We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Nearby Hotels
Kuta Paradiso Hotel(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 51
US$ 41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 96
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 103
US$ 92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Bali(Kuta)
US$ 196
US$ 164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 176
US$ 159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 46
US$ 31
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satriya Cottages(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$ 65
US$ 51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kana Kuta(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$ 40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Garden(Kuta)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
US$ 37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
386
348
136
50
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
348
136
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe suiteclose to the airportfloating restaurantvilla guestsplanes landingvilla poolkids clubwalk along the beachroyal villabeach barthe holiday innmain poolprivate beachliving arealarge poolbreakfast was amazingsouth kuta
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 946 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I was very concerned about staying at the Patra after reading some of the comments on Trip Advisor. They were so varied. What were we in for, have we made a mistake?

Well, we spent 9 nights in April 2012 with our 2 children (6 and 8) and had a fantastic time. As we knew that the hotel grounds were huge, we emailed ahead to request a room close to the pool and upstairs and we certainly weren’t disappointed. Our Deluxe Suite (which suits our family lifestyle) was amazing with two balconies, no common walls, king bed, beds for the children, lounge, marble bathroom, separate bath/shower and plenty of storage and 2 TV’s!! The children's TV was even bigger than ours!!! (Ok they weren’t modern TV’s but they still do the same job). There was plenty of hot water and the rooms were always serviced immaculately by the staff.

The pool area is huge and very inviting, the grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff could not do enough for you, they were so friendly. To some it may be a little far out of Kuta for restaurants and shopping but it only takes about 15 minutes to walk on the beach to the centre of Kuta (which by the way is a lovely stroll) and if you don’t want to walk ....well $2.00 AUS isn’t much to take a metered taxi or there is a free shuttle bus at different times during the day from the hotel. For us it wasn’t a problem and we enjoyed not being in the hustle and bustle of Kuta especially whith children. Being close to the airport doesn’t cause any grief either - the children loved seeing the planes land.

Breakfast at the hotel was great, heaps and heaps to choose from. If you didn’t want to eat at the hotel, there were 3-4 restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance that were very reasonably priced, actually all of them were cheaper than most of the restaurants on the main street of Kuta.

We couldn’t fault our experience at the Patra one bit and we would definitely stay there again. Congratulations on a fabulous resort which is well priced to suit down to earth families.

Room Tip: Upstairs Deluxe Suite
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancam06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went back to the Patra Bali because we'd stayed there some years ago and fallen in love with its beautiful gardens, huge rooms, lovely pools & friendly staff.
But time ages all of us, and without some upkeep the wrinkles start to show.
The good - and there's lots of it - the gardens are still amazingly beautiful and if you stay in the 300 - 400 + units you'll be able to walk through them to breakfast each day.
As a plus you'll have minimal airport noise - and with the enormous increase in flights using the airport that can be an issue in the rooms closest to it.
The rooms - and particularly the deluxe suites - are much bigger than anything being built today and the balconies overlook the gardens.
But here the wrinkles start to show.
Wooden floors have been worn by years of sandy feet and really need re-finishing, toilet seat plastic is turning yellow and plumbing & wiring are showing their age.
We checked in at 7.00 pm after a flight from Sandakan in Borneo via Kuala Lumpur that had begun far too early that morning - so we were tired, hungry, sweaty & really needed a shower. Check in was great & the bell man with his golf court took us to our suite & helped us with our bags - but as we came through the door we heard the noise of constantly running water in the toilet.
No problem said the bell man, we'll send someone over right away to fix it.
We couldn't shower because we didn't want to be naked when he arrived, so we waited and waited, calling customer service & eventually the night manager every half hour or so. About an hour & a half later a maintenance man with no English arrived, looked at it & gave up [the flapper valve had died of old age & he didn't have a new one] so we called the night manager back & asked for a new room. Persuading him to give us one took another hour - why was this so difficult ? - but by 10.30 we'd showered in our new room & finally made it to the restaurant almost too tired to eat.
Can we have something simple like a pizza or steak sandwich ? No - the pizza restaurant closes at 10 and all the restaurant does is heavy dinners with a major emphasis on Nasi Goreng type Indonesian food & expensive steak. A kind waitress finally took pity on us & offered to serve the steak as two sandwiches, at which point the night manager arrived & told us that would be an extra charge and we should order from the menu, until [bless her] she told him she'd already told us a lower price...
Throughout our stay front line staff were all great & tried very hard to help - but management today seems to be totally obsessed with making every last possible cent from guests [read their currency agreement that says you acknowledge that even though you booked in dollars you'll be billed in rupiahs & if the dollar goes down you'll be out of luck, or their non-recourse credit card agreement which has you signing that your stay met all reasonable expectations so you can't complain to your credit card company]
Or look at the prices for their spa..
They're also heavily into tour groups and the steady income they provide, which makes getting a table for breakfast difficult [hint, find out when they'll be eating & pick a different breakfast time] and since most of them are from Taiwan, Korea & Indonesia the breakfast menu tends to be heavily into very ethnic foods, with western choices largely limited to fried food, baked beans & thankfully a good omelette bar.
But more plusses - you're a healthy walk or short cab ride away from one of the best beachside restaurants for dinner ever, the Boardwalk, near the shopping mall. Fantastic food, great service and the sea lapping beside you as the sun sets. And for lunch when you're tired of souvenir shopping Sugar Mamas is fun and surprisingly good..
Pools are a plus or minus depending on whether you have young children - the smaller one which used to be for adults is reserved for villa guests these days, so the larger one gets taken over by children for most of the day. If they're your children its great, but if you'd like to sunbathe quietly or swim in an adult pool you may not be quite so thrilled.
Were we just unlucky & do the plusses outweigh the minuses ?
Would we go back ?
Maybe, just maybe for the gardens - but I'll be reading Trip Advisor first to see if they've renovated and put some money back into what should be a very beautiful resort

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe suite
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

10 out of 10 for The Patra. Wonderful staff, Grounds to die for! Resort Transport guys are tops..Hello to Giday what a wonderful young man. Deluxe Suites are fantastic, Clean, spacious and cool enough. We had two families stay here Kids aged 10 to 13, neither of us could find any complaints after 11 days of Bliss.. we have both travelled extensively, and this measures up to the best... When I read some reviews I cannot figure why anybody would complain..Man some people must just have to winge..Keep up the good work! BRILLIANT!

Room Tip: Deluxe suite are perfect for families.. fantastic!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

First time back in Bali for 20 odd years, I really enjoyed this place. It's vast and beautiful, friendly staff, immaculate rooms, luxurious and clean. I'd take my family if I go back. It's about a 15/20 min walk into central Kuta but still quiet if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarnzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We recently went back to Patra for our 8th stay. We were not disappointed. On arrival our Deluxe Suite wasn't ready, which wasn't a problem. However Suni an old friend from previous visits had noticed our name on the register and came to take us for a drink and then offered us an upgrade to a Honeymoon Villa with a dip pool. The room was beautiful and was well worth the extra we paid for our 7 night stay. Breakfast could not be faulted, such a great variety to choose from and musicians playing balanese music while you ate. Our own Bale on the beach front everyday was just magnificent. Each night lovely little treats we in our room when we returned from an evening out. The service at this resort is second to none and the grounds and pools are just beautiful.

We have been coming to Bali for 20 years and have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the island but we cannot find fault with Patra and will just stay here from now on.

Please don't hesitate to book Patra, you won't be disappointed!!!! Always book a Deluxe Suite if possible.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe Suite or upgrade to a Honeymoon Villa
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews