We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing remarkable....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nothing remarkable....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I spent one night at Kartika when my Cathay-Pacific flight was cancelled and the airline put my wife and I up there.
It was not a place I would have chosen, however, it was late and that's where we ended up.

The night we stayed they had a buffet dinner with live entertainment -- the best I could describe is cheesy, budget cruise ship (including a local rendition of Y-M-C-A).

Pro's
- The first impressions are good in the lobby and the pool area.
- The staff was good and worked hard for us.
- The grounds were OK and the pool looked good.

Con's
- The room was dated and worn.
- The bathroom had a constant sewer smell.
- The dinner and breakfast buffet was plentiful but marginal quality.
- The music from the live entertainment went well into the night (after 11PM).

Summary -- If you are looking for a budget location, close to the airport and on the ocean, this one is ok.

I gave it a below average rating, based on my expectations, which put more value on the experience and the quality of the food and lodging than the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    566
    145
    33
    39
See reviews for
661
722
62
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We (Family of three with 8 months old infant) had booked the Discovery Kartika Plaza through the internet and were a bit sceptic, whether it would keep up to all the great reviews we had read on the internet. But yes, it did.

Location:
Close to the airport, yet we didn't hear any noise from the airport. If there wouldn't be that constant traffic jam of Kuta one would reach it in only a couple of minutes - with traffic jam it was about a 20 minute taxi-drive. Do take the official taxis though from the counter outside the arrival hall as they were MUCH cheaper than any price we would have managed to bargain with the "taxi drivers" that linger around trying to rip off tourists.
The building is a little aged but - as well as the whole grounds - VERY well maintained. There are hords of staff who quietly and almost unnoticed are constantly cleaning and maintaining the premises, so that the age didn't matter at all. The building is widely spread over the grounds and slips in nicely with the surrounding vegetation, so that the size of the place was hardly noticed. It is located right at the sea, yet there is no beach there as a wave-breaker wall is installed at that part of coastline. Never mind - walk a couple of hundred meters to either side of the hotel on an (even pram-friendly!) path and you will be at the beach. Also one doesn't get hassled by all the people wanting to sell stuff as much infront of the hotel as at places right at the beach.
Towards Kuta the beach is with supervising Lifeguards, yet there are only few spots where swimming is allowed. It is mainly a surfers beach.
The pool is very nice and big with a nice swim-up bar. We never had problems finding a sunbed (even in the shade).
Next to the hotel is a big and quite decent shopping mall (lacks a proper supermarket though) - yet one doesn't get any noise from it.

Room:
On check-in the staff wanted to be very helpful and nice and upgraded our room so that we would have a bigger room which fitted the baby-cot better and with a terrace with wall around it so that our baby-boy couldn't crawl away. This is where we don't give all five stars, as the room was big, yes, but very very dark. Even during daytime we couldn't be inside without turning the light on. And as it was a corner room on the ground floor, surrounded by shrubs, we did have a mosquito problem inside and on the terrace.
As we arrived in the late evening with the baby sleeping in the carrier we didn't go and check out the rooms before deciding. Also the problems only became obvious through the next days. We decided not to complain as we didn't want to pack up and move rooms (if that option would have been offered).
Mosquito spray and an electric insect repellant were already provided in the room, but the electric device didn't have any effect (mozzies were flying right around it) and as we had the infant with us we didn't want to use the spray inside. So we ended up being quite good mozzie-hunters.
Apart from that, room and bathroom were fine. Had everything it needed in decent quality - yet in the bathroom the age of the building was quite obvious - but again well maintained and everything worked fine, so that didn't matter to us.
The speed of the in-room internet needs improvement though.

Service:
Fantastic! Always friendly, prompt and nothing seemed too much trouble. 5 out of 5 for that.

Dining:
Very nice food with MANY choices, yet obviously not very cheap. But then one is in an upper class hotel. There are several restaurants on the grounds which serve different foods in really nice locations and the in-room dining service was good, too.
There are many restaurants along the road outside the hotel and along the beachfront path, which offer food at much cheaper prices, yet not always as good quality. Worth while a try though if you don't always want to eat at the hotel.
Another 5 out of 5 gets the FANTASTIC breakfast-buffet. It is the largest we have ever seen (and we have seen many). It offered a full asian, full english/american and full continental buffet-section. The quantity and quality were superb and right until the end at 10.30 am they kept filling everything up. It was always the highlight of our day.
Only 4 out of 5 from our point of view gets the seafood-buffet dinner with Balinese theme-night. The variety of food and the setting up of the buffet gets a 5/5 but for our taste there were too many mussels and the prawns were a little tasteless and could hardly be peeled. The beginning of the show with Balinese dances etc. was great fun, but the second half of the show just didn't have anything to do with Bali (wild dances to baroque-style pop music in supposedly baroque costumes, Flamenco-show and showpart with participation of guests - although the Aussies who seemed the most visitors of that hotel, seemed to like that) and it was way too loud. We were disappointed and found it too expensive for what we got out of it.
Unfortunately we hadn't gone for any of the other theme-nights. They were cheaper and probably would have been more suitable for us.

Overall:
We had a great time at the hotel, would go there again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 108BaerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We weren't staying at Discovery Kartika, however research online lead me to the seafood buffet and Balinese theme night - dinner and show.

Beautiful resort hotel right on the beach.

We were lead to our table..number 1 right in front of the stage which was fantastic. Different waiter for everything it seemed and they were very attentive and friendly.

Seafood buffet was 245,000pp including show...which is very cheap for Aussie standards. 3 huge buffets of food. Hot, cold, raw...pick a fish from the ice and they would cook it how you like...steamed mussells made into a stir fry of some sort if you wanted...carpaccio style style sushi fish, salads, hot seafood and desserts. Endless selections, well presented too and spaced out so you weren't lined up for ages waiting your turn.

Have to say the oysters and prawns had no flavour at all though....coming from Australia were used to sweet prawns full of flavor and piling up your plate and indulging, but after 2 each to make sure, it was confirmed they were very very bland. Not the first time since we've been here we've noticed that with the prawns however, so not the restaurants fault, obviously the prawns themselves.

Would def go back again to one of the other theme nights. Also loved the look of the pool bar as we wandered the grounds afterwards!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We've just come back from a BEAUTIFUL 8 night stay at the Kartika in Kuta.
OMG !!! It was just like living in a postcard or travel brochure BUT it was real.

I would score the staff 20/10 for their professionalism, pride, enthusiasm, and down to earth friendliness (us Aussies could learn a thing or 2 or 10 from these guys - honestly!).

Everyone from Reception/Housekeeping/Hospitality and general ground staff were impecable. I really am truly embarrassed by Australian Hospitality in comparison.


The Hotel was immaculate everywhere we looked (even under our beds!!). The food and presentation were exceptional.

The location was extraordinary being able to delight in Bali sunsets right on the beach front from our Ground Floor Beach front villa was amazing.

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL STAFF AT KARTIKA PLAZA - WE'll be back for sure next year.

SUKSSIMAH!!!!

Room Tip: If you can...treat yourself to the ground floor ocean FRONT room as it has it's own deck and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

the hotel is located in a excelent spot, a shopping center within a minute of walking. Theres a nice pool with a nice bar.
Te breakfast offers lot of food from japanese, american, and indonesian.
The room I stayed lacked in bath tub. It only had showers
They offers a private house, with two bedrooms with a private pool and a private garden, with a door which accesses to the beach.

Room Tip: If you are stayin at this hotel with a large number of family members, try to book the private house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rintaro I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.0 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#22 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
1.2 km away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#43 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.4 km away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,844 - ₹ 17,114
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing