We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good by Bali standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #63 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very good by Bali standards”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have stayed at quite a few places in Bali and by Bali standards this is a very good hotel. Sure there are some odd things here and there that are broken but if you have been to Bali a few times you just laugh it off.
Our rooms airconditioning was very cold. The room, although dated, was always very clean. The breakfast was so much better than other hotels, we actually ate the breakfast here! Normally we go elsewhere.
Nice beachfront location although is a bit of a walk in the heat to Kuta Central. Staff are always friendly.
If we went to Bali again we would definately consider staying here again. If it was closer to Kuta Central would be definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reculvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 18 March 2015
Dear Mr. Reculvers,

First of all, we would like to appreciatively thank you for your trust to stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali during your vacation in Bali. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that you like our spaciously clean room with good air conditioning as well as our friendly staff. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk.

As the only one four star hotel in Kuta, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has spacious room which is surrounded by beautifully tropical garden, as the place to feel the quiet ambiance after your tiring activities during the day. We are also gladly proud that you spend your enjoyable time at our Samudera Restaurant, where you can take pleasure of the scrumptious selections of buffet breakfast with the beautiful view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, as a part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. However, the reason we could proudly give our guests the competitive price, because the booking was directly through our reservation.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    468
    206
    66
    63
See reviews for
226
354
91
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Myself and my partner stayed her from January 31st to 10th Feb.
We arrived and everything seemed OK. The reception greeted us nicely. Although asked for a $100 deposit. Which is fair enough, just though I'd let people know just in case they don't bring enough money with them.
Our room was decent had a fruit platter awaiting us and cute elephant animal on bed made from towels. Shower was fine. The breakfast was great and changed everyday.
We ate dinner here once as it was a free dinner voucher - we would not eat here again as is VERY expensive and there is better elsewhere!!
I took 900 with me as this is more than enough. Which i stored in the SAFE in the room as soon as got there. The next night 150 was missing and i know i did not loose this as i had not even touched the safe that whole time i didn't even touch my money as we had our free breakfast and dinner vouchers for first day.
We told the reception and security arrived but nothing could be done as there are NO security cameras facing the hall near our doors. I let this go as there was no evidence and nothing i could do and this was a holiday for my partners 21st.
Two 'maintenance' men knocking on our door (whilst we were in the pool) obviously we did not answer - Our neighbours heard the bell ringing knowing we were in the pool and asked what the men were doing going into our room and they just left.'supposidly we had problems with our phone'.. we never had a problem with the phone! (this shows 'maintenance' men cannot be trusted)
Few days go by and my partner has realised that he also is missing quite a large amount of money and our safe was visibly tampered with. After a lot of arguing with staff a security guard took my partner to the police station to make a statement. As the policeman spoke no english the security guard was the translator.
My partner said 'money was stolen from safe at grand istana rama'.
Security guard translated this as 'money lost at kuta beach'
Because the statement was written in Indonesian my partner thought this was all true and correct, signed it and paid 50,000 to policeman.
Got back and found out what it really said, we confronted them. Told them we will report them to Australian Embassy. The Hotel owner was nice and moved us to another room, we told him his staff cannot be trusted.
Last day we missed our plane and asked to stay another night we would pay obviously. They had the kind decency to kick us out with nowhere to stay - fortunately we told our other neighbors what happened and they gave us a bed to sleep in their room - thank god.
Do not stay here if you like to spend your money - not have it stolen.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuta hotels

1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went to Bali for our honeymoon and stayed in Kuta at the Istana Rama for 7 nights. Kuta is not honeymoon friendly. Put that aside the hotel is badly rundown. The pool needs re - tiling, and everything we touched broke. The doors would get jammed easily etc. The bathrooms flood easily, and the hotel adds a service charge to everything. When we were there in Feb there is a hotel being built next door, so there are building noises at all hours.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melman1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Friendly staff clean room beautiful garden,great pool and bar.varied breakfast and good wifi good location  Buttttt: exactly the rooms need a rebuild and renew 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alixoxshoraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 18 March 2015
Dear Alixoxshoraka,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that you like our spaciously clean room, our good WiFi and our friendly staffs. Besides, we are more than happy to know that you also spend your time at our great swimming pool which is equipped by swim up bar as the best spot for relaxing.

As the only one four star hotel in Kuta where is located precisely in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest Shopping Center in Bali- Beachwalk, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has spacious room which is surrounded by beautifully tropical garden, as the place to feel the quiet ambiance after your tiring activities during the day.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our excellent staff, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various selections of breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts, and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches, in order to increase the very high level of guest satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Location was fantastic. Right opposite beach, 10 minute walk into the heart of Kuta and 10 minute walk to Legian. Staff were friendly, room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was lovely. Great value for money. Swim up bar was great. Only downside were the cocktails, which weren't quite up to the standard at other venues.

Room Tip: Choose one on the ground floor as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sin712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, 18 March 2015
Dear Sin 712,

Thank you for kindly sharing your generous reviews of your wonderful stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to acknowledge that you love your stay with our comfortably clean room, our friendly staff as well as our scrumptious buffet breakfast at Samudera Restaurant.

As the charming hotel with traditional Balinese design, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to have our fantastic location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk as well as near to Legian street as the center of night life in Kuta. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We appreciate your feedback about our value for money room rate. In fact, the reason we could proudly give the competitive price, because of your booking was directly through our reservation.

We are looking forward to see you again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 km away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#105 of 251 in Kuta
410 reviews
0.0 km away
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#76 of 251 in Kuta
1,308 reviews
0.4 km away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.5 km away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#41 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,073 - ₹ 5,700
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing