We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, wonderful!”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We have now stayed at Poppies at least 5 times. We cannot go to Bali without staying there - it's quintessentially 'a tropical paradise'. It's amazing that somewhere so peaceful is in such a horrid place (Kuta). That said, it's location is handy for being able to walk to a myriad of good quality, budget restaurants.

The rooms are timeless, though at the time of writing they are doing some small renovations to each of the cottages (new TV's, paint etc). Breakfast is now also included and this was wonderful - a great initiative and we thoroughly enjoyed it!
The gardens are truly gorgeous and what give this places it's 'jungle' setting and shuts out the noise. The pool is, as always, a stunning lagoon and a great place to cool down.

As always though, the best thing about Poppies is the staff - professional, consistent, helpful and so friendly. Thank you again Poppies for making our holiday so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Cottage 12 has direct pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scottmel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Scott, you are such loyal supporters, and we truly appreciate this. Sorry #12 is going to be the last but one to be upgraded, but next time you visit it'll be as good as the others. More improvements are in the pipeline too. I hate to mention coffee... :)
Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We always visit Poppies when we visit Bali. This time it was only for one night as we spent the majority of our time on Gili t. As always we were met with a smile and the service is second to none. Poppies Cottages is one of the reasons we continue to return to Kuta.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GaiMDawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Please visit us again soon :)

Our average length of stay has dropped to around 2 nights now - please consider spending your holiday at Poppies if you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Small cottages are set in stunning gardens in a quiet and peaceful setting right in the center of Kuta. More of an older cultural feel than new and modern, but very comfortable. Just don't expect new and modern.
Great service, including airport pickup. Breakfast was included daily and option for delivery to your cottage or at the nearby Poppies Restaurant. The outdoor bathrooms are a nice unique & private feature that adds to the experience. Nice private swimming pool, great to relax around with food/drinks available to order.
Lots of shops and convenience stores nearby and walking distance to all the main tourist spots around Kuta.
Would love to return again next time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NathL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

We are very grateful for your kind words of praise. It's true we never aimed to be 'new and modern' - there are plenty of other venues fitting that bill - but we do make sure that our facilities are up to date and comfortable. Travellers used to visit Bali for its culture, its people, its empty beaches, its scenery. We try to preserve that Balinese culture including architecture in our little enclave in the middle of Kuta. It's not easy, as for example fireworks threaten our grass roofs each year at New Year and at Nyepi, but we persevere.
Very much hope to welcome you back another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We recently stayed 2 nights at Poppies. It was many years since my previous trips to Bali in 1982! Although I hadn't stayed at Poppies before, I did remember it and also the Restaurant.
Most of our trip was spent away from Kuta but i was keen to see how much the area had changed. And changed it had!! However, cocooned inside Poppies, we could have been miles away. The gardens are amazing - it feels like you are in a secret hideaway. It was amazing how quiet it was!
The cottages are lovely - well designed. beautifully furnished with Balinese decor, clean and private and the pool area is beautiful. It felt like they had thought of everything. The beds were comfortable and we loved the indoor/outdoor bathroom area and also the private verandah.
We chose to have breakfast in Poppies Restaurant across the lane which was delicious. We also had dinner there on our first night - the Rijstaffel is highly recommended, as is their famous Pina Colada!
The staff were friendly and helpful and had great suggestions of nearby restaurants to try. We had a bit of rain while we were there but it didn't stop us too much from exploring the surrounding area on foot (with a Poppies umbrella). Easy walk to the waterfront and anything you could possibly need is nearby.
Loved it and would highly recommend! If you want a more authentic Bali experience, away from the larger hotels and resorts, then Poppies is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Well thank you for taking the time to write us such an all-encompassing and glowing review, and for suggesting others do as you did and stay with us for an authentic Bali experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We have been coming to Poppies for a number of years now and are never disappointed. Quaint roomy balinese style cottages offering peace and quiet. Staff friendly staff. Lovely gardens surrounding a very nice pool. Stepping into Poppies from the busy streets of Kuta is pure heaven

Room Tip: All cottages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annettesylviab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you! We're happy when you're happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1 km away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
801 reviews
1.2 km away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.8 km away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 251 in Kuta
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,846 reviews
0.6 km away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Lane 1 / 19 | Jalan Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: ₹ 6,696 - ₹ 8,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing