients and food preparation techniques. The implementation of a modern serving style encourages sharing so that everyone can sample all the different things on offer. Hamabe's famous teppanyaki counter still remains a highlight at the restaurant where guests are treated to the theatrical performance of dishes being cooked before their very eyes. The sushi and sashimi counter also draws attention to the artistic precision and knife skills of Hamabe's well-trained culinary team. Exclusive to the new Hamabe is a robata grill that introduces guests to a traditional cooking method from the Sendai region in northern Japan. It originated from local fishermen gathering around a communal source of heat on board their boats to cook food and stay warm whilst out at sea.
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant twice the food was so good.
The staff were friendly, attentive and advised on what we should try from the menu.
We had a mixture of sushi and teppanyki which offered great theatre to our evening meal.
The chicken Udon noodles were cooked beautifully and would really recommend the beef which had great flavour.
The restaurant was not very busy on both occasions and so lacked a little atmosphere but we really enjoyed the food which made up for it.
Thoroughly recommend.

Thank masoncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, EAM Food and Beverage at Hamabe Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear masoncl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a delightful dining experience enjoying our authentic Japanese culinary offers and service delivery from our associates at Hamabe Restaurant. I highly appreciate your kind recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Alex Dietzsch
EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Has been in and out the resort for sometimes, but haven't been really trying this Japanese restaurant.. the variety of the menus are just right!
The quality of the Robatayaki is great! Taste yummy, portion serving is also right!
Service staff is incredibly helpful... would definitely be returning to Hamabe restaurant in the future!

Thank Ni Kadek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, EAM Food and Beverage at Hamabe Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Dear Ni Kadek M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. There is nothing more satisfying than to hear that you enjoyed our culinary highlights especially the signature Robatayaki and the service delivery from our associates. Certainly, we look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful dining experience at Hamabe Japanese Restaurant.

Alex Dietzsch
EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

When we walked in there was a strong smell of frying oil which didn't help.

The tempura was not crispy and the sauce was very bland.
Sushi was nice but not fantastic.
We also had katsudon which again was very bland.
We are used to having really nice Japanese food everywhere in Sydney so this was rather disappointing.

Great staff though!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, EAM Food and Beverage at Hamabe Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Hamabe. It is very sad to hear that you were disappointed and did not meet your expectations. All your comments have been adressed and discussed with our team to ensure that this will not be repeated. I would highly appreciate if you could share more details with me (alexander.dietzsch@westin.com) as this will help us to improve in the future and welcome you back.

Alex Dietzsch
EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

We wandered in here and so glad that we did! We had a delicious teppanyaki experience with really nice atmosphere!The lobster and beef were amazing! Think we will be back again! The only down side was that the Sake was really expensive as the affordable one was out of stock! Had wine instead but would have preferred Sake!

Thank 777Kirsty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, EAM Food & Beverage at Hamabe Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Dear 777Kirsty777,

Thank you for spending your time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hamabe Tepanyaki and love the Lobster & Beef. We apologize about the out of stock our Sake at the time. However, We highly appreciate your feedback and always look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Alex Dietzsch
EAM Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Went in to this restaurant and felt the strong feel of Japan and among the great range of meals choices from the menu, I chose Takara set menu. Magnificent! The service was excellent and definitely highly recommended. A fantastic new Japanese restaurant in town!

Thank Ariisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinBali, EAM Food and Beverage at Hamabe Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

Dear Ariisaway,
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time enjoying your dinner at our freshly renovated Hamabe Japanese Restaurant. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Alex Dietzsch
EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamabe Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Hamabe Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing